We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Nice Garden Hotel which we booked from the good reports on Tripadviser and we weren't disappointed. We followed the advice of other guests and took the 98 bus from the airport and easily found the hotel just a short walk from the bus stop. The bus journey was an experience as everyone seems to want this bus but the bus isn't big enough to cope with the number of people and suitcases so everyone is jammed in with all their suitcases piled on top of one another! It also seemed strange that you can travel all the way to Monte Carlo and on to Menton for 1 euro, a journey of over and hour, and yet they charge 4 euros for a short trip from the airport.
On arrival at the Nice Garden Hotel we were given a warm welcome by Marion who showed us to our room and left us to relax and unpack. It seemed strange at first that all the rooms opened on to a central hallway where the erception was but we soon got used to this and there was certainly no noise. Our room overlooked the garden and was spotlessly clean with a very modern and equally clean bathroom, Marion has taken a great deal of trouble to tastefully decorate and co ordinate the bedding etc. and we had a small fridge, which was wonderful in the very hot weather. We had breakfast at the hotel every day and sat in the lovely garden in the sunshine eating fresh bread, croissantes and home made jams it was an oasis of calm in a busy resort.
The hotel is ideally situated in easy walking distance from the beach, shops and restaurants and Marion is always willing to suggest suitable eating places or places to visit, she even lent us beach mats, towels and a parasol so we could enjoy the beach.
Nothing was too much trouble for Marion, her mum or Gabriella, they did everything they could to make our visit enjoyable and we will certainly recommend the hotel to friends and visit again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italylover_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
82
339
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2008 and enjoyed our holiday in Nice very much. We booked a classic double room via the hotel website after we read all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. On arrival we received a warm welcome together wit the code for the two doors. We were shown to our room and unfortunately it was quite small and didn't have a view of the garden. We looked onto a block of flats next door which was not that great. The room was, however, rather tastefully furnished and even had a little fridge which came in very handy.

The location of the hotel is quite good. We walked into the old town numerous times, even at night, and it only took us about 20 min. It's a nice stroll past all the designer shops. The hotel is even closer to the beach which was good! Would have been even better if the weather had been better.

We had breakfast at the hotel two times. We got croissants, baguettes, cheese, ham, yogurts, jams, cereal. For the rest of the stay we just went out and bought a baguette at the local bakery and got some cheese and ham from the nearby shop and made our own little breakfast.

The service in the hotel is wonderful! Marion was always very cheerful and so helpful! One night we got back with a bottle of wine and some brie and baguettes and she supplied us with glasses and plates and cutlery and let us enjoy our meal in her wonderful garden.

Nice is a wonderful base for the French Riviera. We went to Monaco, Eze (a must-see!!) and also Grasse. A day at the beach is also great if the weather is good. I would defintely come and stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austrian_sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at the Nice Garden Hotel after reading positive reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. Gabriella greeted us and was very helpful regarding the amenities of the hotel as well as sightseeing in Nice. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The next morning, the owner, Marion, provided us with additional information. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the Old Nice as well as the bus station. The hotel provides free internet, but parking must be found on the street or at a nearby parking garage. We rode the bus to Monaco for one Euro and saw beautiful scenery of the Cote d' Azur. Papayou, a restaurant in Old Nice, served delicious, reasonably priced food. Fennechio, a gelato-lover's paradise, is nearby and not be be missed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

The best part of the hotel is the hospitality of the hotel staff. We stayed a total of six nights. One day we wanted to go to the beach and the staff loaned us beach towels and offered us an umbrella. The staff speaks a variety of languages including English, French, and German.

The Nice Garden Hotel is a small hotel (approximately 9 guest rooms) close to sightseeing and transportation. You are only a short walk to the beach and a 10 to 12 min walk to the rail station. Bus stops are nearby. If you are staying for an extended period of time you can get a weekly bus pass for 15 Euro. This bus pass is good for transportation on the 98 bus from the airport and back again (saving you a total of 8 Euro).

If you need Internet access and don't have a computer, an Internet cafe is only 2 minutes away and is only 1 Euro per 15 minutes.

Be aware that the beach is mostly made up of pebbles, not sand. You will most likely need to wear sandals or shoes.

I highly recommend this hotel and can't thank them enough for everything they did for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4Sights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

We booked into the Nice Garden hotel after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, which turned out to be spot on. It's a small, family run hotel in a great location - 5 mins from shops/restaurants and 5 mins from the beach. Marion was so warm and friendly and tended to our every need. The continental breakfast is a must. At 8.5 Euros it's great deal relative to local cafes and you get to eat out in the lovely garden. The rooms, while basic are charming and very clean. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_and_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

This hotel is an absolute gem. We can't say enough good things about it.
Coming from Dublin, we arrived at an awkward hour. I emailed Marion (the hoteliere) to ask if we could possibly check in early. When we arrived (10am, Sunday morning(!!!)) we were greeted with the surprise that our room was ready. A five-minute walk from Rue de Messina where you'll find loads of shops, creperies, ice cream parlours, pharmacies and restaurants. There's a convenience store on either side of the hotel (though opening hours can vary (quelle surprise!) so nipping out for a bit of fruit or drink is as easy as turning a corner.
The garden is, quite literally, an idyllic refuge. We had our breakfast there every morning, stretching lazily into the early afternoon.
Very large modern room, immaculate bathroom and long windows just added to the beauty and simplicity of this hotel.
Recommended with full confidence.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

We booked this after reading all the super reviews on TA - and we weren't disappointed!
The hotel is in a great location, close to the promenade and the restaurants and bars. The old town is a 20 minute walk away but is a must in the evenings! Likewise the train station is only a 15 minute stroll away and trips to Cannes & Monaco are essential!

Now, the hotel itself is small, however the personal service more than makes up for lack of size! Email communication with Marion was excellent when booking. We stayed in room 3 which was reasonable in size with a small shower room. The room overlooked the garden where we enjoyed breakfast every morning and a few glasses of wine every evening!

Marion, her Mum & Daughter were exceptional hostesses - there was nothing more they could have done!

In summary - this is an outstanding small hotel in terms of location, value for money and personal service.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing