We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Matisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matisse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in September 2012, we loved it, as previously stated the staff are so helpful and so friendly. The location is perfect. We have never put anything on trip advisor before but we found it so helpful we have decided to write a review. The hotel is very clean and the pool is an added bonus. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    110
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
154
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice, but the best thing was the location - close to the beach, the port and the town center. We chose Ste. Macime as a stopover from Marseille to Nice, and we wanted to just visit St. Tropez rather than stay (convenient boat shuttle across the bay, easy walking distance from the hotel) - but we were surprised by the vibrant downtown scene, the wonderful open marketplace and the beach-side clubs (caught some great outdoor music at the Havan-Plage) - again, all close to the hotel. And the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend both Ste. Maxime and the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It's simply the best. Great value, brilliant helpful staff, relaxing atmosphere with added bonus of nice pool and terrace. Very centrally located, close to beach and restaurants. Quiet even though it is so central. It represents great value and I would highly recommend this hotel. We are a family but the hotel caters for all types of travellers, couples, singles etc.

Room Tip: We have the family room on the ground floor. Not sure about other rooms. Our room was not big but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dryhillkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didier_petit, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your opinion . We are very happy of your compliments & we hope to see you again in the future !
Kind regards,

Didier PETIT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is located about 100m from a sandy beach and 50m from the old town. we had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were always very friendly. Definitelz would like to come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ran into some trouble getting to the Hotel because of incorrect travel plans but from the moment we arrived everything was fantastic. I would describe the hotel as "boutique". The decor is beautifully done and the room was well appointed, well laid out and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and they have a quiet, relaxed pool area. We had some problems with our travel arrangements but Didier Petit and all of the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help us, for which we were most grateful. The Hotel is centrally located in St Maxime and just a short walk to most facilities and attractions in this beautiful part of the world. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in St Maxime do not go past this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

Further to your message and your opinion about our hotel we have very appreciated your congratulations.
Thank you for all. We wanted that you have an excellent "souvenir" of your stay in Sainte-Maxime & in France and it's very encouraging for all the staff & me.
Kind regards,

Didier PETIT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

For the money, you will not find a better value in the area. Superb, friendly staff could not do enough to accomodate us. Can dine on light fare on the patio. Cocktails also available on the patio or at the small bar in the lobby. Swimming pool. Short stroll to the beach. English spoken. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your opinion & your compliments.
We are very happy of your satisfaction !
Kind regards,

Didier PETIT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent a night in this nice, clean hotel. Room was very little, but comfortable and clean.
Felt cold, as the air con did not work on heat setting.
Staff was very friendly, breakfast nice, bread great!!
Would highly recommend. A trip by boat from near by to St Tropez.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your opinion.
We are very happy of your compliments and that you will keep a good memory of Sainte-Maxime & our hotel !
Kind Regards,

Didier PETIT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
#7 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Domaine du Calidianus
Domaine du Calidianus
#6 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse Hotel

Property: Matisse Hotel
Address: 11 boulevard Frederic Mistral, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matisse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Matisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie De La Poste Hotel Ste-Maxime

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing