We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had just two nights at The Royal Riviera this week. It was my first time there but certainly won't be my last. The Hotel has an intimate feeling and is stylish without being brash or glitzy. Never mind that the restaurant no longer has Michelin stars - I have dined at a number that have them but have not lived up to expectations. The food is first rate and the service impeccable.

The great plus of this place however is that the staff are so warm and welcoming and really do their best to make the experience a pleasure for guests - they succeed in their efforts. Bravo !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and our restaurant. We're pleased to read that you've enjoyed both experience and thank you for sharing them on tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    119
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
142
458
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Royal Riviera is truly a wonderful hotel. Beautifully situated right on the water, with a private beach and a lovely pool, as you will see from pictures on the website. We were very happy with our room, which was facing the pool and the beach (... wonderful sight to wake up to!) The food was divine, and I cannot imagine a more lovely setting for a restaurant overlooking the the water.

But honestly the most impressive part of the 5 days we spent at the Royal Riviera was the incomparable service. The staff are truly one of a kind and went far out of their way to make us feel welcomed and well cared for. In fact, the Deputy Manager, Eric, took an hour of his time to accompany us and translated for us while we filed a police report, as we unfortunately had some items stolen from our luggage on the train. (Go figure - we always rent a car and the only time we decided not to worry about driving - this happens). Eric accompanying us was well beyond the call of duty and he made sure that we enjoyed every last minute of our stay. We feel like we have a new friend! The staff are friendly, warm and sincere. So not only is the hotel itself lovely, the staff are what we will come back for. We were so very impressed with the level of service. We have been home for 24 hours and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for your nice review and are pleased to read that you've enjoyed your 5-day break with us. The whole team hopes to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometimes soon...and hopefully you won't have to file a report police next time!
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for one night, the room was great (mirror turned into tv) and had been newly spruced up. The service was great. We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace. The pool is heated and has comfortable sunbeds/towels. Loved their private part of the beach again with comfortable sunbeds/towels....sea fresh and clean. Ate lunch at the pizzeria on the beach...would recommend walking 10m into the town to the brassieres instead. Had lovely massage in spa...there is a small gym there too....and private shower rooms fully stocked in case you had checked out and had a later flight. Had dinner in Monaco......Beef bar.......fantastic.....recommend a helicopter tour of Monaco on a clear day. Look fprward to returning

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel on first floor one of the rooms with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRUZINKRUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera on tripadvisor and for your useful advices to tripadvisor readers. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on another occasion and for a longer stay. We will be pleased to take care personally of your reservation.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Riviera for 5 nights from the 20th June. My daughter stayed for 3 nights but did not want to leave. It is simply the best hotel you could ever wish to stay at in the South of France. It is positioned right on the beach between Beaulieu-sur-Mer and Villefranche. You can walk to the centre of Villefranche in 25 minutes and the view of the bay from the hillside is quite spectacular. You can walk to Beaulieu-sur-Mer, in the opposite direction in 5 to 10 minutes. There is a train station in Beaulieu and you can take the train along the coast to Villefranche, Nice and beyond in one direction and in the other direction you can be in Monaco/Monte Carlo in 12 minutes. From the hotel you can take the coastal footpath/running path to Saint Jean Cap Ferrat and to Cap Ferrat itself. You don't need a car to get around but you can always get a taxi if you want to go elsewhere.
I had a room (not one of the most expensive ones) with a view to die for and the facilities were just perfect for a relaxing holiday. You could either go out and explore the area or just stay around the wonderful pool or private beach relaxing. The breakfasts out on the terrace, lunches round the pool bar and dinners on the terrace were all of the highest quality with the absolute best ingredients being used.
What makes this hotel really special however is the General Manager, Bruno, and his fantastic team of staff. You felt at home as soon as you were welcomed in by the Reception Staff, and whether it was the breakfast staff serving you breakfast, the pool staff looking after you around the pool or the beach staff taking care of you on the beach or Alain in the Bar in the evening or the restaurant staff for dinner, they all just made you feel so at home. Well done Royal Riviera. I shall be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidM4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for review and nice comments further to your recent visit. It was a pleasure to host your daughter andyourself at the Royal Riviera and we are delighted to read that you've enjoyed your first visit.
The whole team hopes to welcome you back on another occasion and we remain at your disposal for any other enquiry.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the hotel. Quite expensive, so we stayed in one of the mountain facing rooms. I had read warnings about these rooms on trip adviser, but thought they might be wrong. They weren't. These rooms do hear the trains go past early in the early mornings, and cars and motor cycles zooming past in the middle of the night are also very noisy. As if all that wasn't enough, we had the good fortune of being allocated a room next to the elevator. Or was it inside the elevator??? The noise was so bad one would have thought we were going up and down till late at night. We were on our way to join a cruise in Monte Carlo and were travelling for a month from Australia, so our suitcases were quite large. The room was very small, so one of our cases had to live in the bathroom. The small double bed was also a challenge. Such a shame, because it truly is a beautiful hotel, but we would not go back.

Room Tip: This is such a beautiful hotel, but when you read warnings about the mountain facing rooms being noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. All feedbacks are very important to us. We are sorry to read that you did not like your room and sorry if it spoilts your stay with us. On all sites and booking confirmations we are giving the most complete description of our rooms to avoid such a disappointment. Our Standard rooms are located by the Hotel entrance, facing a rail track but we usually do not have complaints regarding the noise. They are all equipped with double glazed windows. We're sorry if you were disturbed by the noise and hope that you will leave us a chance to give you a better impression of our rooms. We invite you to contact us directly on a next visit so that we can offer you our best deal on our Sea view rooms. Hoping to see you again on another occasion, we remain at your disposal for any other enquiry. Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although our budget dictated that we stay elsewhere rather than this marvelous hotel, we still made sure to spend one evening over drinks in their elegant, outdoor patio bar... listening to soft, evocative music... looking out over their private lawns and date palm trees. Instead of sitting at one of the individual tables, the two of us sat together on a secluded, upholstered love seat. What a wonderful evening in a marvelous setting... perfect for star-gazing and dreaming awhile... Definitely worth it! And the service was top-notch, too. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing with evening in our Bar with tripavdisor readers. We hope we'll have the pleasure to see you again in our Bar, restaurant or Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently revisited this hotel after I had to have an emergency operation and needed somewhere we knew to be excellent to recuperate, the RR did not disappoint. Since our last visit 3 years ago everything has got more slick ,but the staff were incredible from the front of house to house keeping -utterly caring ,charming and helpful, in fact they restored my faith in the French after a horrific hospital stay in st tropez!! I cannot wait to go back when I am fully recovered. They now have little beach area which is adorable with the sweetest beach staff and you can paddle board or jet ski etc. This visit we stayed in a first floor refurbished room which had been done beautifully, The food is still outstanding and for the south of France things are not astronomical. Previously we took our 3 year Los and although v sophisticated they cate well for children too. The location is fabulous too, only 30 mins from the airport, leave st tropez there is no need to sit in all that traffic when you can have a wonderful time here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you back to the Hotel and we're glad to read that we've met your expectations 3 years after your last visit...We thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, with your child and remain at your disposal for any future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.4 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
372 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
3.6 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 204 in Nice
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Property: Hotel Royal-Riviera
Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing