We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasted money for a resort that equates to a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var
Reviewed August 13, 2012

There is no pool facility at this hotel.
Our first holiday for six years and the first trip for our two daughters aged 4 and 5, with the lure of three advertised pools confirmed by the british reservation centre we went to teach the girls to swim.
On arrival the staff confirmed there was no pool as two had been filled in and the third (still in photos) is not for use, aparently residents who live in converted rooms throw things at guests trying to use the final pool.

The only option for water is to pay the extortionate 12 euros per day per adult to use the 'sandy' beach, it is sand, over pebbles that lead to murky harbour water with oh yes pebbles.

There is no restaurant for lunch and evening within the hotel and you have to go onto the promenade to find eateries or order from room service.

The manager offered us the use of a neighbouring pool at 2m deep throughout with only a few steps and loose tiles that resulted in cut feet. Not in any way suitable for young children to learn to swim.

So objective: a break to teach the girls to swim
outcome: over a 1000 euros out of pocket with swimming still to learn.

Holiday inns response pretty much tough, unless I can give evidence that there was supposed to be a pool, £80 back for the 'beach' charges and have a nice day.

Not suitable for families who actually want nice surroundings and as for the title resort? well.....

Room Tip: somewhere else!!!! unless its just a room you are after
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzbabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 552 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

First, there is no pool - not to mention the 3 the brochure and website say they have. Very disappointing for my family and me. The air conditioning chugged and chugged, but the cool air only extended about 6 inches from the vent. Some nights it was better to sleep with the patio door open. The staff was kind and responded to my every request. When my husband inadvertently tried to open our room door from the inside with the latch lock on it, he pulled it right off! Not very secure! But it was replaced the next day. It was nice to have a laundry available - should be free. Breakfast was expensive, 20 Euro per person. The family suite was a room with 2 double beds, not a suite. The bathroom was spacious, but I wish the shower in the tub worked. Why is it there? This hotel was steps to the beach and a short walk to the Cap 3000 mall, a good location. It is past due for refurbishing, for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are more ocean front than ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AprillHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear AprillHill,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am glad that you liked the location of our property and it is nice to know that our staff was attentive enough to respond to your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for the air conditioning issues you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you and I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as the feedback we receive from guests like you enables us to improve on our services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having visited the area before we decided to return to the Holiday Inn. Its excellently located with a free hotel shuttle bus to and from the airport (which is very close by). The staff on reception speak good English and are very helpful. The breakfast is OK - not great value at about 23 Euros but then this is the South Of France! Our main problem was with the air-conditioning. It just isn't effective enough in the guest rooms - and for the price you pay this really needs addressing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Room was adequate in size and had the nice option of different hardnesses of pillow. Room relatively well appointed but getting a bit "jaded". Good pillows make for a good night's sleep - if only the airconditioning would have worked! It was impossible to change the temperature of the room, fan speed - so we sweated and sweltered. Impossible to change - all the rooms were the same.
Bathroom was very "America 1970's". The Breakfast buffet at 23 euros a head was a rip-off, running out of already a lousy selection of hard sausages, ugly scrambled egg and hard chewy bacon bits by 10.00 a.m. The half-opened cardboard box of Nutella servings left a serious impression of disregard for style and the layout of the bread/jam/butter etc. was chaotic. On our second day (when the same situation was encountered) the staff generously offered to make us omelettes which went some way to repairing the situation. But the general impression of the breakfast is very "delaissé".
Also, eating breakfast in an area at the back of the hotel, surrounded by the hotel apartment rooms is like eating your meal in the back-yard of a rundown motel.
Reception very courteous and helpful in both check in and checkout. However, in today's i-World, it is "chintzy" to expect people to pay for their interent connection......
Seriously overpriced for what is offered, we would be looking at other hotels on our next visit to Saint Laurent du Var. A pity, because we had come to expect more of the "Holiday Inn" brand.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear SKIClub,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you have mentioned our courteous staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the overall conditions of the hotel. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. Your comments about the Air Conditioner and the food have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed last weekend at this hotel which offers a free pickup and drop off at the airport. The Nice airport is less than 10 minutes away which is convenient and thankfully as the planes approach the airport from over the sea, I could not hear any aircraft noises in the hotel rooms. The hotel is on the coast and the planes can be seen going into the airport but again the noise is minimal. The beach is pebbled and public with a private sandy beach but chairs are 20 euros per day. There are many restaurants on the promenade all within a short walk from the hotel. There is also a shopping mall closely which sells food for self catering and picnics.The train station is less than 10 minutes walk away and makes the whole of the cote d'azur easily and cheaply accessible. The trains run close to the coast so the views are spectacular in places. The roads do not offer as good a coastal view. The buses are 1 euro into the city centre of Nice and take about 30 minutes. Good service and I would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDentistUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked this hotel based on its pools and beach location, we were very disssapointed to find the pools from the website had been closed and you have to pay for access to the beach. The private beach is dissapointing and the water quality was poor as it is a lagoon next to the harbour with a watersports facility operating out of the lagoon. Water felt very dirty and unusually murky for this area.

When I complained it was expressed as my problem not theirs and the managers view of customer service was to push the blame rather than to listen and see what help could be provided. He did, however when pressed, offer free access to the beach for our stay as a consolation.

This was a very dissapointing end to our holiday rather than a few days of indulgence. I am not sure of how the Resort part of Holiday in Resorts applies to this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

'Well, this seems nice!' my wife and I said when we arrived off-season on the Thursday Evening. I had a business meeting on the Friday and we were using points to stay over on the Friday night.

So there were a couple of minor issues at check-in but they were resolved and we went to our room. Nice balcony; nice view of the sea and the room seemed comfortable (we ignored the stains on the wall).

But the next evening. Friday night. Usually 'special offers' in hotels. Ok, so this is a resort hotel, but the noise from the room next door was atrocious; we couldn't use the balcony because of the noise; couldn't open the window because of the cigarette smoke coming into the room. We didn't sleep well (even with earplugs in). Of course, we should have called reception and complained (willdo next time).

So hotel is nicely located and relatively comfortable. But when it's full it must be hell on earth.

In fact we couldn't get into the Holiday Inn in Nice itself - will book more in advance next time and stay in Nice itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience the unusual level of noise from our other guests caused you and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Laurent du Var
Novotel Nice Aeroport Cap 3000
#2 of 6 in St-Laurent du Var
653 reviews
Musiciens
Holiday Inn Nice
Holiday Inn Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Nice Cap 3000 Aeroport
#5 of 6 in St-Laurent du Var
408 reviews
Arenas / Airport
Park Inn by Radisson Nice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var

Address: 167 Promenade des Flots Bleus, 06700 St-Laurent du Var, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Laurent du Var
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St-Laurent du Var
Price Range: $126 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nice Port Saint Laurent is the only hotel of the area built right on the beach. It is walking distance from the shopping center Cap 3000.Holiday Inn Nice Port Saint Laurent features comfortable and renovated rooms with terrace, including some with a view of the sea. The rooms are spacious and luminous. They offer all the facilities you may need for a relaxing stay.For your comfort, the hotel features a restaurant serving buffet breakfast, to be savoured on the terrace. The new other restaurant The Bay Star Cafe is set right on the beach and servesa French Modern Bistro Cuisine : A delight ! Located on a beautiful sandy beach on the Baie des Anges the hotel offers also a private Beach : The Bay Star Beach and Lounge with Bar, Snack and beach restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Nice - Port St Laurent Hotel St-Laurent Du Var
Holiday Inn Hotel Nice
Holiday Inn St-Laurent Du Var
St-Laurent Du Var Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing