We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel in an amazing place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in an amazing place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a trip to the South of France and it was nothing short of amazing! We were only here for one night but it was definitely memorable! The rooms were amazing, clean and very comfy. The view from my window was of the beautiful gardens and the Mediterranean, just stunning! The dinner wasn't as good as I had hoped, but the buffet breakfast was amazing! Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your review and are touched by your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and for a longer stay. In order to help us improving our quality of service, we would appreciate if you could tell us more about your dinner expectations. I will be pleased to take care personally of your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    112
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
138
428
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

So impressed with my recent stay here, such a fantastic hotel, staff incredible, service fantastic and cannot speak highly enough of them, also a key thing to note is that they all have fantastic english (even though i did try to practise my french!) which i think shows good skilled staff who are multilingual and make everything easier.

We were in a double deluxe room, beautifully decorated very modern but homely, view from balcony amazing over the pool area....please look at the pictures! The bathroom was also very spacious and clean and the toiletries of a high standard and good size.

The spa I did not use as its more a treatment room as the pool is the outside pool heated to 29 degrees and lovely and as i am pregnant I just used the pool....The walk from the hotel into the nearby village is the best walk especially with the sun shining as the hotel is in a great location and close to Rothschild House and Gardens which are also well worth a visit....

I will definitely be returning to this hotel, the service was 5*, particularly Alain in the bar who is great to give you tips on where to visit and walks to take, he was also very helpful one evening when we were late coming to the bar and he got us food still anyway :) which i must add is incredibly delicious, so is the food by the pool at the restaurant there, very fresh and well made....I was so impressed with everything at this hotel and cannot speak highly enough of it.

A lot of the hotels in the South of France are not quite up to standard and expensive yet not worth it, but this is and is exceptional and makes wanting to return a no brainer!

Room Tip: I wouldn't definitely choose the Deluxe Double - beautifully modern and great hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottes-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for three nights. I have to say that it is beautiful and highly recommend it. Though it is not a 5 Start Hotel as the amenities (Spa is small and the Breakfast is slightly limited) pull it back. Though, the views, pool, and beach are amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera. We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you also for sharing your concern regarding our "amenities". We are aware that our wellness center could do with some improvement and will be working on it in the future. As per your comments regarding our breakfast, we do offer a large choice with our buffet. We would therefore very much appreciate if you could give us more details or suggestions to meet your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel on another occasion and I will be pleased to take care personally of your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Royal Riviera. The first thing that strikes you about the hotel is the staff. They are 6 star plus staff in terms of friendliness, courtesy, going the extra mile, and I mean everyone, from the bellboy, concierge, front desk, waiters and waitresses. The hotel is in a great location, close to Beaulieu Ser Mer and about a 20 minute walk along the coast to Saint Jean Cap Ferrat. The hotel overlooks the sea and has wonderful gardens and pool area. The hotel itself is very nice. The decor is very stylish and prefectly kept. Our room was large and had two windows opening onto a french balcony. The wellness centre is small, but well equipped. Overall, a place that if I when I am in this area again, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us and for your very nice review, that will encourage our whole team. We hope to have the pleasure of having you again with us very soon and remain at your disposal for any other enquiry.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Terrible small bed and cheap mattress (worst we ever slept on). Extra charges without our agreement and or explanation Chateau Lynch-Bages 1999 botte of red wine priced at Euro 400 (normal price is Euro 100 in London). Lack of honest food in restaurant. No starter or main course which was not polutted with foie grass or seafood. Way overpriced and designed to part you with your money Wireless internet dropping every 10 minutes No prices displayed for minibar items. No advance warning each delivery for room service is charged on top (described as "tips restaurant" on bill). After our departure and after paying the bill my card was charged Euro20 separately without my knowledge and / or explanation. Pool man so serious about his job he was offended when we asked him for a drink.

Nice to have heated outdoor pool. Nice gardens. Nice building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenkaKika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera and are sorry to read that we have not met your expectations. We would have been pleased to meet you prior to your departure to discuss about your disappointment.

All our rooms categories are equipped with a king bed except standard mountain view rooms. A complete description of our Standard room (including the bed size) is available on all our commercial support. We apologize if the mattress did not suit you.
All mattresses are less than 2 years old and changed on a regular basis. Should you have let us know that it was too soft for you, we would have been pleased to change it for you.
As per your remarks on our restaurant, we are really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience.
Our carte and menus (35€, 57€ and 89€) offer a choice of over 45 different dishes and our bottles of wine start from 35 euros.
All our minibar items prices are normally available on a list, placed on the desk, along with a trail of sweets and snacks. We are sorry if it was not the case.
We would also like to clarify our charges. There is NO additional charge for room service delivery. Service is included in all our facilities.
Tips are at our guests discretion. Should you have added a tip, it would then appear on your bill under “”Tips restaurant’ line. Otherwise there should not be any additional charge. We would be pleased to check your bill should there be any mistake and refund the inappropriate charges or give you additional explanation.
We’re sorry if you have not completely enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. We will be at your disposal for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to Monte Carlo. Commute was long & not the easiest, except if u take €65.00 cabs. Otherwise a fascinating hotel, with very well-appointed rooms. Mine had a fantastic garden/sea view. Buffet breakfast, & the dinner were great, with excellent service. The reception & concierge always ready to help. Sauna small , but efficient. Heated pool , but weather was a bit cool for that. Sauna area could use some "lounging chairs" & herbal teas.
Would definitely recommend.
PS also a short drive to Nice, or on bus 100.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hoshy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera on tripadvisor. it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We've also well noted your suggestion for lounging chairs. Our Wellness center being quite tight we have found yet enough space for that but we thank you for sharing your concern and we will definitely be working on this point.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went for an off season weekend and it was just perfect.
Weather was not great, a little cold for March, but we enjoyed the outdoor heated pool and the sauna.
Rooms are big, clean, comfortable, modern. All the staff is very welcoming, some of them even remember you name.
We didn´t have a car and -even though they kept asking us if we had one- it wasn´t necessary. One day we walked around the seaside, other we took the bus just by the hotel´s door and went to Monaco -1 euro per person-, and we used the same bus to arrive and return to Nice.
Maybe my only suggestion is to improve their offer of tv channels in Spanish. They have 3, ETB -that is in Basque actually!-, one of music...and Cubavisión! Is that weird or what?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your review and are pleased to read that you had a nice time with us. We have also taken good note of your remark regarding our Spanish channels and we will make sure to improve our choice...Should you have any suggestion, please feel free to contact us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.4 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#5 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Property: Hotel Royal-Riviera
Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing