We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for business or vacation!”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #34 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great hotel for business or vacation!”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Nice Garden Hotel in mid-April. I was attending a conference at the Nice Acropolis Convention Center and wanted to stay downtown rather than in the typical (sterile) business hotel near the center. The Nice Garden Hotel was perfect in every way -- a garden to enjoy our wine and cheese in the evening, absolutely east access to the pedestrian center of Nice and the beaches, and Marion, the owner, who did everything to make our stay comfortable and right.

The door to the hotel is on the street, but due to the eccentric construction of small retail outlets around the side of the garden wall, the garden is actually very private from the street. Our room was very large, the furnishings were comfy, and we had our own access to the garden -- which was a'bloom in April. Marion serves a very substantial breakfast every morning, baked goods, cheeses and meats, coffee, fruit and yogurts. I did not have time for breakfast most mornings, so was happy that the breakfast was separate from the cost of the room. Getting to the convention center from the hotel was easy -- about 4 blocks on foot and 1 euro provided an easy ride, or when there was more time, walking directly to the convention center or back was also very easy, no more than 25 minutes. Also, we did not need a taxi to reach the hotel when we arrived in Nice by train. We walked the 8 blocks with our wheeled luggage and did just fine.

All together, we could not have had a better place to stay in Nice. We will go back soon -- this time for vacation only -- and enjoy Marion's hotel and hospitality. This is the ONLY place to stay in Nice!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripPlanPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
83
339
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and we had the most wonderful stay. On reaching the airport we called the hotel to confirm our arrival time and on arrival was more than trilled to see that Marion the owener had reserved the superiour room for us since we were on our honeymoon and nice enough to call our arrival. The hotel was not hard to find. is 4 mins walk from Congress (where the bus drops you off at the Promenard). Nice cosy rooms with tiny bathrooms. Excellent breakfast and with a most beautiful garden with nice oranges on the orange trees. Marion gave me detailed advise on nice resturants in the area. She even helped me with my "ready to eat packed meal" in her kitchen even though they have a strict policy of not leting visitors into their kitchen. A truely wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VivekKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Like some other reviewers we doubted whether a two-star hotel could possibly merit such rave reviews, but we were just as impressed as everyone else. We stayed five nights at the end of March in room 4, which is a comfortable size for two, with a modern tiled shower room, a fridge and a small safe - and that rather odd half-exposed art deco ceiling you see in photographs. Heating/air conditioning worked well and was easy to control. Being well back from the road, overlooking the garden, the room was amazingly quiet for a city centre hotel.
We enjoyed the breakfast of fresh orange juice, cereal, yogurt, coffee and of course yummy bread and croissants with cheese, cold meat and various jams; as it rained nearly every day we didn't get to eat it in the garden, but considered it well worth the going rate of 8 euros.
Marion is the hostess par excellence: effervescent, always mindful of everyone's comfort but never overpowering. She is aided by her parents and Anna, her expert linguist teenage daughter, making guests feel like part of the family. This also contributes to the great feeling of security here (there is a double outside door, each with keypad entry); for the first time ever in a hotel I had no qualms about leaving my laptop in the room while we were out.
As we were leaving on an evening flight, I asked Marion if we could leave our bags during our final day in Nice. "No problem", she replied, "and if you get wet I'll find you a room to change your clothes in when you return". It did rain, but all guest rooms were full when we came back for our bags. Marion opened her own room for us to change in - that says it all really.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nollaig6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was good value but was a little old in itself. It had some of the feel of a B&B rather than a hotel.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. It also has an outside garden area which you can utilise, however the seating in this area was a little run down.

The room furnishing were comfortably though a little old. The bathrooms were tiny but had been recently renovated.

Given the price of the rooms and its location close to the seafront, I would recomment it to visitors coming to Nice. If you are expecting all of the mod cons associated with a chain hotel you should investigate further.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We were only in Nice for 2 nights, and this hotel did the job for us. The price was fair for 75 euros/night. Very clean and spacious room and clean bathroom. Free WiFi. The location was not bad - off the main road Rue de Congres. Close to the beach (Promenade Anglais) if that is what you want. But, a little further from old town Nice, which is where the market Cour Saleya and most of the restaurants are. In the end I wished we could be closer to that area, because we found ourselves always walking there for food and the bus station (for daytrips). Overall, a pleasant stay. Marianne was just the nicest person!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

nice garden hotel is conveniently located near place massena, within the heart of nice. from the airport, take bus 98 (4 euros one-way, this can later on be used as a one-day transport pass) to city, alight along promenade/ rue du congress. journey from airport to rue du congress should take no more than 20 minutes, and walking from the bus-stop to the hotel, no more than 10.

nice garden hotel is family-run, hosts are warm and friendly, it's a pretty nice place to meet people if you are travelling alone. when i was there, the nice carnival was on, so i got back pretty late one night, but getting back isnt much of an issue (and you dont have to feel bad) since they provide you pin numbers for the main gate and door, and keys to your room. breakfast is optional at 9 euros a day (if i remember correctly).

nice is a small town, which means you can walk to almost all places of interests. hotel is a 15-minute walk to train station, a 10-minute walk to the bus station, and a lovely 5-minute stroll to the promenade/ beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kryptful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I toyed between this and another hotel for our early December break in 2008. I chose the Nice Garden and was not disappointed. The room was big with lovely parque flooring and a comfortable bed. Our reception on arrival was very friendly. It's a cosy little hotel. The bathroom was small, but recently refurbished, was clean and sparkled. I was very impressed with this place and would definitely come back.

I liked the fact that the hotel is situated only minutes from the seafront and in the New Town. We found the Old Town quite noisy at night time, with lots of groups of people touring around in the streets between pubs. The New Town is only a short walk away.

I would definitely come back to Nice, and would definitely stay at the Nice Garden. Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#24 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 205 in Nice
1,004 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing