We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome back”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A warm welcome back”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It has been almost two years since our first stay at the Nice Garden Hotel. From the moment we arrived my wife and I were greeted with a warm welcome back that you would only get from family. Marion, her staff and family understand quite well the meaning of customer service and do their very best to make visitors feel they are genuinely welcome and at home. As most of the reviewers have said the Nice Garden is an exceptional value but more than that it has become a home away from home for repeat visitors. As for us, the Nice Garden is becoming an annual tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
83
339
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable 7 day stay in the Nice Garden Hotel. Once again the warm welcome from Marian and all the other staff members was very genuine and they really could not do enough for their guests. As we have visited Nice every year for quite some time we don't need much in the way of directions or recommendations but it's clear that no request is too much trouble. Yes you can stay in more luxurious hotels but it's highly unlikely that you will find one at that price to match the homely feel of the Nice Garden. Having stayed in numerous hotels in France where the typical response to the most basic question is a shrug of the shoulders we are delighted to have found this home from home and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TadhgandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying at Nice Garden Hotel was like a home away from home, one of the major advances of staying at a family run hotel! Every staff member was extremely personable from the people serving breakfast to the people at check in. Rooms were decorated in traditional French style - rustic, shabby, chic with pretty bedlinen, wooden floorboards, antique dressing tables. All mod cons are provided - hairdryers, irons, luxury toiletries. The bathrooms are a little on the small side and the showers tend to be a bit trickley.

What really sets this hotel apart from other hotels in Nice is the beautiful garden! Something very unique to find in the city! It's a lovely setting to enjoy breakfast in the morning or share a bottle of wine in the evening. The hotel does not sell alcohol but you can buy a bottle from one of the supermarkets or delis located within a few minutes from the hotel.

The location was fantastic, around 15 minutes walk from Nice Old Town, 500 meters from the beach. The hotel has many guide books on Nice and the surrounding towns - very helpful for discovering great eateries etc.

By Nice standard this hotel is fantastic value for money and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppy_brown34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had traveled to Nice as part of our Honeymoon (July 2012) and Nice was our second stop over after Paris. Hotel is at a convenient distance from the airport and is located very close to all the major places in Nice. It is 5 mins walk to Promenade des Anglais and the beach, 5 mins to all restaurants and 10 mins to the old town.
We found the hotel to be very charming with an excellent breakfast buffet.

Our room was garden facing and in the warm summer it was an excellent choice. Staff was very friendly and recommended us great places to go and also arranged a private cab when we wanted to visit Cannes.

Hotel is highly recommended to stay in Nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amateur_trvaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after getting married for our 'mini moon'. We were allocated a beautiful room overlooking the garden and fresh flowers were brought into our room on arrival. Marrion and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and they we found them to be very accommodating. They were always happy to help us out when we needed directions or to call a cab.
The hotel itself it in an ideal location, just a couple of blocks from the Promenade des Anglais and a short walk from the Old Town and the train station.
The garden courtyard is charming and I would recommend taking breakfast there at least once. Guests are also welcome to sit in the garden and have a drink in the evening which is a nice touch.
We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinks557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Nice Garden Hotel is pension/guest house style with rooms of the central hall that back onto the garden courtyard. Each room comes equipped with private ensuite, airconditioning, television and hairdryer. Breakfast is not included in the rate, but can be purchased for a small fee.

The garden courtyard is a lovely spot to enjoy breakfast, an afternoon drink or a quiet location to read in the sunshine.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden courtyard to add to the ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in Nice and stayed for 5 days in Nice Garden Hotel!
It is a lovely place that we would definitely come back to when in Nice next time.

Great location to begin with - less than 5 mins walk to Promenade des Anglais and the beach (don't beach in Nice though, go to Villefrance or Beaulieu-sur-Mer), 5 mins to all restaurants and 10 mins to the old town. Train station is easy to get to as Rue Congres leads all the way there and it's less than 10 mins walk.
The hotel is lovely and for the price I am not sure there can be a better place to stay.
Marianne, the owner was extremely nice and welcoming and so were her staff. Hotel offers beach towels & beach mats (mats are needed, especially if you are going to beach in Nice).
The room we had was large enough, with the bed being very comfortable and a good size (I'm 193cm/6'3). Bathroom was a decent size. Rooms are equipped with AC, fridge and wardrobe.
Absolutely stunning garden with orange trees. Best place to wind down in the afternoon after a "hard day" at the beach with a glass of wine and some delicious cheese!
To sum it up I strongly recommed this hotel to anybody staying in Nice and doesn't have the £$ to stay at Le Negresco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 205 in Nice
1,003 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing