We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impolite sommelier”
Review of La Voile d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Voile d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very impolite sommelier”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Whilst staying at another hotel on Cap Ferrat my friend and I decided to have a bite in the little port. By coincidence we ended up at the restaurant of The La Voile d'Or. The champagne car rolled in and we ordered a glass of champagne an a Black label whiskey. The offered a very nice 3-course dinner of EUR 48 which included 2 galsses of wine and coffee as well. The food was quite good (paté de foie gras, duck, dessert) nad the junior staff very friendly and attentive.
I think the sommelier had an eye ons us from the very beginning because we ordered the cheapest menu. The 3-course dinner was served in only 50 minutes!!!! Even though I mentioned, after having finished main course, that we preferred to wait for dessert half an hour. We asked the sommelier with a smile if the chef was in a hurry in order to be with his wife. He replied in a very arrogant manner: Monsieur, le menu de quarante huit, ca va trop vite!
Translated: if you order the cheapest menu, you have can not stay long here. We immediately paid our check and will never return here again. The place looked nice enough in the beginning, but be aware of this arrogant attitude of this sommelies. The Maitre d' noticed everything, but did not seem very interested to check what was going on. This is not a hotel with a professional staff looking for potential new guests. Like in many place in the Cote d'Azur you have to EARN a friendly treatment. You have to be a frequent guest, then they will treat you kindly and butter someone up. If not, they put their nose in the air.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    16
    18
    8
See reviews for
28
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

A lovely hotel with beautiful scenery and view to the harbour. La Voile d'Or is one the top-notch hotels in Cap-Ferrat and you will certainly pay for it. We stayed for 3 nights in a room that was of good size and it even had two balconies, one with a view to the port and the other one over looking houses. The rooms were kept very tidy and in a manner that they were always cleaned whilst we were gone. Our expectations were high for this place, but after having to struggle with the shower, which kept on changing the temperature from boiling hot to icy cold, I was not pleased. You think that a hotel this expensive they could afford to fix the boiler or even upgrade the shower.

Breakfast was wonderful and it was particularly nice to have it on the terrace. Although on our last day there weren't any cleared tables available and it was a bit uncomfortable to start asking the staff to sort out a table for us. I felt like half of the guests staying were there to be seen, which was a bit awkward as it is just a hotel...

Anything else, other than the breakfast, you had to pay a hefty price for! For instance upon our arrival we didn't have any water in our room, so my boyfriend absent-mindedly took two small bottles of Evian from the fridge, which cost 6 euros each. As we were being treated by my boyfriend's parents, we also had lunch at the poolside bar - never have I seen Caesar salad looking so poor and yet being so overpriced. It was literally 2 pieces of chicken on a bed of chopped salad and couple of crutons... This was 20 euros!

Also the concierge was moody... I kindly asked for another key to our room, but instead I received a lecture of how I just can't lose this key. I only wanted a spare key as my boyfriend and I were going on our separate ways that day. Also my boyfriend (who was on crutches and had trouble moving about anyway) had an incident where the cleaner told him in a very condescending manner to put shoes on, as he was going to the pool barefoot. Whether this was for his own good or the cleaner's peace of mind was unclear.

Overall I am glad we got to stay here, but perhaps next time I'd like to rent a villa.

Room Tip: Beware of the shower, you might receive a cold one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lokala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed for 5. Nights September excellent location , superior room ok
With port view, toilet had a lingering smell which wasn't pleasant , breakfast good but had limited choice considering expensive b+b rate , beach pool excellent with lovely views , concierge very rude when asked about getting travel arrangements to Cannes by train or bus , taxi to expensive in France ,my wife wanted to travel by bus or train to see coast views which concierge commented very unusual request his whole attitude wrong . South France lovely part of the world would recommend le port
restaurant very good food and pleasant staff .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I agree very much with the Schmidt review below. Despite a generally very pleasant visit, I was treated as a complete idiot by the concierge when we had two problems with our room. Some of the staff give the impression of doing the guests a service, which is annoying if you are paying 400 euro or more a night. This hotel in a great location still has a lot going for it, but frankly the overall quality of the staff has gone down in recent years. Pity...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurozoner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

La voile d'or is very charming, very French and very traditional-common areas are lovely and beachside area is its major attraction with stunning views over the ocean with the mega-yachts, comfortable lounge chairs, and excellent ocean-side restaurant. However, I found the rooms to be somewhat worn and beds very uncomfortable. We would only return if they upgraded their mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A very well located and traditional hotel which scores primarily on price. Sensibly they have kept to their 4 star status - and unfortunately 4 star accommodation and service. A sensational sea front terrace, port viewing vistas and prime pitch for super yacht stalking is marred by slightly unfriendly and under trained staff coupled with very tired rooms. All this is forgiven when one compares with prices charged by neighbouring and swanky hotels and the very attentive and hard working manager
Who clearly knows how to look after his guests. (for the news starved, smart phone wielding exec there is an inexplicable wifi crisis which needs resolving - they are trying, but so is the lack of connectivity !)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This small family owned hotel is quietly luxurious with none of the glitz (or obnoxious clients) or many of the Riveria "palaces." Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast, sea access and two pools. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Most are same size. You can save a lot by getting port view rather than sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtravelsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#5 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
1.6 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Voile d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Voile d'Or

Property: La Voile d'Or
Address: 7 avenue Jean Mermoz, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Voile d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Voile d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Voile d`Or Hotel St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing