We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacularly unique house, incredible views...”

Review of Villa Johara

House aspect with swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House aspect with swimming pool
Living room with spectacular sea views and light Living room and surrounding terraces
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
House aspect with swimming pool
Living room with spectacular sea views and light
Living room and surrounding terraces
Swimming pool and sea views
Looking down from terrace swimming pool surrounding area
Upper terrace entertaining area
Upper Floor terrace outside living room
Swimming pool level terrace table and chairs
Swimming pool level entertain and barbecue area with sun protection
An other aspect of Living room sitting and multimedia area
Kitchen area with door to an other side terrace
Bedroom with French door to the swimming pool area
Master bedroom first floor
Master Bathroom
Master bedroom private solarium area for two
Independence bedroom outside the main villa
An other bedroom with double and single bed in the swimming pool level terrace
An other aspect of the bedroom
Hamam next to the bathroom /shower of the swimming pool level bedroom
Courtyard Riyad style entrance with running water leading to the independence room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Flub55
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous views but not quite what we expected”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited for my 60th birthday with family coming and going all week. The views, terrace and pool were fabulous but this Villa is quite a way from Ste Maxime so not as easy for the young to access as the brochure leads one to believe. The walk to the beach is straight down a steep hill and was only done once. In the house there are 4 double rooms one of which can only be a twin and the room in the grounds described with a kitchenette was dank and small with nowhere to store clothes and the washing machine close by the bed. No one from our group wished to sleep there and I would say only suitable for teenagers.
The children's play area was a tiny strip of ground by the side of the house on mud/ grass.
If you have a baby with you needing a cot the cot can only be sited in one if the two lovely big rooms.
On our visit the villa was poorly prepared with a rusted broken bar b q, broken oven door filthy dishwasher and various other issues which were raised with the ' manager' and owner. A concession was made that we didn't have to pay the cleaning cost but nothing was sorted during our week there. Hopefully these issues will have been addressed after our visit. An apology would have been nice but we were told that these issues were small and wouldn't have spoiled our holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, terrace and pool. Top bedroom and pool rooms lovely. Could have been so much better with a little extra care.
Liked least: Garden room and the property was poorly prepared. Quite a way from Ste Maxi e
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean B
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Spectacularly unique house, incredible views, wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent a really great family holiday in this incredible place. All three generations thoroughly enjoyed the facilities offered by Villa Johara, the pool was used every day (the lovely thick pool-side towels were a great bonus), the Hammam a couple of times and the barbecue too. We really appreciated the space in this lovely home and were fascinated by its original features – a surprise around every corner. The guardian, Mamar, was a smiling helpful presence whenever we needed him. We enjoyed a fabulous couscous prepared by him and his assistant.
We went on one excursion to Saint-Tropez (too crowded and definitely too expensive) and a couple of visits to Saint-Maxime which were much more enjoyable. But were so happy to return to the villa that we hardly left it after that.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking View and House, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The first impression of the villa took my breath away. The view is incredible with lots of space inside and outside the house, the relaxing pool surrounded with lots of flowers and green, really helps to forget daily stress.
It the house that was all we need it, full kitchen equipment, stereo, wifi, iron board, so we don't have to worry about anything.
Few minutes away there is plenty of restaurants and bars with great choices of food.
We did not have a single problem during our stay, the the house guard Mamar was incredible helpful. Even we arrived few hours later then we suppose to, he was waiting for us patiently.
I coming back next year for sure! and if you looking for a great place to stay , you just found one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Inside and outside space
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison186...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“fantastic beautiful original villa close to all amenities”
Reviewed January 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2011

This really was the most perfect house for boisterous teenagers desperate to hit the nightspots of St Maxime and St Tropez and yet a peaceful and secluded retreat for lazy days around the infinity pool with amazing uninterrupted views of the sea and bay of St Tropez. The master bedroom is very spacious and has its own hideaway terrace for sunbathing and taking a quiet breakfast. The house has lots of living space-so often missing in holiday homes. Actually one of the best houses we have stayed in. Its well equipped re crockery and kitchen stuff and the numerous terraces and barbeque area was very useful. I loved the fact that its the only Marrocan Riad style house in an area where everything looks the same

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and style
Liked least: pot holes in the road leading up to it-not the owners fault !!!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharlie41...
Lennestadt, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wunderschöne Lage
Liked least: Unkorrekte Beschreibung (Internet) und unkorrektes Verhalten
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2012
Zu meinem Leidwesen musste ich erfahren, dass dieser Klient eine negative Bewertung abgegeben hat, trotz der auffallend vielen glücklichen und zufriedenen Kunden die förmlich dahin schmelzen im Anblick der Lage des Hauses und vor allem von der Effizienz und Gründlichkeit des Haushälters Mamar begeistert sind. Es gab ein Missverständnis über das Verhalten des Haushälters. Er wartete geduldig auf die Ankunft der Gäste und wusste über das Problem in keinster Weise bescheid. Er wohnt in einem separaten Gebäude auf dem Grundstück und wartet stets so lange dort, bis die Gäste zufrieden angekommen sind. Der Sachverhalt mit der Badezimmertür ist tatsächlich ein Problem. Diese war voll funktionsfähig und in keinster Weise beschädigt bevor der Gast angekommen war. Die Beschädigung trat erst während des Aufenthaltes auf. Wir mussten bisher noch nie die gezahlte Kaution einbehalten, aber wenn ein größerer Schaden entsteht, dann muss die Reparatur bezahlt werden- aus diesem Grund existiert die Kautionszahlung. Zudem sollte erwähnt werden, dass der Austausch der Badezimmertür mehr als 800 Euro kostete und somit den Kautionsbetrag überschritten hat. Der Kunde musste die Differenz nicht ausgleichen. Wir legen großen Wert auf den Zustand des Hauses und die Pflege des Grundstückes und wenn wir es nicht vermieten dann ist es auch unser Zu Hause. Natürlich hatten wir auch schon mal Probleme mit der Internetverbindung, aber diese gehen vom Anbieter aus ( Orange FR) und wir tragen dafür keine Schuld. Das Londoner Büro ist nach wie vor in Betrieb und unsere deutsch sprachige Sekretärin hatte mehrmals versucht den Kunden telefonisch zu erreichen, um den Sachverhalt mit ihm zu klären – ohne jemals eine Antwort zu erhalten. Deswegen komme ich zu dem Ergebnis, dass dieser Bericht einen unwirklichen Blick auf das Haus und das gesamte Geschehen wirft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing