We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Danemark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Danemark
Ranked #72 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Danemark with our 3 year old and had a wonderful time in Nice. Joe and his wife are really helpful and showed us where things were on the map and what there was for kids.
The room was basic but very clean and had the two things that mattered to us - namely free (fast!) wireless and a TV! Much better than tea and coffee making facilites or a trouser press! We also had an ensuite with a small bath.
The location was fantastic, we were able to walk everywhere in the city, even with toddler and buggy.
My husband left his wallet in the room when we left and Joe was brilliant and sent it back the same week.
We would definitely go back, this was a great place to see the French Riviera on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thanks a lot, i hope to see you a nest time !
Best wishes, Joe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I have recenly returned from 2 nights at the Danemark. Its in a great location close to the Promenade des Anglais, and has a pretty seating area at the front. The owner is very friendly, speaks great English and is extremely helpful. The room (#3) was basic but clean and tidy and included a small Ensuite and TV. It did however lack a fan/air conditioning and even with the windows open and shutters closed it was still very hot and stuffy. The bed was comfy but there was a lot of noise both from outside and inside the hotel. Overall its a great base for sightseeing but needs at the very least a ceiling fan (preferably Air Conditioning). Would be an excellent place to stay at cooler times of the year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your attention to our hotel.
For ethical reasons we do not have air conditioning, and this is indicated on the website through which you have made your booking. The area is very quite and you can sleep with open window !
Remember for your next stay, on request we can lend you a fan for free.
We hope too see you again in our hotel, greeting from Nice, Joe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked the hotel Danemark for a 6 night stay in Nice, France as part of honeymoon. During the first night however, neither I nor my wife were able to sleep at the room that was booked (room #3).

The reason that we were not able to sleep was because we could hear everything that was happening outside our room and behind the walls. For example, there was an in-hotel public washroom beside our room and we could hear the steps and screeching door noises of every single person that went inside the washroom. We would also hear talking outside our room like there were no walls in between our room and the hall. Moreover, we could hear loud noises of the rushing water whenever someone went to the bathroom or shower in the other rooms.

We simply could not sleep and left the hotel after 1 night.

I would recommend paying an extra 30-40 euros and staying at a hotel where you can actually get a good rest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

I am deeply sorry for your dissatisfaction, however, our institution usually gives great satisfaction to our guests.
Some customers can be noisy and I regret it. Everyone must respect the tranquility of the place You paid € 80 for the night, certainly has € 120 you can find the most luxurious hotel.
Know that we just do our best to satisfy our customers.
Kind regards from Nice and best wishes for your wedding, Joe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is spotlessly clean and extremely well located for a self guided visit to Nice. The owner, Joe, is wonderfully friendly and helpful and made us feel at home from the very first moment.

The room was small but completely adequate for what was needed and as I knew what to expect, there was absolutely no disappointment on arrival. The shower is tiny but it was not an inconvenience that we could not tolerate.

The location is perfectly situated, 2 minutes from the airport bus stop.

We will be staying here again without hesitation on our transit return through Nice.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Hi friends !
Thanks for your comment, i hope to see you one day in Cap Town !
Kind regards from Nice, Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great little hotel. Situated in a quiet area but within minutes of the Promenade Des Anglais, shops, bars, restaurants and much much more.
Great base if you're travelling to the Monaco Grand Prix and a cheaper option than staying in Monaco itself. On the morning of the race we walked from the Hotel (35mins) to Nice Port to board a cruiser boat to travel round the coast (40 mins) to Cap D'ail. This was pre-booked online and was a fantastic way to reach the GP. The cruiser company is Trans Cote d'Azur and I cannot recommend them enough. Hassle free and the boat trip was amazing (cost around £50 return) Captains running commentary quite hilarious too.
All in all a great base if you're travelling to the GP. Hotel is basic but clean and the beds were very comfortable. Owner extremely helpful and eager to help with any queries. Could not fault it. Fantastic.
Hotel is also only 20 walk to the train station. So if like us you fancy Cannes, Monaco or even Italy for the day just hop onboard!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claretmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The room was clean but small.
The staff was friendly.
The hotel is in a nice little red house (how you can see from some pictures) and has a nice terrasse for breakfast.
The hotel is very close to the beach and 15 minutes walk to the city center. The walk to the city center is nice since you can walk down the promenade des anglais. Just one point about the location : there are not just tourists on the sidewalk at night...
Nevertheless, this hotel is a good solution if you have a low budget, especially considered that hotels are quite expensive in Nice and that those is the very city center for the same price did not look very good to me. But I would probably pay more next time and find a better hotel in the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLuna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the Hotel Danemark in Nice on our way to Italy. Driving in Nice is a bit tricky as most streets are one way and without our TomTom we would have taken much longer to find the hotel. Once you find the street, you are on your own as the GPS does not tell you that the entrance to the hotel is off the street and around a corner in a parking area for several apartment buildings. As mentioned in other reviews (a bit I missed) you must reserve parking with the hotel if you are driving. We did not do this and had to park about 10 blocks away. It was also double the price the hotel charges.

We stayed in a double room with toilet and shower. It was a small room with a double bed and a small bathroom with shower. The bathroom was about the same size you’d find on a sailboat. The bed was very comfortable and had a lovely white duvet, crisp white sheets and good pillows. There was no air conditioning or fan. The first night was quite hot, so we slept with the windows open and the shutters veed. This unfortunately let in a mosquito and the morning noise from the neighborhood workers.

The hotel is extremely clean and I feel that for the price was a very good value. Rooms in other hotels were more than double the price. It is a good walk into old Nice but only a block & a half to the beach. There are buses right around the corner, but we decided that the walk was so pleasant we went into town twice each day. We felt very safe everywhere in Nice, which is unusual for a city that size. Joe, the manager spoke good English and was very helpful at directions and recommendations for restaurants and sites to see. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for good value in Nice.

Room Tip: Room 3 is quite small but has an ensuite toilet & shower. Some rooms have a shared toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BVIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#109 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#57 of 203 in Nice
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danemark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danemark

Address: 3 avenue des Baumettes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $42 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Danemark 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Danemark has an ideal location just off the Promenade des Anglais and Baie des Anges. It is 100 metres to the beach. The hotel is very quiet in a blind alley.The rooms are renovated in 2010, equipped with flat TV satellite. They overlook the terrace of the hotel or little pedestrian street.We have a sunny garden for relaxing or have a breakfast.We offers free Wi-Fi in your room and a free access computer in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Danemark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danemark Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing