We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reliable hotel for central Nice”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #110 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I scoured reviews for my 4th annual trip to lovely Nice and plumped for the Solara. Had never stayed here before, and as Nice hotels are expensive was slightly nervous before I came about what I would get for £72 a night. I was not disappointed. I had a lovely smart little room with a cute bathroom. Yes the shower was a little small as I am 6ft4" but the outside balcony more than made up for it, and was the envy of my travelling companions staying at a different hotel. I wouldn't bother with 8euros for the breakfast as there are plenty of places nearby offering an express breakfast. I stayed 4 nights. Great location for central Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 246 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pros of this hotel:

-Its in a really central location in nice in the middle of a walking area with a lot of bars and restaurants
-The price is really cheap. We paid 95euro for a room of 4
-It's clean and safe
-Staff was very helpful with our requests and questions

Cons:

-The bathroom was a really small and cramped, you can barely take a shower there.
- It has a funny smell in the common areas
The rug in the room was not that clean as you may want
- It's located in a 4th floor and the elevtor it's really slow and small but that's a minor inconvenience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rua17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a gem of a hotel located in the centre of Nice. Only 2 mins from the beach and restaurants and bars on the same street. We had a top floor room with balcony. Very quite and peaceful. Staff extremely friendly without being in your face. Gave very good recommendations on where to eat and drink. Excellent for a 2 star hotel. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends or family.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizm19Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our 2nd stay here, just as happy as 2 yrs ago. Rooms are on floors 4, 5 scessible as you know by now via a tiny 'vator. 5th floor rooms are sparklingly renovated, and have nice balconies for €10 more. Wonderful central location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Would very much recommend this hotel. The location is superb, the fella who owns it pretty much runs it, and he's quite nice. They have a elevator so you're fine with the hotel being up on the forth or fifth floors. You don't have to eat breakfast there due to nice little coffee shops and such being just out the front door. We had a balcony and those rooms are probably a bit larger; while we didn't look out at the sea it was fun to sit out there and enjoy a glass of wine.
Again, this is a great value in a wonderful city.
Enjoy, Salida1048

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Solara for two nights in November. The staff are very nice and the location is excellent. The lift, though small, is a very welcome feature, as the hotel is on the upper floors of a larger building. The room was small, but adequate size and had a very nice balcony. We appreciated the small refrigerator. The bathroom was very nice and seemed to be newly renovated. The room did have a mildly unpleasant smell, that likely came from the very strange jute carpet. If the flooring was replaced and the walls painted the room would have been much more pleasant. Over all, however, an excellent value in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAtravelmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good location to wants to be close to the main tourists places, it is not close (but not "far away") from the train station. Specially to singles or couples who do not search for "luxury", but a simple, low price, good location e safe place to sleep, keep your luggages and take shower privately. I myself was alone and on the last floor, with a "terrace", nice view.
Do not recomend if you are with kids, specially more than one.

Room Tip: Choose those which are on the last floor with a "terrace".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMuniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#78 of 204 in Nice
106 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#60 of 204 in Nice
524 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#49 of 204 in Nice
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massenet Hotel
#101 of 204 in Nice
296 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
469 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#98 of 204 in Nice
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing