We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We had a fantastic time here. The accommodations were very nice, very clean; we had quite a large room that looked out onto the garden. The hotel is run by a German lady and her daughter, plus a couple younger assistants - all of whom were very, very welcoming, kind, helpful, and pleasant. Breakfast was consistently good: a fine German breakfast with bread, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, coffee/tea, fruit juice, Museli, cheese, deli meats. The garden is pleasant; you wouldn't know you were in a busy sector of the town. Location marvelous: in the midst of the city center, one one road from the pedestrian sector and 2 roads from the Promenade des Anglais. The price is entirely reasonable. Secure and safe.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coqgaulois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 625 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

In the heart of Nice, but very quiet owing to its romantic green oasis in the courtyard. I have again enjoyed the cosy and relaxed atmosphere of this hotel, decorated in French style with a slight touch of luxury. It was my 2nd stay and again I felt like at home at Nice Garden Hotel. You will wake up with a wonderful view into the mediterranean garden with its orange tree and teak furniture that invite to sit down and have a nap in the sun. The warm hearted family running this place will make your holiday a full success and a long lasting memory of your pleasant stay in Southern France.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hessemedsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

While the staff at this hotel are some of the most friendly and helpful we've come across this is a very basic hotel. The rooms are quite nice, but this hotel is more like a bed and breakfast. It is very secure and you feel very safe.
The location isn't ideal for Nice, as it has no views and is about a 15 minute walk to old Nice, and a 5 minute walk to the coast line. But it is a lovely quaint hotel and if you are looking for something simple, safe and good value for money, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

In all our experience of hotels in Nice, and we have a lot of experience, this is by far the best place to stay!

The service was impeccable, and the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms and the hotel were very clean. However, most importantly, the rooms were quiet, absolutley quiet. This I can tell you is quite an achievement for a hotel in Nice, and especially for such a central location. Another advantage of this hotel is that you feel very safe, this is particularly important in Nice as there is quite a bit of crime. There is also a lovely garden filled with orange trees, and flowers, and all the rooms look on to this garden. We did not get to enjoy to garden so much as it was Decemeber but in summer you can have your breakfast there. There were lovely Christmas decorations, and we had a fantastic christmasy breakfast. I have never had a better continental breakfast than that!

You shouldn't expect however a large plush hotel, it is more in the style of a bed and breakfast. It is small, there are not so many rooms so if you want to stay there in summer you will have to book way in advance (I had tried to book it a few times before finding it fully booked each time). The rooms are not so big, but again for Nice standards they are good. Although there are 3 different room sizes and we stayed in the middle size. Plus the decoration was very good.

All in all I would describe this hotel as a wonderful refuge after a day in Nice!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Based on the positive reports from other travellers, we booked 4 nights here in October for our first visit to Nice. Right from our arrival, Marion and her team couldn't have done more to make us feel at home - upgrading rooms where possible, making bookings for a half-day trip to Monaco, and so on. The location is ideal - near to the end of the Rue de France pedestrian precinct and a short walk from the 98 bus direct to the airport - and yet quiet and relaxing.

If we're being picky, there are a couple of areas where improvements could be made. The choice at breakfast was disappointing - only one fruit juice (always orange), only one cereal (always muesli) and so on. And while the bedrooms had loads of character, uncovered stone floors without the provision of slippers can be very uncomfortable.

But the overall high rating is thoroughly well deserved. This is a litlle gem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at the Nice Garden hotel for 3 nights in September. This place is very sweet - with wonderful owners who run it more like a B&B than a hotel. Our room was clean and the bathroom was fresh & new. We enjoyed the use a mini fridge in our room. The hotel was convenient to all of the sights, restaurants and public transit.

The Nice Garden Hotel is rated #1 on tripadvisor because it is an excellent value in Nice and the staff is out of this world. It is not the #1 hotel in Nice if you are looking for something fancy - you should look elsewhere. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking for a more unique experience in a homey atmosphere. Everyone on staff was willing to go the extra mile - whether it was to provide directions or to assist with checking into our flight by allowing us to use their PC.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank detroitish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I recently stayed at the Nice Garden Hotel - for two nights. Its a great B&B - rooms clean and roomy - staff were so friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back - and stay here again - and recommend it to anyone. The location of this gem is in a great location. Thanks Marion, Anna, and Becky... -Had a great stay - see you soon --R.R

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
492 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 203 in Nice
856 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#28 of 203 in Nice
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $68 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing