We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family Niçoise cuisine ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant du Gesu

Restaurant du Gesu
Ranked #304 of 1,878 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best family Niçoise cuisine ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. My family and I go here almost every year, when we are in Nice. It's a great place to meet up with friends and family and get some wonderful pasta, pizza, or salads. My personal favourite is the gnocchi gorgonzola. I hope you will enjoy it too. When there you almost feel like you are in a play setting. When you go there for dinner, you may have to wait a little but it's definitely worth the wait. The best is that it isn't too expensive and, in my opinion, definitely worth its price.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalvadoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    243
    99
    52
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great address”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

A classic known by all young Nicois. Cheap, cheerful, and you eat on a beautiful little square facing one of the old town's numerous baroque churches. Fabulous on a summer evening before a Fenocchio ice cream!

Helpful?
1 Thank eurolondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have been visiting this restaurant each year for the last 5 and have never been disappointed. Yes you sit on garden chairs,, yes the tables slope, yes sometimes you have to wait, yes it's not gourmet BUT it is simple, well cooked food at a reasonable price and the staff will have a laugh with you. The fact that you have to wait is testimony to the views of many. the pasta dishes are super and the pizzas fresh and tasty. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to Nice. The Gesu will be one of our 1st stops.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Return visit, still great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This place is crowded with locals, and the food is great.

On a warm evening, all the outside tables were filled. I was hungry enough to sit inside. Eventually all of the inside tables were filled too. My pizza was delightful, crispy thin crust and well cooked toppings.

Off the beaten path in Old Nice, and worth the short walk.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

arrogante service,mediocre food. i ordered a pizza with tuna and i got one with tuna but without anything else....First time a pizza without cheese! I have to buy a new one with cheese!!!
Arrogant service. Try another place in Nice! Not a nice place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PerLundahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Gesu also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant du Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing