We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for a sea view room”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #119 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights the last week in August. The city was pretty booked so we didn't look at many places, but this one turned out to be perfect for us. We paid for the sea view room which was definitely worth the price. The rooms are very large, but dated. The view far made up for it though.

The balcony was small. You can't actually stand on it, but we just left the doors open while we were there for ambiance. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was huge.

The breakfast area & bar looked nice, but we didn't eat the breakfast so can't comment on that.There's plenty of cafes around the corner to grab a quick breakfast.

We had a rental car with us too which we parked in the big garage next door (below the casino). It was pricey (around maybe €24/day), but was convenient & felt far more secure than anywhere else we saw.

The front desk was polite, helpful, and spoke enough English to help with my broken French. :)

The location was perfect. Just outside the old city (where we spent most of our time), it's a gorgeous, short walk to get there. We'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daisyrow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 685 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

When you consider the position and ambience this is excellent value. What no one seems to have mentioned is the live + free French cabaret nights at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekmac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Oh dear - ten years ago Le Royal was a great place to stay on the Promenade des Anglais but it's become tired and seedy. Its seaview rooms used to be much the best value-for-money of any of the Nice hotels and the location remains stunning but the hotel itself has gone seriously downhill. It now seems to cater predominantly for geriatric coach tours and quite frankly that's all its good for. Better to spend a bit more money at the Westminster or the West End and to get better quality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinpellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I went there this summer with a friend we had booked the hotel in advance but unfortunatly our train was late and we arrived to the hotel very tired at 2 am and the man told us he had cancelled our booking because the cerdit card number we had given had no cerdit left when we told him that was clearly a lie he showed us a credit card number that was not ours and then instead of saying sorry there was an overbooking problem ill find another hotel he told us to fix it ourselves or to sleep at the lobby. So we had to walk around town at 3am looking for a hotel.The next day we returned the room ok but a bit dirty and there is no wifi in the room. Dont go to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Dear Sir, we attach a great importance to the remarks , good or bad, about our hotel, we deplore the fact you found your room a bit dirty, and we are doing our best that it doesn’t happen again, please accept our apologies about that.
Concerning your late arrival, we had no information about it; so after 6.00 pm, we applied the guarantee policy which authorizes to cancel the booking without guarantee of payment.
We thank you for taking the time to complete this survey which helps us in our aim to satisfy all our customers.
Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed for one night as our base on August 11th. Price was 160 euros/night or 200 euros/night for a see view room plus 12 euros/person for breakfast. There is a public parking nearby and the see is just across the road.

We had a see view room, which was nice and large, but the tiny balcony from where you could see the beach was dirty and full of cigarettes. The location was ok (we had it as base for Monaco-Cannes-Saint Tropez), there is a space in front of the hotel for two cars when you want to load or unload luggages, and the parking was in a walking 100m distance. Internet was free in their computer in the lobby, but very expensive as a wifi in the rooms. A lot of elder people were staying in the hotel, and the breakfast was just a typical ok and surely not 12 euros value.

We had a pretty bad night the night before looking for a hotel in San Remo, so we didn't search for a better value/money option. If we go again to Nice, we'll not have a prible staying in a similar hotel but for not over 140 euros/night including breakfast.

Instead of the majority of French, the staff didn't have a problem to speak english.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasos-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel room is very small and they usually just made the bed without changing sheets. Beware of bugs in bathroom! Just not a nice place to stay.
Walls paper thin.
Good for beach, but you can do better for the center of town and train and still be across from the beach.
Beware of extra charges! We had a cup of coffee and was charged 24 euro for a full breakfast.
You can do better location and get a way nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

I am very surprised that you have the same appreciation as your friends concerning our breakfast, indeed all customers estimates strongly this breakfast complete international. It is the first time when we are confronted with such a comment on an error of invoicing, what is not absolutely in our habits. The price list of the breakfast is clearly shown in the reception, the price list is also visible in the room and on different support. The desk clerks mention well the price list upon the arrival of the customers. We have absolument not missed in our duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

If you want to pay 12 euro ($15) per person each day for a mediocre at best breakfast- then this is the place for you! Be careful- once you order something in the eating area (even if it's just espresso) you'll be charged for the full breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VFari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

I am very surprised that you have the same appreciation as your friends concerning our breakfast, indeed all customers estimates strongly this breakfast complete international. It is the first time when we are confronted with such a comment on an error of invoicing, what is not absolutely in our habits. The price list of the breakfast is clearly shown in the reception, the price list is also visible in the room and on different support. The desk clerks mention well the price list upon the arrival of the customers. We have absolument not missed in our duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel West End
#41 of 203 in Nice
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albert 1er
#43 of 203 in Nice
643 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 203 in Nice
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 23 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $98 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Le Royal in Nice on the majestic Promenade des Anglais, offers modern decor, flawless service, an excellent restaurant and an exciting programme of excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Nice
Le Royal Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing