We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dropped in for comfort stop”
Review of Plage de Passable

Plage de Passable
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dropped in for comfort stop”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Quiet day when we went, good views across the bay. Not especially welcoming. Thought two espresso coffee at 7 Euro a bit steep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rockerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    73
    49
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience of our trip due to the rude boat driver Phillipe.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many of the guests are given the opportunity to use the boat service to drop them back from the beach to their hotel. When we asked Phillipe the man who drove the boat for a lift he could not have been ruder. He refused us a lift after our expensive lunch and the manager had to ask him to bring us. Once the manager had left he shook his finger aggressively in my boyfriend's face saying "this is not normal". He cursed at us in French, calling me a "putain" and repeatedly shouted "thank you to me" after he dropped us off. Horrendous experience and unfortunately did not leave us with a good impression of Cap Ferrat. We have never been treated by a member of staff in a resort in this way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamolusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Altogether a much improved experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having been away for a month perhaps makes one wonder if the last visit was not the norm. So we cycled back to Passable for a sunbathing session and lunch. We did book in advance and got welcome warmly. I wanted to make sure we got a table downstairs since we were shoved upstairs last time. And we did get a prime table near the front of the dining area. The matelas and parasol were well maintained, and not to crowded. I think it has a lot to do with the season. When we were there last time it was HIGH season. Now, towards the end of August, the place was decidedly quieter. Much better for the customers. One waiter was a bit forgetful, so we ignored him and asked Florent to help us with drinks. Florent is a young waiter who seems to be a seasoned pro. Attentive and polite, not to mention his perfect English. Lunch was superb too. Grilled prawns (huge) and fritto were fresh and delicious. The tartar sauce must have been home made because it was really wonderfully creamy and consistent. We ordered a 1/2 pichet of wine for only 13 Euros. When we went to pay, we realised there were 3 'tiers' of loungers, at different prices. Thank goodness we stayed on the 3rd tier, and paid 22 Euros each. Ouch, but that is the norm in the Cote d'Azur. We relaxed in the sun (and shade), swam, and dosed off. A few swims in the divinely calm sea (surprisingly sandy!) and we had the time of our life.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful beachside dining experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Plage de Passable is set in a very small and private beach on the Cap Ferrat headland however within the bay of Villefranche. this location provides a spectactular view across the bay to the cruiseships, superyachts and the small town of Villefranche.

We arrived by boat and there is a tender (taxi) service to take guests into the restuarant, this is a free service however a gratuitity is usually expected.

The restaurant was busy, by 2pm it was completely full hence reservations here highly reccommended. We were lucky enough to receive a table on the ground level as I dont think the upstairs dining area had quite the same ambience. Sat amongst the trees and with the soft music in the background was just wonderful and on a hot afternoon the chilled glass of wine complemented the scenery perfectly. * a bottle of Blanc de Blanc white wine is 32.00 Euro

For our meale we enjoyed a Salad Caprese, Mussels w/ Clams and a Linguine Vongole. It was a wonderful meal and the portions a good size. We only had craving to return and eat more due to the delicious taste..

We reccommend this restaurant for families with children, couples, groups or even solo, all of which seemed to be at the restaurant on this day. It would not be appropriate for business lunches due to the relaxed, beachside atmosphere.

The service was great, atmosphere perfect for a summers day and food so enjoyable we are returning again today, 1 week later for our 2nd experience.

Highly reccommended experience. (MAKE A BOOKING)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible welcome by staff at the beach....”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Terrible welcome by staff at the beach....
Terrible place to o, staff is very unwelcoming and makes jokes of the guest, truly a one of a kind experience, never before seen anywhere, where the adult staff pulls faces at guests and laugh out loud. We left this place on our boat as fast as we could!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plage de Passable also viewed

St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Plage de Passable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing