We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of La Favola

La Favola
Ranked #102 of 1,888 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ideally situated between the Cours Saleya, La Favola faces our restaurant La Voglia. The terrace, sunny in both summer and winter, offers you a modern and agreeable setting. A restaurant of character with a warm ambiance, where "David" is the master of the place. La Favola enjoys the benefit of an exemplary and dynamique service with the assurance of a pleasurable taste. The chef pr The chef prepares Italian cuisine with an imprint of authenticity and modernity, generous, simple and refined. Guests can enjoy dishes such as novel dishes such as pasta salad, fritto misto, mozzarella and vegetables, and such as buffalo mozzarella pizza. We also invite you to taste the exceptional desserts that is the hallmark of our restaurant : giant profiteroles and creme caramel, as well as the tronchetto with nutella. We welcome you every day of the year.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

after a busy day of walk on the beach and shopping and of course to enjoy with friends it was a very good decision to have dinner there. friendly staff who can also speak English and nice wine collection. very tasty dishes and very big portions and best part not very expensive will defenitly go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank navquar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    712
    171
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plougasnou, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good appetite required”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our first dinner in Nice, and we went knowing from TA that La Favola had large portions. It's true, and we thought sharing the 'mixed antipasti' starter would make sense. It was a feast before the main, and 2 people cannot finish it. The lasagne main was delicious, and easily feeds 2 people. The creme caramel desert is also 4 portions, and delicious. The staff are very nice, bilingual, and if you ask, will wrap up the leftover food in foil for you to finish another day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackSara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent place, excellent taste”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the best restaurant in Nice. Excellent taste, excellent prices. the best choice.you can go there without reservation quiet early but after 9 o;clock you need reservation. lovely place. easy access, and there you can enjoy your drink or your coffee. the old town in nice is full of restaurants and bars, but "la favola " is the best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iPetkoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very good but too crowded”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very large servings (I bet you will not finish your main course) but very good quality. For example the home made crème caramel would serve 4 people but still it's very well prepared with fresh ingredients. Good prices, excellent variety in the menu: they have everything from pasta to fresh fish and also international dishes.
It is always very crowded, so there are very long queues to get a table every day, especially in summer.
Excellent location (flower market in old town Nice).
Feedback is "very good" and not "excellent" only because it's noisy and crowded, with staff running all the times to serve the tables.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Italian Restaurant in Nice”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On our first trip to Nice in June, 2008, my adult son and I enjoyed eating at La Favola at least one a week for a month. When our Irish and German friends joined us for a week, we took them here as well. The waiters don't try to rush you, and can speak English rather well, so it's easy for Americans with limited French to fare pretty well here. (They do offer menus in English as well!) The location on the corner of a busy main street in Old Nice makes it easy to find, and judging by the number of diners at any given time of day, it's popular with locals as well as with the many tourists, most of them apparently French.

On our first trip, we ordered Penne and Lasagna, which were consistently good. One evening, we had an unpleasant experience with a steak which was not cooked thoroughly enough for my son. When he requested that the waiter have it cooked a bit more, his request was refused on the grounds that it would ruin the meat. Thus, a rather pricy meal went uneaten, and no one was happy. This was an isolated incident, and perhaps a cultural misunderstanding, because I feel sure that if we had insisted that he would eat it and not complain about the quality, it probably would have worked out OK.

I just accepted a last-minute invitation to visit Nice for the Christmas holidays this year. A few days ago, my hosts told me they were taking me to their favorite restaurant. As we exited the tram and I followed them as they headed for the Cours Saleya, I told them that we had a favorite place four years ago, too. Imagine my surprise when they walked up to La Favola!

This time there were six in our party. Although we didn't have reservations, we were seated inside rather quickly; I think that being with native French people helps smooth these details over? We had a cozy booth close to the entrance, from which we could see the holiday travelers strolling the Cours Saleya.

Most of us ordered pizza, which were absolutely huge in size, and we struggled valiantly to finish them. It's a dirty job, but someone has to do it, right? Service was excellent, atmosphere was clean, and festive for the holidays. For some reason, the ladies' restroom was so darkened that it was difficult to see where they had hung the toilet paper. There's "trendy" and then there's.... annoying.

All in all, a good place to enjoy a classic Italian lunch or dinner, either outside (weather permitting) or inside.

http://www.restaurant-pizzeria-favola.fr/

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexinasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Favola also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Favola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing