We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean fresh rooms, welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just spent two nights in this hotel. It's perfectly located, two minutes from the port, lovely views over the bay of St. Tropez but set just back from the noisy centre. We had probably the best room (22) in the hotel from a view perspective, being on a corner and with balconies on two sides. It was clean and freshly decorated, as was the shower room. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the garden was a pleasant bonus. Virginie, the owner, appears to always be there to answer questions or simply chat with her guests. The stairs could be an issue for some as there is no lift. The only potential negative is that the hotel does not have an online booking system, you have to do everything by telephone or email. I would perhaps have given up at that point but persevered simply because of all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor and I'm glad I did.

Room Tip: The second floor is better for the sea view but be sure to ask for a room with a view as not all do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just stayed here 8 nights with our family of 4. The location cannot be beaten as it is right in the center of the old town (just behind the church), two minutes walking from the marina (from where the ferry to St Tropez departs), the boulevard and just a little further away from the town beach (in front of the casino). Restaurants are around the corner.
In spite of the hotel being near to the center and the church, the rooms are very quiet, at night no noise from the outside world.
Being in this part of town allows one to leave it by car easily at least going to the Plage de la Nartelle (direction Issambres/Frejus) which, in our view, is one of the best beaches in the area. The drive is about 5 minutes, parking usually no problem. Going in the other directrion (St Tropez) you may be slowed down by traffic lights and traffic jams.
The rooms themselves are immaculate, giving the impression of having been recently renovated. They are comfortable, clean and relatively spacious. The bathroom has all required amenities. Each room has a balcony (or patio) from which there is a partial sea view. Wifi works flawless. The airco is low-noise and works fine. Beds are excellent, among the best we ever slept in. And twin beds too, not the French grandlit which, contrary to its literally translation, is just queen size, not king. We liked the the finger print access system. Very efficient. Breakfast is in the patio behind the hotel with table service. It is a typical French breakfast, therefore fairly basic although fruit, yoghurt etc. can be purchased separately at the bar.
The private parking is another positive feature of this hotel. You need it if you come by car.
The owner (or manager, I don't know) is very helpful and tries to accomodate where possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PLR_Naarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel Royal Bon Repos was an excellent choice for us when visiting Ste Maxime. Our room, number 22, was on the top floor, with 2 balconies that gave you fab views of the old town, the port & St Tropez across the bay with plenty of outdoor furniture on which to sit out & enjoy it all. The hotel is newly renovated so all furniture & decor is new. The hotel is impeccably clean with all the mod cons, very efficient air con, flat screen tv, wifi. Virginia the owner is a great source of knowledge & happy to recommend & book restaurants for you. The location is right in the old town, the beach is 5 mins walk away, tons of restaurants & cafes within a few metres, the port just minutes away too. Ste Maxime is a delightful small town that you can easily spend a few days in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This really is a perfect little hotel - the rooms are beautifully decorated, the location is great (very close to shops and restaurants, and only a 5 minute walk to the beach) and the staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aislinncampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I stayed in this hotel at the end of July to the beginning of August. We had a bit of an emergency and ended up with nowhere to stay, found this hotel online and just turned up at reception and luckily they had two rooms for us! The staff were so incredibly lovely and even let us look at all the free rooms and pick our own!
The rooms themselves were very spacious, modern and really clean! The decor was lovely and as we had a ground floor room we had a terrace and a small kitchenette.
Although we did not try the breakfast the smell was lovely each morning. There was a nice bar with a pool table for entertainment.
Excellent location, near plenty of restaurants, the hotel also has a gated car park which was so useful.

Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, feels so homely!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's located just in front of the port to take the ferry to St Tropez and very close to a small beach with restaurants around. 10m to the town center.

It has been renovated very recently with a lot of taste. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. good quality furniture including the A/C. The bathroom is also new with a great shower.
The room had a small balcony with a sofa and table and beautiful view across the Bay of St Tropez

The only issue is that they don't have a lift but there are some rooms on the lower floor
They have their own parking which is critical in the high season.

The owner is really nice and attentive making you feel welcome and at ease. I would say is the main reason for the rating they consistently get

I would recommend it as a great choice to stay in St Maxime

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is an excellent perfectly locatd hotel. On our last day I was suddenly incapacitated and unable to drive our hire car, and had to change plans for getting to Nice airport. Our delighful hostess, Mme. Liotier, was a tremendous help and support to my wife, who was very concerned about our situation, excerbated by beig in any case a very nervous flier. Mme. Liotier made arrangements for a taxi to the airport and collection of our hire car, which was above and beyond her duties. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Maxime
0.2 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
#7 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Bon Repos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Bon Repos

Address: 11 rue Jean Aicard, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range: $87 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Bon Repos 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Bon Repos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing