We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING value for money in a charming boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Ranked #139 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Petit Trianon. The location is fantastic and the price is also amazing in this expensive area of Nice. Thierry is your host and is very hospitable. I assume the cost of the room can be very low because there are no associated services to go with the hotel. It is 3 story's from street level so expect to walk, and reception closes at 8pm so ensure you retrieve the code to enter if you are arriving after this time - an email was sent from the hotel explaining this before our arrival. Also there is no facilities for eating breakfast. Overall a beautiful room at a very low price - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TrentSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Petit Trianon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is situated above the shops and restaurants in a pedestrianised area. It's really close to the beach, old town and shopping centre. The 98 airport bus is 2 minutes walk and a tram from the rail station is 5 minutes walk. I was travelling alone and it was the ideal location. My single room was small but so well designed that is felt spacious. It is stylish in decor too. The price was also reasonable. I loved it however there are things to be aware of. It's up 4 flights of stone steps, the friendly owner makes sure he is there to welcome and help you but he wasnt there when I left so I was glad I'd packed lightly. When the windows are open you can hear the noise from restaurants which I liked but I had to shut windows to sleep. There are no hotel style facilities which means your room and the reception are all there is. There are so many lovely places just outside though so its not a problem. Loved it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you’ve read the negative reviews here, you’ll know that this is a noisy hotel. On top of this, studio apartment 1 on the 3rd floor puts off LOUD CLICKS from a water meter in the wall JUST BEHIND THE BED. It sounds like a time bomb ticking, and varies in frequency depending on water flow. So at 1:30am when someone takes a shower you’ll endure fast clicks. When at 4.30am someone goes to the loo (or any other time) you’ll get slower clicks--but just as loud. And when awoken by the CLICK, CLICK, CLICK… you’ll wonder is this a 2 minute “time-bomb” session or 20? Maddening.

We’d rate the hotel a 3-4 from our previous stays, even with the thin-wall, hallway, and staircase noise. But the clicking makes studio 1 like a torture chamber until they get it fixed.

Also, the shower drain could not keep up with the shower, leading to flooding and a lot of wrung out towels.

Hate to have to mention this, but the owners have developed a sour and irritable attitude. This could be sleep deprivation from their new baby, or that they are getting tired of running the place, or a bit of both.

On the plus side, in years past there was a bar/restaurant just to the left of the Le Petite Trianon street level door which created noise and incessant smoke rising up, has now been replaced by a clothing store. The street noise is now very nice, even soothing, and the door is easier to find for first time visitors.

On the staircase climb, we agree with both the negative and positive reviews. With 20 pounds of luggage, the climb is a bit much and cause for complaint. Without luggage (later) it is not so bad and you’ll feel a bit like a local going up to your own place, glad to be on a higher floor. So, on arrival we’d agree with the negative reviews, but after a day or two we think the climb is pretty cool. Makes you think about the difference 20 pounds in weight makes when facing a staircase! Maybe we shouldn’t have eaten all those fantastic pastries at J. Multari Boulangerie, just up the street?

Since no one else has mentioned it, the more upscale B&B “Le Dortoir” (rated #1 on Trip Advisor as of this review) is in the same building and just upstairs on the 4th floor. It is more expensive and even higher up, but very, very nice.

Room Tip: Near the staircase will be loud, so avoid 1 and 2, especially 1 with the "time bomb" click...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our second stay in le Petit Trianon, and even better than last time.

In terms of location, you're pretty spot on - close to the bus stops to/from the airport, the beach, the old town and shops too, so you can easily get anything you need close by. The staff are very helpful and Thierry very kindly carried my girlfriend's case up and down the stairs on entering/leaving, which was an appreciated touch.

We had room 5, which was a gorgeous room, a good size with a small bathroom with good shower, as well as a little balcony with two chairs - perfect for having a glass of wine or two in the late evening or a coffee in the early morning should you so wish. Definitely worth paying that little extra for over the standard room. The air conditioning worked perfectly so if it got warm in the summer, you could at least be cool and comfortable, especially during sleep. I slept very soundly indeed, with the double glazed windows keeping out all the outside noise.

The little netbook with wi-fi is a great touch, and meant that for the main reason for our stay this time (the Monaco Grand Prix) we could check on the train disruptions (there were some) as well as see what was happening locally and further beyond. It also meant that we were able to plan ahead any days out we had too.

An excellent location and an excellent stay all round - the only difficult decision to make is when we can go back.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a beautiful room, and well worth it over the standard room cost. All rooms are very clean...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zawtowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is a few blocks from the beach and is in a great area for restaurants/cafes/brasseries. The staff is very friendly and helpful and Thierry (sp?) even helped us take our luggage to the end of the street.
The downside: as everyone says, 3 flights of stairs. The rooms are comfortable but quite small. There is noise from Rue Paradis, so we closed the window after the first night.
Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Beautiful room in a pedestrian only area. The room was fresh and beautiful. Located over shops and restaurants. Bolangerie a block away with superb breads, treats, and salads made for a wide range of economical options. Wonderful, helpful owner too.

A few tips to maximize your enjoyment: closing the shutters and the heavy drapes made the room really dark and quiet at night. If the wifi signal seems weak, leave your door open. Those walls are thick and partially block the signal. Get the Monaco or Cannes buses two blocks from the hotel, their first stop. That way you'll be able to get a seat for the long rides on windy roads. If you need kitchen items, like corkscrew or wine glasses, ask. The owner/host was extremely helpful and pleasant.

We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is one hotel I really regretted just staying a night! The hotel is near old nice town area, and is located above loads of shopping places (which are not opened when I was there cos it was a Sunday. Boohoo)

Location from the train station may be a little tricky. But we managed to find it (just keep walking towards the sea until you reach an area with loads of shops and restaurants).

Room was clean, spacious, extremely comfortable. Host was very very nice and friendly.

Breakfast was superb. You get really warm breads!!! Plus choice of tea or coffee, juice and the usual condiments like jam and butter. Plus yogurts. It's simple, but somehow it was the BEST breakfast I ate in my 2+ weeks Europe trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrinalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#82 of 204 in Nice
191 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#37 of 204 in Nice
613 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#154 of 204 in Nice
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#74 of 204 in Nice
105 reviews
Flots d'Azur
#89 of 204 in Nice
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Trianon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Trianon

Address: 11 rue Paradis, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $85 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Petit Trianon 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Nice's city center, Hotel Le Petit Trianon is located between the world famous Promenade des Anglais, along the Mediterranean sea's beaches, and the flower market of the Old Nice on the Cours Saleya. You will find close by many restaurants and cafes. Our boutique hotel in the heart of Nice combines modern and classic with elegantly decorated rooms, fully equipped with a laptop and a free wifi connection in each rooom. All rooms have air conditioning and a hairdryer. There is easy access to our hotel through the Nice Cote d'Azur Airport in 10 minutes or at the railway station less than 5 minutes. The Acropolis Congress Centre is also within 10 minutes from the Petit Trianon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel le Petit Trianon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing