We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal-Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Part of the Leading Hotels of the World group, it has definitely earned its place- An amazing location with private beach and pool- I stayed in the Orangery which is separate to the main hotel on the other side of the pool- It is lovely and quiet with beautiful rooms- my room was a little dark as it did not get any sun but the high ceiling seem to balance this out. Breakfast on the terrace is highly recommended, great spot to see all the yachts parked up - you can walk all around the Cap from a footpath beside the hotel- watch out for Dog pooh!
All the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and excellent English. Best service I have had in Europe to date.

Room Tip: Main Hotel, pool facing has the morning and early afternoon sunshine on the balcony, and the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Madam
We thank you for your time in posting a review on tripadvisor. We are glad to read that we met your expectations and have well noted your comments regarding your room. Should we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel, we will be pleased to make you discover our rooms in the main building, which might better suit your preferences.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    112
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
137
424
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location and positive impressions after our stay in 2012.
This year our company sent us here for over a month. Everything was organised by external travel agency- our boss wanted to be sure that we don’t have to worry about anything.

Because of some business issues we thought we might stay a little bit longer (hotel was booked with full credit guaranteed by agency’s card until the 10th April 2013), so we wrote the e-mail to the abovemantioned agency asking about possibility to stay until the 20th April. The agency answered that they checked with the Royal Riviera Hotel and it is possible. But we didn’t make any reservation. Just wanted to know if this is possible. We received the answer in the e-mail saying that our stay is booked and paid until the 10th April so on that date we checked out.

Well, we have been trying to do so- because at the reception desk they told us they will not let us go! Apparently the agency prolonged our stay without our knowledge and confirmation until the 20th and when hotel called them asking what is going on because we wanted to leave- the agency blocked the credit card that guaranteed the extended stay and hotel could not charge the penalty fee- 10 000 EUR.
The Royal Riviera staff was trying to negotiate with us and then offer 8000 EUR penalty that they wanted us to pay- otherwise they will not let us leave the hotel. Our car was bloked at the hotel parking!
We found this idea ridiculous because we had nothing to do with it so the police was called.

The police came in and after checking all documents decided that we are right- we are not the side of this transaction- we didn’t make any reservation, didn’t give any card details nor even passports so we are obviously free to go. All this situation took place in front of other hotel guest and employees and it took more than 2 hours.
Couple of hours later one of the real estate agents we are working with in French Riviera told us that he was called by one of the Royal Riviera management employee and worn by him! This person told him that we are „dodgy, we didn’t pay for our stay and he cannot trust us“. We paid in Royal Riviera over 21 000 EUR! That was so embarrassing, not to say humiliating!
All of this made us tired- we decided to pick our roof rack (full of our personal belongings- worth 5000 EUR-we left it in the hotel storage at the arrival) later because we have been expecting some delivery anyway-it was scheduled on Friday/Monday.
Since Monday 13th April we have been calling concierge couple of times a day but he always said that nothing came in. We tracked the parcel on DPD/Exapaq site and it clearly said that it has been delivered to the hotel on the 13th April at 11:19 AM. As a proof of delivery was a hotel stamp.
So we did come to the hotel asking for roof rack and package but we have been told that only manager has the key and unfortunately is his day off. So we came in two days after but manager again was absent and we have been asked to come in the afternoon. And another time- same situation. Then we came with the local policeman-but he didn't even want to hear the story,just spoke to the manager and said:"give them 8000 EUR if you want your stuff back and learn French because you're in France".
All what we found in the Royal Riviera is absurd, ridiculous, hihgly unprofessional and below any standard so that is why we make this complaint.We will obviously contact police again, make official testimony, then contact our lawyer and even embassy if the police will not help us.
The experience fell far short of our expectations - considering the great deal of money we have spent. We are so disappointed and simply shocked by this terrible service and behaviur- this is not what anyone expects for over 500 EUR per night!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank Marek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It is quite unusual for us to have to reply to false allegations and we find it quite regrettable. This review is currently in the hands of the police and French Justice. Any document to prove our good faith is available by the Hotel or by our lawyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Monaco GP weekend. Senate GP had arranged this for us and they could not have gotten this more right. Upon arrival, all the staff we so courteous and warmly greeted us with a very welcoming smile. Check in was painless, quick and precise; we were impressed! could this get any better – oh so yes. Our room, 208, was ready for us. It had a balcony and overlooked the pool, gardens and sea. It was a superior room and we would defiantly recommend the extra cost. Huge comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space (not with those dreadful coat hangers with the clips – you know what I mean). The bed turn down service was wonderful, with apple fragrance scented spray for the pillows and they left the bottle for us to use. Good size bathroom with separate WC. That night we ate in the hotel – though we only arrived that day, all the staff seemed to know our name, in the bar for pre dinner drinks, in the restaurant, the concierge desk and so forth. Just by this little piece of attention to detail for their customers, they made us feel very special. Breakfast from 7-11 was much more civilised than in most hotels when it’s usually 8-10. We sat on a table outside, in the sunshine, overlooking the pool and sea. It was a self service breakfast buffet with just about everything you can think of and the service was impeccable. It was chilly in the first morning, I was only wearing a strappy top, so they offered me a wrap for my shoulders – how perfect, kind and very considerate was that! We were at the race on the Saturday and Sunday but had Monday free. Upon arrival at the pool after breakfast, the attendant, again knowing our name, took us to the bed we chose, placed the towels on the beds for us etc. As the sun moved during the day, they would ask if we needed our bed move around, replaced our towels if we had been swimming, drinks service, nothing was too much trouble. They were very attentive but not intrusive – again perfect. We wanted a late check out as we were not due to leave until 4pm, the hotel let us do this and for no extra charge!!!! This was the most perfect hotel, in a wonderful location, but what made it oh so special was the attention to detail they provided and the staff themselves. Thank you all so much and we greatly look forward to staying there again one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for your review and nice comments regarding our team. We were delighted to welcome you over Monaco Grand Prix and are pleased to read that we've enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back on another occasion (so that you can take more advantage of the Hotel and its facilities). We remain at your disposal for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

By far one of our favorite hotels. This hotel is perfectly located. Close enough to walk to some great dinners, etc. and far enough away from the craziness. We rented a car and did some day excursions (Monaco, Arles, etc.) from here. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff here. Very professional and attentive. Every day started with breakfast on the patio overlooking the Riviera. Not a bad way to start the day!! We would stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pJd1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on tripadvsor. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your nice comments regarding our team. We hope to have the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a great hotel is this. Top of the line service. These people know about service. Beautifull building. Fantastic rooms. Very nice pool area. Very good restaurant. Nice bar. Really: what a top place. Not cheap but very good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback! We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first trip to the French Riviera. We were there for the Monaco Grand Prix. Staying in St Jean Cap Ferrat allowed us to be away from the craziness of Monaco but close enough by car. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time. The only one that comes close is one in Lake Como. The hotel has a wonderful pool overlooking the Mediterranean, gorgeous gardens and the room is what one would expect of a sophisticated Paris design. Absolutely WONDERFUL staff and food equally superb. I fully recommend this hotel. I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Our room was in the original building overlooking the pool on the second floor. It had one of the la...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for sharing your fist experience with us on tripadvisor. We were delighted to welcome you to the Hotel during Monaco Grand Prix and it is a pleasure to read that you've enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again soon (you suggest you come out of the Grand Prix, to discover a more peaceful French Riviera).
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful hotel after a 30 hour journey from Melbourne Australia to attend the Monaco GP
It is perfect the rooms are immaculate the staff attentive and caring
My friend and I had breakfast on the terrace each morning looking over the riviera

The very best place to stay for the GP away from Monaco but close enough for a stunning drive along the coastline

I will be back

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Porsche911997turbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We thank you very much for your nice review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.4 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#6 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Property: Hotel Royal-Riviera
Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing