We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed with our whole family just after new year. Everything was simply perfect even the weather, the children were swimming in the sea and we were able to walk around in shirt sleeves!
The rooms were incredibly comfortable and the service was charming.
The management must be incredibly proud of their wonderful staff and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 528 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have just returned from my second trip to the Grand Hotel du Cap Ferrat on the Cote D'Azur and it's as divine as ever. We arrived on the first day that the hotel re-opened after its Winter snooze. Not that anyone had stopped working. As the staff told us, the day the hotel closed at the end of last year, the work began. Everything was taken out of the hotel - and I understand that means EVERYTHING. And the entire hotel was renovated, repaired, repainted and clean - only then was new, clean beautiful furniture replaced. Everything is a beautiful shade of white/grey and crystal with accents of yellow and gold in the bedrooms. It is simply chic, understated luxury with everything in its place awaiting its guests for the new season. Like a play waiting for the curtain to go up. It's somewhere you want to come back to. The gardens are groomed to perfection. Even the trees have a haircut. Trimmed to perfection but still natural - what a masterpiece! The food again is simple, perfect and the portions are sensible. We didn't see the spa but I can imagine it's lovely and La Residence to the side of the original building, whilst avant-garde in its architecture, is apparently excellent. This is a well-managed hotel with great warmth and charm from its staff. Anything is possible and nothing is too much trouble. I will be back. Oh and the Club Dauphine with the lift down to the pool is gorgeous but you have to wait until it opens in April/May.

Room Tip: Rooms in the East Wing of the original building with a private terrace and sea view are glorious. O...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This past November my wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Cap Ferrat in St. Jean Cap Ferrat. We were dubious about splurging on a visit when the pool is closed and there are few guests.
The November weather was cool but just right for walking. The grounds of the hotel are filled with beautiful garden walks with different types of plants in each area. The view of ships at sea passing close by, the wonderful food and the luxurious lounge made for a superb experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsmithdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's simply a jewel, so elegant and luxurious. It's set in a perfect spot in St Jean Cap Ferrat with wonderful views of the sea and lush greenery all around. The food is wonderful, service is great and just spending the day by the infinity pool is an amazing experience...a heaven for luxury and relaxation!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmalM251209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay at this resort in June for a wedding. 4 nights in a fabulous suite overlooking the water with two terraces. The service was simply wonderful - they even went off site to get the type of beer my husband and one of his friends prefers to drink. The food was outstanding and the in suite breakfast served on the porch was out of this world delicious and beautiful as well. The prices are a bit staggering but compared with other hotels we have stayed at this hotel does provide service that equals the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is rated as a 'Palace' [higher than 5*] so we had high expectations when coming here.

Well the Grand Hotel lived up to them.

We had a Superior Seaview room. There was a large walk-in closet, a wonderful bathroom with bath and shower and a very well appointed bedroom. The size of the bedroom itself was rather limited (maybe 20 sq. m?), so if you want space and can afford it, consider booking one of the larger staterooms.

Overall this is a great luxury hotel with very pleasant service and impressive attention to detail.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luxury-near-and-far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at Hotel du Cap (Ferrat) for a week in July, 2012. This review is long overdue.

With the recent renovations, there is little doubt that this is one of the top hotels in the world. Really, it's hard to find fault. We had the smallest and least expensive room in the hotel (for six nights, during high season) and it was perfect. the quality of the furnishings and the materials used in construction were first rate. The whole resort is gorgeous and the grounds are manicured to perfection each day. The in-door/out-door spa is really unique and the best I have seen anywhere.

I know that many complain on this forum about the cost...but c'mon people. This is THE hotel on the French Riviera and one of the best in the world. It is in a neighborhood of $30-100M homes. What do you expect? A drink at a pool on the Vegas Strip is $15... It should go without saying that that $25 is reasonable at HdC.

The only complaint I have about the place is the pool area.

Club Dauphin (the pool/swim club) is open to members and those who purchase day passes, not just guests of the hotel. As a result, it is filled with kids. We spent only a couple hours each day at the pool, but if you are planning a pool oriented trip be aware that you will be in amidst lots of children with floaties. I wish they could do something to address this, such as building a kids-only pool, or limiting the hours for children. It is possible to get a chair or cabana in a quiet part of the pool area (down the hill) and then come up for a swim...but for those that prefer to sit right by the pool on the upper terrace it is a bummer.

One day, indeed, a family came for a few hours...there were several couples, body guards, maids, and about 10 kids. They were a whirlwind... lots of running, jumping in the pool, crying, diaper changing... all handled by the maids/servants. After a couple hours, they cleared out (leaving to go back to their yacht) and left dirty plates, drinking glasses, used diapers etc. in their wake. I know they spent a small fortune while they were there and tipped heavily. BUT, for those of us who were guests of the hotel looking for some quiet, relaxing pool time, it was a real bummer.

One other issue about the pool-- One 2/6 nights we were there they closed in the late afternoon to set up for a private party. We didn't really appreciate that since we like to use the pool in the later afternoon after site-seeing for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
868 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
384 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#4 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat

Address: 71 boulevard General de Gaulle, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: $344 - $2,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the glamorous resort lifestyle of the Cote d’Azur – close to Nice and Monaco – in the iconic luxury of the Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat, A Four Seasons Hotel. Among the 74 light and airy guest rooms – including 24 suites and one villa – some feature private terraces and swimming pools. Chic, modern design by Pierre-Yves Rochon features gleaming white marble and textures of white and beige, putting the emphasis on colourful artwork and signature French Riviera views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Du Cap Ferrat
Grand Resort Du Cap Ferrat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing