We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian burger ever ”
Review of Big Fernand

Big Fernand
Order Online
Ranked #2 of 17 Quick Bites in Nice
Price range: $11 - $20
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

Big Fernand’s veggie burger, Lucien, is actually a huge, juicy mushroom topped with tomme de savoie cheese, caramelized onions, dried tomatoes and cocktail sauce in a soft bun. Delicious. While some burger places try to come up with quinoa patties and fail miserably, Big Fernand keeps it simple and delicious.
As a regular, I should say that the fries are not always great, sometimes they are mushy or soggy. But most of the time they are good.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank atbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 641 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2018

This is a subjective review because it really just has to do with taste. Big Fernand's take on hamburgers is that they should be all saucy and contain all kinds of fancy things and french ingredients that, unfortunately, overpower the taste of the meat itself (Cheeses like Tomme, Morbier, Chevre, Bleu or Raclette for example are great by themselves or with charcuterie or on toast but they just don't jive well with hamburgers, imho). Some people like that but if you are a purist like myself and want to actually taste the meat together with the other ingredients then you should not opt for Big Fernand's burgers. I find them to be too rich. I ordered what seemed to be their simplest cheeseburger and all I could taste was cheese and a peculiar sauce. The staff is very friendly and professional and the spot is pleasant. I also like the marketing concept but it's a pity I don't like their hamburgers. Like I said, you should definitely try it if you like "fancy" burgers. If not, then I would definitely suggest Tribeca Burger in Nice.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Dobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

This place has amazed me so much. Ordered a burger menu with fries and small of it was perfect. Would definitely go again!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sabrina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFernand, Gérant at Big Fernand, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018
Google Translation

Thanks !! See u soon Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Loved this place. My wife and I were looking for somewhere on the cheaper side towards the end of our honeymoon with Euros running a bit low and stumbled upon Big Fernand on Google. Delicious burgers, very filling, friendly staff and, at 15 euros each for a burger, fries and drink, probably the best value meal we had all week. Would 100% recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFernand, Gérant at Big Fernand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018
Google Translation

Thansk Matty see u !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

All the burgers we tried were very good - beef, chicken and veggie - but none of us liked the artisanal lemonade (tried two types = lemon and apple). Staff really friendly and chatty. Toilets could do with better lighting!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GrandTour685487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFernand, Gérant at Big Fernand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018
Google Translation

Thansk !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fernand also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Big Fernand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing