We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of L'ane Rouge

L'ane Rouge
Reserve with
L'ane Rouge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #270 of 1,924 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Port
Description: Located in an old house in the port of Nice, L'Âne Rouge and its pretty little terrace are well known in Nice. The food is simple, based on fresh, local produce, yet is chic and refined at the same time. The menu is based around fish and shellfish, used to produce the imaginative dishes of Chef Michel Devillers. Try the courgette flower with sardines served with Riviera noodles; braised sea bass with fresh coconut or parfum of haddock and Chipencornet. Otherwise choose from the great fish of the day selection such as gilthead bream, red sea bream, sea bass, John Dory, all caught by Mr Gilbert the fisherman. As far as desserts go, the chocolate macoranade and the Bulgarian ice cream are irresistible.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited l'Ane Rouge in October 2012 by invitation of sommelier Julia Scavo.
Good location at Port du Nice. Nice interieur, but feeling wasn't the best - restaurant was empty of people. Probably it's depending of season.
We choosed special Corsican menu. Soup, fish and veal fillet were excellent, Corsican wines recommended by Julia were interesting and match with food was good. Serving was great.
Service was little bit slow, but sommelier Julia was excellent, shes knowledge about wines was superb and shes kindness made special atmosphere of this dinner.
We spent good time with excellent food this evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    141
    76
    44
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Fabulous and welcoming”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This (The Red Donkey) is a posh seafood restaurant that we’ve been trying to get to for a couple of years. Problem has been that we tend to be in Nice at Christmas, and their opening hours (and space) is limited then. Anyway, booked on Internet before we left.

The restaurant itself is very attractive with many images of L’Ane Rouge himself. Staff were courteous and helpful and completely bilingual. The service was exemplary and, though expensive, we thought it was value for money.
We ate:
Amuse: Augegine curry, olive pastry, cheese balls
Patience: Mackerel and gazpacho
Courgette flower stuffed with a chicken mousse
L’Ombrine (like cod) with a green bean salad
Roasted peach (Bob)
Lobster Salad
St Pierre (In ½ a bottle, sliced lengthways)
St Honneur (Ali)
Ch. Bellet Rosé, Côtes de Provence

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An insult to the French cuisine”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent the evening of the 1 September at l'Ane Rouge for a romantic dinner which turned quickly to became one of the worst experience I faced in gastronomy.

The Maître d'hotel was not familiar with wines (even though he was pretending he knew)
I found a dry piece of soil in my dish. The Maître d'hotel tried to convince my that it was some cloves...

The fish was steamed but was noted as grilled on the menu, the ratatouille must became from cans. The dessert I ordered had nothing to do with fresh carpacio of fruits but was rather a melon soup without taste. The sparkling water looked like rebottled. The staff was young and unexperienced.

We went back to the hotel with the feeling that we've been trapped like tourists and we spent 100 euros in total for that!

This restaurant should be closed by the city council! I really don't understand why this restaurant can get good reviews from people , honestly... don't go there

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, better service”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We went there on recommendation of our guidebook. Although the menu was limited, the food was excellent. The service was courteous and friendly. Antoine, the maitre d' was very funny. the sommelier recommended an excellent wine without a hefty price tag.
The check, as in many restaurants in Nice, took the longest to arrive but as we were on holiday, this wasn't a problem,
Altogether it was a great evening out and I would recommend the restaurant to anyone who likes seafood. It was expensive though and I am sure there are other places that are more priceworthy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, spotty service”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had dinner here on a recent visit after reading good reviews. We did the prix fixe menu, which was a pretty good deal. While the food was quite tasty (especially the fish), the servers seemed confused all around, and we had to ask three times to get our check when we were ready to leave.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'ane Rouge also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'ane Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing