We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La vie est belle ........................”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Sue B
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La vie est belle ........................”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

............................ especially when you stay at L'Escalinade.
All the wonderful reviews for Joan, John and Ronnie are thoroughly deserved- charm, excellent hosts, good food and wine in abundance. Come here and you're guaranteed a fabulous time.
But, to keep this review brief, there is really only one question for us and that's why do we keep returning? Simply because- only the best will do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are delighted you keep returning to stay at L'Escalinade and really look forward to your next stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charliean...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

John and Joan are the perfect hosts and of course Ronnie the boxer dog was a character. Breakfast was served outside near the pool which was lovely. The jams are all homemade by Joan and uses fruit which is grown on the property and local produce is used. 5 minutes walk will take you to the beach , shops and restaurants. We are hoping to return next year as we have stayed in Ste-Maxime on several occasions but this place was the best place ever. John and Joan are the perfect hosts and not forgetting Ronnie. The room had a lovely comfy bed was very clean and had a fridge to keep your drinks nice and cool. Can't wait to return .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially Ronnie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thank you so much leaving the review and we are so please you had a lovely stay at L'Escalinade!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wenward
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small piece of Rose heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a truely wonderful stay in a tiny piece of Heaven on Earth.
If you want a warm Provençal welcome then this is the place for you. Joan and John are a lovely English couple who are so friendly that you will soon feel as though you have known them for years, along with Ronnie the boxer dog you will soon be feeling at home.
The house is perfectly situated overlooking the gorgeous bay across from st tropez which you can see clearly along with all the lovely yachts in the bay. You are no more than 3 minutes walk down to the sea along with its lovely harbour adjacent lots of lovely restaurants and shops to suit any tourists needs. The charm of Ste Maxime is beyond belief if you like the traditional french buildings and an atmosphere which makes you feel as though you could stay forever.
The restaurants are all top class with both local and traditional french cuisine, prices vary but expect to pay around the same or just a little more than in the uk. The rose wine is a must with ice of course!
Take the bateaux vert ferry to st tropez to catch the markets or maybe to catch a glimpse of the rich and famous but you will definitely see how the other half live! The ferries run every 15 mins or so and only cost 13 euros return.
The house overlooks all the sea front so you never feel far away from all that is going on but it's quiet enough for you to simply relax and take in all that lovely sun.
The pool is quite cool at first but is great for when the sun is sweltering above the lovely trees and well kept garden and terraces. There are plenty of sun beds which John and Joan let you move around into some cooler shady parts of the lawn or into the sun to top up your tan.
Breakfast is a real continental affair with croissants, yoghurt, plenty of fresh fruits and very much welcomed pots of tea. The air conditioned rooms are a godsend for when it is baking hot and along with the win suite shower room you couldn't really ask for a better place to stay in this gorgeous part of France. Well done to John and Joan for such a lovely holiday home, hope to call back again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and really hope you will be back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We are so pleased you had a great time here, do come back soon but next time stay for longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moore1322...
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely property with multi million dollar views!!! Almost a fantasy... The rooms are lovely and decorated in a beach/chic style. Refrigerator in the room, clean and comfy bedding. The bath was smallish, but had everything we needed. We had a balcony room and also access to a lovely terrace where we could enjoy views of St. Tropez across the bay. The location and town of St Maxime is awesome!! Cute, quant and friendly town with plenty of shopping and excellent restaurants. The owners, Joan & John are only upstaged by Ronnie, their adorable and friendly dog, who is a boxer. He would wait for us out on the terrace to walk us down to breakfast. And the breakfast was always wonderful, with homemade jams from the fruit in their yard... You must stay here!!! We will be back!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you so much for writing your review of L'Escalinade! We are delighted you had such a good time, we do realise you live far away but we really do hope you come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina M
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

There are so many fantastic and wonderful elements to our holiday that it is hard to put it all in just a few words! Firstly, the B&B was in the absolute best location. You could walk to the town, the supermarket, the beach, the restaurants and the marina all in a few minutes. This made the stay so great as you didn't have to worry about cars or buses because everything was so close by. That being said, the B&B was up a hill so there was no noise or traffic or anything else that would disturb you. Secondly the B&B itself. We has two rooms, one for us and one for our son. They were stylishly furnished and cosy. The beds were extremely comfortable, the views to die for and the addition of a fridge in the room meant you could keep water or other drinks as well as lunch items cool. There is a beautiful terrace to sit and have lunch or snacks or drinks on along from the rooms. Finally, the owners, Joan and John (and Ronnie of course) were responsible for making this stay exceed our expectations. Kind and friendly hosts from the first day by the end we knew we would miss them. In fact when we moved on to the second week elsewhere we did miss their charm, happiness and laid back helpful attitude. The breakfasts in the morning were beautifully presented and deliciously made with fresh local produce! before we had left we were thinking about when we could return. Our 17 year old son loved it as much as us. If I had to sum this place up in one word: perfect! Thank you Joan and John for such a wonderful week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! In fact we missed you all too when you left. We would be delighted if you came back and stayed with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing