We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merci Beaucoup”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Merci Beaucoup”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed New Year 2012 / 13 at the Nice Garden Hotel.
From our arrival, the staff were so helpful that we immediately felt "at home", with great warmth.
Our rooms were extremely clean.
The location was perfect - five minutes walk to the sea and ten to fifteen minutes to most attractions, including the "Old Town".
Breakfast was served in our room and proved to be excellent value, with extra items / drinks available in the adjacent public area.
In Summer, breakfast can be taken in the lovely, tranquil garden.
You can avoid an expensive taxi ride to / from the airport by taking Bus 98, which entails a simple ten minute walk to / from the Promenade.
From your guests in Wales,
We hope to meet you again.
Diolch yn Fawr i Bawb.
Angela, Alun, Joy, Alan.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ATJBridgend_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
83
342
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belin-Beliet, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

it is beautiful place with the best staff available. they are mixed nationalities and do a great job in running the hotel together. the manager is a great man himself. all your needs are taken car of. there were a lot of children when i visited but its still pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank manek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The price of our two night stay at this hotel cost less than one night's stay at the surrounding hotels. However, this did not mean we received poor service. In fact, do not let the two star rating fool you. The amenities and service certainly merits a higher rating.

Rather, our stay was quite enjoyable. The manager recommended areas to visit and places to eat. When we explained we had to be up extra early, she provided us with her own alarm clock. Furthermore, the location was perfect. It was a short walk to both the waterfront and the old town. We received not only directions to both by the owner, but we also received a map with the locations marked off.

When we return to the area, we will be sure to return to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JO3Esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

First impressions of this b&b are great. The location is 10 min walk from the station and 5 min walk to the beach, tourist area. The outside courtyard is beautiful and relaxing and the rooms are clean and spacious (superior double)

We were also able to borrow beach towels and umbrellas which was much appreciated. Along with the great restaurant suggestions.

The only drawback is how the b&b handles any criticism. On the first night our air conditioner stopped working. Only after an hour or so did we realise it had stopped. After this we were unable to get it working. When we told the host the next day the response was 'you must have broken it playing with the remote' the air conditioner was then fixed by restarting it.

Secondly as the reception is right outside our room each morning we could hear people leaving from 8am. One morning the noise was ridiculous, on /off from 8am with kids running down the hall and very loud French conversation where the guests were talking over one another and kids yelling. At 9:40am after 30 mins of this and having been awake since the noise started at 8 I poked my head out of the room to give the noise makers a look. The response from the host again was quite rude off the bat saying that we sleep in late and she can't asked guests to be quiet. However she did ask if we wanted to move to the back of the b&b that's quiet.

I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends however I think the host needs to understand not to get so defensive. We are on holidays and therefore would like some level of quiet until a reasonable time in the morning. I would suggest not staying in room 1 or 2 if you sleep in later than 8ish.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in past 8am do not stay in rooms 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chloeruby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Nice Garden Hotel. This is the type of place we generally prefer when traveling--small, family run, good location.
We were a bit skeptical on entering, as our room was immediately off the reception area and there were a few minor maintenance issues (door handles and bathroom fixtures that needed tightening or simple adjustment). Our room was a bit dark during the day. The shower was quite small with no elbow room for taller people. The room itself was small, but we had plenty of storage and were able to stow our bags out of the way.
All that said, the staff were fantastic. Wonderfully helpful and friendly. The garden is lovely. We were able to have a nice lunch in the garden and the staff provided us with cutlery, plates and glasses.
The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom.
We found the breakfast to be a good value.
The location was also very good. It took us about 10 minutes (with luggage) to walk to the train station. The beach and shopping areas were also within a 5 - 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far from the reception area as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank athena-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As a solo young traveler, I tend to look for unique hotels that would really surprise me (in a good way). And viola, this hotel definitely is one of those. With only 9 rooms, this property consists of everything you expect and beyond.

Let's be honest. For any hotel, cleanliness should be on the top of the list! The housekeeping lady does a very good job in this hotel. I come back to a fresh room every day and my bed is really well made even though it is against the wall. I know how hard it is to really wrapped that hospitality corner right.

Another note on the bed, my room was the classic single and the bed was bigger that most other single rooms in hotels. Very functional room and the bathroom looks newly renovated.

But, we don't just stay in our hotel room all day long when we travel. We go out and have fun! The hostesses are very nice and informative about the area and they give the best advice about local attractions. They give the service with just the right amount of personal touch!

Well, I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I think November is actually not a bad season to travel to Nice for I was blessed by the wonderful weather.

P.S. The entrance is a little bit tricky since it is France with buildings with door codes everywhere. Look up while you search the hotel. You will see the light box.

P.P.S. Love it when there is a common space for travelers to hang out i.e. the garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xintong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I took my 30 year old son to Nice for his birthday treat- he had already visited Nice and had wanted to stay here at the Nice Garden Hotel but it had been full, so he was determined that on this occasion he should get in, having read rave reviews about this hotel. We stayed 4 nights in October and it was fabulous! My initial impressions had been favourable right from the moment of booking by telephone and Marion greeted us with such geniune warmth. The hotel was very easy to find (the airport bus stops just down the road on the main prom and it is an easy 5 minute walk with the cases from there- right next to a pet shop ). We stayed in the superior room which was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and opened out onto the courtyard without compromising on safety or privacy. This room has a large double bed, and one single bed over in the corner, perfecty fine for us to share without getting in each other's way. The shower room was sufficient for our needs and the towels cosy and big enough which isn't always the case in far more expensive Parisian hotels...We had breakfast in the courtyard on 2 mornings and found it to be reasonably priced compaired to the Nice cafes nearby, and far more relaxing. The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Nice on foot and we found ourselves at a concert in the English Church over the road one evening which was a real treat. Security was excellent (2 separate door entry codes to get in, and a safe in our room which I was able to work out how to use without difficulty!) Marion was kindness itself and I so enjoyed our stay here that I shall be returning next autumn. Great value for money too.

Room Tip: The superior room opens right out onto the courtyard. Romantic couples may prefer the additional pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#18 of 204 in Nice
799 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#9 of 204 in Nice
801 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#46 of 204 in Nice
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing