We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gardens”

Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.56*
and up
Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de...
More Info
$107.53*
and up
Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco
More Info
$597.40*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of la Villa and the Garden of Ephrussi de Rothschild and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It took Baroness Béatrice Ephrussi de Rothschild, one of the most original women on the French Riviera, seven years to build one of the most beautiful sites on the Côte d’Azur. An enlightened art enthusiast who travelled back and forth across France and Europe, Béatrice de Rothschild built up an incomparable and eclectic collection of masterpieces: priceless Sèvres and Vincennes porcelain, works by Fragonard, paintings by the masters (Boucher, Carpaccio, Tiepolo, etc.), Louis XVI furniture, and so on.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went with our kids 5 and 7 so that pretty much nixed the option of getting the audio tour of the interior of the villa. It was a gorgeous day and the kids just couldn't be kept inside so we hit the gardens and were impressed. We spent a couple of hours outside exploring, again only limited by the kids patience. What a view and what an incredible amount of work it must take to keep those gardens as they are.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pandabearjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    327
    37
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
355 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Impressive but gauche”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was my fourth visit and each time I have left having admired the marvellous setting, the energy that went into constructing the place and the fabulous way that the house, garden and collection illustrate a period and the lifestyle and taste of a privileged section of the community. But extraordinary as it is, I do find this a hard place to warm to. The collections are not to my taste and the gardens are so over the top. That said, it makes a great visit and helps complete a social history of the development of this coast as a tourist destination and a home for those with money. The café is well worth a visit if only to sit and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gardens”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Easily accessed by local bus, this is a lovely place to spend an afternoon wandering around the villa and its beautifully kept gardens. There is a different garden around every corner - Japanese, Provencale, etc - all different and stunning in their own way. A very peaceful spot with beautiful views of the coastline. We had a wonderful lunch on the terrace - smoked salmon, tarte tatin and coffee with a glass of rose for a set price of 35 euros. There is also a very tempting gift shop on your way out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superb setting for fabulous home and garden”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This home and garden is beautiful and the story of its establishment and more recent recovery is interesting. Audio guides for the home tour are included in the entry price and a huge asset. The maintenance of both the home and garden is outstanding. We thoroughly recommend a visit to appreciate the beauty and elegance.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been to this part of France many times but this was our first visit to the Villa Ephrussi . It was absolutely wonderful . The house and gardens are superb. The views to both Villefrance and Beau Lieu are breathtaking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing