We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude!!!”
Review of Le Grand Balcon

Le Grand Balcon
Reserve with
Le Grand Balcon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #234 of 1,936 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rude!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I go to Nice every year and have been to some great restaurants Usually the service is friendly and professional. This one, which looks great, and has an interesting menu I thought would be a winner. But even though the food was good, the staff was rude, in attentive, and hard to find. This is the first and so far the only restaurant in Nice I will never go back to again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank mmeelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    196
    80
    39
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A gem amongst some pretty dire tourist traps”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great food, frienly service and reasonably priced! The old town is renowned for having pretty average food, however this place bucks the trend. Avoid petite maison and book a table outside for some excellent food

Helpful?
Thank jollygud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to dine on Le grand balcon after having it recommended by our mobilboard guide. When we arrived we did the "waitresses must see us, but not try to catch us routine". My personal experience is that if the waitresses don't try to snare you in by promising the "best food in Nice" its usually a good a place. We stood a few meters away from the restaurant for a few minutes, some waitresses saw us but went on with their business tending the customers at the restaurant.

When we approached the headwaiter he greeted us and kindly asked us if we wanted to dine. He gave us table close to the streets. After we got our menu's they served us bread and smashed olives as starters/snack. The food is, compared to other restaurants nearby very good. Our meal was cooked as ordered, the recommended Rose Wine was fresh and a perfect fit to our meal. I will be going back to this place I ever visit Nice again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went there for a relaxed dinner last Saturday. The food was good for the price and excellent value. We had other top starred meals, but for the street setting and the familiar atmosphere, the food met the expectations. Service was excellent - welcoming and friendly and couldnt do enough to please us.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamesandTamsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for years and have returned time after time. The food the service and the new outside seating area makes this restaurant a must each time we visit Nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Balcon also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Grand Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing