We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Roquebrune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Roquebrune
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have been going to Monte Carlo for a conference every year since 2005 and usually stay in one of the big 5* hotels on the seafront, but this year everywhere was fully booked so we ended up staying at Le Roquebrune. When we first walked in I thought it was a little antiquated and nothing like the standard of hotels we usually stay in - however by the time I left I had completely changed my mind and found this to be one of the nicest and most enjoyable places I have ever stayed in during my business trips to Monaco. The woman who runs it along with her sister is one of the sweetest and most helpful hotel owners I have ever encountered and the family history of this quaint little hotel gives it character and charm. On arrival she asked us if we wanted to eat and told us what she could make for us rather than offering us menus which I really enjoyed. The food was delicious, homemade and unpretentious and the service was impeccable. Our rooms were clean and spacious and each had a little balcony nestled into the cliff side, overlooking the bay with stunning views. It was the kind of place I would love to just sit with a book and relax for a couple of days. The owner could not have been more accommodating and charming and her stories of the days when her father and mother ran Le Roquebrune as a restaurant were lovely to hear. She clearly took real pride in the place and in offering her guests the best service possible - something that often gets lost at some of the larger and more pretentious hotels I have stayed in in this region. She also told us where we could get a bus back to the airport (saving us the 100 euro cab ride we paid to get there!) For just 1 Euro we travelled all the way along the coast to Nice taking in the stunning views of the French Riviera. This is something I have never done and made the end of what was a fly in fly out business trip highly enjoyable. Next time I go I would book this as a first choice rather than as somewhere I chose simply because I could not find anything else. I could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank victoriaE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
96
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This small hotel is really worth a visit.
So nice and clean, no noise and ok prices.
They will do anything to help you and breakfast is lovely.
We will be back for sure, it is a nice place to stay, if you want to visit Monaco and with teenagers.
Always free cold water with ice, when we returned from trips arround.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiki0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived by train, and the hotel was a 5 minute drive away, The sister were fantastic hosts, and they offered to pick us up from the train station. From other reviews about the cost of food and drinks, we came prepared with lots of snacks and our own wine, so we weren't stuck in bind when we got hungry. The breakfast is expensive: 12Euro for the breads and coffee, plus another 10Euro if you want an omelet. Since we saved on other things like dinner, we did opt to have breakfast on the nice upper terrace.

For dinner, one night we took the bus to Monaco (15mins, bus stop right across the street) and for the second night we walked up to the village. The little village is a 30min walk (the last 20mins is stairs to the top). It was worth it when we got to the top! Lots of places to eat, and the view is incredible. We went at night when it was a cooler.

The room was great! Great views from the windows, and patio. You won't find a more reasonably priced placed to stay with a ocean view.

I found the walk to beach not too difficult, and it is much nicer than the crowded beaches in Nice. They have umbrellas, beach mats and towels for you to use.

Air Conditioning works great. No problems there.

Some travelers complained about the noise from the road and train. Perhaps I am not sensitive to these issues, but I barely heard anything. I found it so relaxing and quiet. Maybe, there was some road noise when you sat on the patio, but definitely no issues when the windows are closed. I heard not a peep from any other room. I actually don't ever recall even running into another guest (except one couple at breakfast)

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Levant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wixkix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This little nice hotel with it's wonderful onwers is all you expect from a stay at the French Riviera. The whole hotel is presented in white, a wonderful contrast to the blue sky and sea. All rooms have there own teracce or balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea and the Cap Martin. The breakfast is served so lovingly while you are sitting in the privacy of your own teracce or at the balcony of the restaurant with its opanoramic view. You are feeling just like a part of the familiy hoping to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is located at the bifurcation of moyenne / basse corniche and not far of one of the best roads of the world (haute corniche). We have rented a car, we had no parking problem here. The rooms are charming (I've seen them all), the breakfast is delicious and you have a perfect atmosphere (dinner too). The cuisine is very good, yet expensive, but you are in a expensive region you would not expect something else I think.. The beach is not far but be aware of a lot of stairs (not a problem to us). The old village is a Must See (spectacular panoramic views, from Monaco to Menton, lot of history).
The holiday was perfect due to hotel too. I did heard cars but I slept one of the best of my life here!!! The staff was very nice / helpful, many thanks to Madame Patricia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This would have to be one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at. The view from our room and from the dinning room was stunning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was in a great location. We were visiting for the tennis which was a really nice short walk away. Close to other attractions and always looked forward to coming back to the hotel at the end of the day/night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SindeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at La Roquebrune for one night and wish it had been longer.  Arriving at the hotel, we immediately felt welcome when we saw a parking place had been reserved for us just outside the hotel in a small lot, clearly marked with a sign with our names on it, even though we hadn't requested it.  Entering the hotel, the sister who met us was charming, even picking up & carrying a rather heavy case down the winding spiral steps to our room.  Our room (Le Levant) was very special with its stunning view of the Mediterranean from the small balcony and from the large bay windows beside the bed.  Everything was decorated  and arranged beautifully, from the lovely paintings on the walls to the stylish modern bathroom.  The bed was comfortable, with extra pillows in the cupboard.  Some people have complained about noise from the road, and it can be heard, but it didn't really disturb us.  The noise of the train passing below is also clearly heard, but we only found it added to the charm as we could see the train winding its way around the coast.  Sometimes we could even hear the waves lapping onto the beach far below.   The food was superb, though expensive, and we enjoyed the delicious fish soup and cheese board made with care & presented beautifully, while sitting in the lovely dining room which we had to ourselves in front of the splendid view of the sea.  We discovered from the photos on the piano that Winston Churchill and his wife had been visitors at the hotel, adding an interesting historical background - the sisters remember his visits when they were girls.  Breakfast the next morning was just as delicious and we could have had it in the privacy of our own room, but opted to eat in the dining room with its panoramic view.  We took a quick walk down to the beach, which wasn't crowded at the time we were there.  It's not a sandy beach, but seemed pleasant aside from that, with all the amenities.  The walk back up to the hotel is strenuous, taking about 15 minutes up a steep slope, so not for the unfit or elderly. 
We were totally charmed by this lovely, beautifully decorated hotel and its truly welcoming and hospitable owners, who seemed to genuinely care about their guests and want them to enjoy their stay and we look forward to returning some day.  We recommend staying in Le Golfe Bleu as the views must be even more magical, though we didn't see it ourselves.  We have no hesitation in giving this hotel our highest recommendation for those who are looking for something out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
1.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
1.5 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Beach
Monte-Carlo Beach
#2 of 10 in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regency
Hotel Regency
#6 of 10 in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roquebrune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roquebrune

Property: Le Roquebrune
Address: 100 avenue Jean Jaures, 06190 Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Roquebrune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faw minutes away from the heart of Monte-Carlo and Menton,you will be warmly welcome on the coastal cornice along the sea front to Italy, you will be warmly welcomed at Le Roquebrune.Patricia and Marine offer in their hôtel of 6 six charming rooms, includind one little suite for handicapped.Each room is air conditioned has its own terrace like a balcony overhanging the mediterraneen sea. Each room has a parking place reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Roquebrune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing