We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A perfect base and a wonderful hostess.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect base and a wonderful hostess.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I took my 30 year old son to Nice for his birthday treat- he had already visited Nice and had wanted to stay here at the Nice Garden Hotel but it had been full, so he was determined that on this occasion he should get in, having read rave reviews about this hotel. We stayed 4 nights in October and it was fabulous! My initial impressions had been favourable right from the moment of booking by telephone and Marion greeted us with such geniune warmth. The hotel was very easy to find (the airport bus stops just down the road on the main prom and it is an easy 5 minute walk with the cases from there- right next to a pet shop ). We stayed in the superior room which was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and opened out onto the courtyard without compromising on safety or privacy. This room has a large double bed, and one single bed over in the corner, perfecty fine for us to share without getting in each other's way. The shower room was sufficient for our needs and the towels cosy and big enough which isn't always the case in far more expensive Parisian hotels...We had breakfast in the courtyard on 2 mornings and found it to be reasonably priced compaired to the Nice cafes nearby, and far more relaxing. The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Nice on foot and we found ourselves at a concert in the English Church over the road one evening which was a real treat. Security was excellent (2 separate door entry codes to get in, and a safe in our room which I was able to work out how to use without difficulty!) Marion was kindness itself and I so enjoyed our stay here that I shall be returning next autumn. Great value for money too.

Room Tip: The superior room opens right out onto the courtyard. Romantic couples may prefer the additional pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    141
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
82
338
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reepham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Nice Garden Hotel is a real find. It is perfectly positioned, within sight of the Mediterrenean in one direction and a two minute walk from the Rue de France pedestrianised street of bars, restaurants and shops. The Old Town (for the craft shops) is an easy walk away.
Marion and her staff are warm and welcoming and could not be more helpful in providing bus times, ideas for visits, little bottles of water and anything else you need - in fluent German, English or French. They were truly charming.
Do not be put off by the 2 Star rating. Our room was large and airy and the bathroom modern, with a large walk in shower area, Air conditioning and TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my partner recently stayed in one of the superior rooms at the hotel. Communication before our arrival and directions from the airport were fantastic, as was our welcome to the hotel.
The hotel is in a wonderful location, a short bus ride from the station (with clearly marked signs on the bus stops so you don't need to worry about getting off at the wrong place!) and a few minutes walk from the station (we recommend a day trip to Cannes!), the old town, the shopping district and a lovely walk along the Promenade Des Anglais to the harbour and 'Castle Hill'.
Both Hannah and Marion were wonderful hosts; extremely welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!! We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as we weren't sure when we would be leaving each day, however on the couple of days we bought pastries from the local bakery, Hannah and Marion brought us tea to have with our breakfast, which we ate in the garden.
Our room (room 1) had access to the garden, which was lovely. The gardens themselves are beautiful. The hotel was quiet at night, the bathroom was just right and the beds were comfortable.
I would highly recommend this hotel, we went out of season and there was PLENTY to do. We walked miles each day and saw many fantastic sights! Restaraunt recommendations: 'Le Lodge' right by the hotel and 'Nexus Caffe' in the Old Town. Also it is worth the train ride to Cannes purely to have afternoon tea at 'Salon de Gourmandises Intuitions By J.'!

Room Tip: Room 1 has direct access to the garden, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauLou0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laxey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having never been to Nice before I was somewhat anxious however the hotel and the management were so welcoming and exceeded my expectations which ensured my week long trip was most enjoyable. Hotel rooms are all on ground floor with either doors or windows and 3-4 have access to the lovely garden at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast was served in the garden, again lovely. Highly recommended and would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful place for adults but does not cater for children, which for me was preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small hotel has welcoming hosts who do a great job with customer service, but the rooms need some work. Lonely Planet says they are 'elegantly appointed' which has to mean that the writer didn't actually stay there. The ceiling light not secure in the ceiling, worn furniture, etc. However, it does have a nice garden, and we were lucky enough to stay in Room #1 which offered direct access to the garden. We checked around the area, and there were other hotels for the same $$ that were nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mplstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent four nights at The Nice Garden Hotel...it was our second trip to this area of France and our second stay at the Nice Garden. Marion and her girls are very welcoming and helpful. Some of the rooms have been re-decorated and are lovely but room 5 is in need of re-decorating and the bathroom walls and ceiling have mildew or mold. I was also disappointed that the area around the hotel is not clean. Would be nice if the city would wash the streets/sidewalks at night like they do in many of the European cities.

Room Tip: I would ask for room 7 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I will duplicate what many have already said, the Nice Garden Hotel, Marion and her staff provided us a place that felt like home. Our room was perfect (#4), the hotel was everything the website showed and more. Marion and her staff made sure that all was in order, if you needed anything or directions to anything, they had the answer. ALL of the staff spoke perfect english so the language barrier was non-existent.
Nice and the Cote D' Azure is a place that we will return too soon only if our return includes the Nice Garden Hotel. After a day of walking and sightseeing, the garden provides a perfect place to sit down with a good book and a bottle of wine to relax before dinner. Overall, the Nice Garden Hotel is a perfect boutique hotel for the romantic week in France that we all dream of.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and request the larger room. It is not that much more and if you are like us, we nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwasson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#9 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing