We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly priced hotel in center of Nice”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is in a prime location - a 5 minute walk from the beach, a 20 min walk from the train station, and a 15 min walk from the old town. It's clean, the staff are helpful and friendly and the room where we stayed had balconies looking over the pedestrian only street below.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bolkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Easy enough walk from the train station which is handy if you are training through Europe! A little hard to spot - the hotel is on the top floor and all you see from the street is a door with a sign beside saying "Hotel Solara";
Our room had a lovely terrace, which didn't have great views but it was so nice to sit out on the terrace with some wine and cheese bought from the little deli just around the corner.
Literally a three minute walk to the beach (Promenade des Anglais), is in the middle of shops, restaurants, cafe's, also very close to the Casino.
Its a 2-star hotel, the bed was small and a little soft, but the rates are incredible, its clean, the staff are helpful and friendly and the location is fantastic. If you are looking for a decent hotel without paying top dollar, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The end rooms have a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel occupies the 4th floor of a residential building.  There is a tiny lift that works sporadically, so be prepared to climb the spiral staircase whenever you return to your room.  The hotel staff carried my 3 heavy, large bags up for me.

Located 2 blocks from the beach and the tourist office, my single room is a reasonable size and a bargain for Nice in June @65€.  It has a full length shuttered window that opens onto a pedestrian promenade.  I did not use the air-conditioning because the breeze from the window kept the room comfortable. The toilet is crammed into the corner.  The shower stall is small, 3 walls and a curtain, similar to other 2-star hotels in France.  

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel is located on the 4th floor on a building situated in one of the Nice pedestrian area full of tavernas.Lovely view, but sleep quality can suffer if you want to sleep with open windows because the parties are going on in the street all the night long. With closing windows things go better.
Also I should mention the elevator, the smallest I ever seen. I wonder if it exists in the Guinness World Records as the smallest in the world,
Location is superb in heart of the city near. Promenade des Anglais and Le Meridien are just a few step walking.
Once you checked-in you will receive 2 access codes: one from the main entrance of the building and one from the hotel entrance. I was in room 6 which in fact was an apartment of 2 rooms and one bathroom. It was more than I was expected as space. Furniture is old and strictly was designed for the minimum of what you need, but remember this is 2 stars hotel!!!
Bathroom was clean, but toilet was placed in a very incommode position.
Price for the room was 85 EUR/night which I think is very competitive for a location like Cote d'Azur. Breakfast is extra for 8 EUR/pers/night and is served in the room because they do not have breakfast room, but in my opinion is not worth it because is very poor.
After all if your expectation are not great this is the perfect place for the money in Nice. If you want more than 200+ EUR/night hotels are waiting for you.
Also do not forget this is 2 stars hotel. Do not expect 4 stars comfort.
Transportation: bus #98 leaves you from the airport on Promenade des Anglais , near Le Meridien, just 100 m away of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mustaine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in NICE for 11 days and had a wonderful time exploring the city and surroundings. I initally had some reservations about booking a 2 star hotel but after the many positive reviews from Tripadvisor I decided to take my chance.

Hotel Solara could not have been more perfect. I stayed in Room 11 which had an end balcony with a lovely view of the city and hills. The room was very clean, bathroom was modern with instant hot water and the bed was super cozy with cotton sheets and blanket. The little bar fridge was a budget saver as eating out in NICE can be expensive. There is a Spar grocery store a block away that provides you with all the necessities. The only downside to the room was that there was no coffee maker.

The owner Thierry and his son Jonathan were very friendly and provided me with lots of helpful information. I have read complaints that it doesn't look much like a hotel but I think it is even better as it feels more like tiny apartments and that you are living amongst the French people. And yes, the lift is small and I would recommend it when you have luggage but climbing the flights of stairs more than make up for the yummy cheese and wine you will consume! I will stay here again and will recommend it to all friends!

I would also like recommend a travel company called Viator which I used for 3 days trips while I was in NICE. It was almost like having a private tour guide. And they pick you up directly from your hotel. For some reason the local tourist offcie in NICE did not have any information on them but you can look them up online. I booked everything online and had no issues

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room with a balcony! The rooms are small and the balcony allows some extra space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SulouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great little studio style unit in the heart of town. Accommodation is basic, but the rooms have recently been renovated with new tiles to the bathrooms and new carpet. The balcony is an added benefit too and affords great views of the back streets and town. All in all a really great base from which to explore Nice.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank westsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kleimnat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Flots d'Azur
#93 of 203 in Nice
80 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#78 of 203 in Nice
189 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#40 of 203 in Nice
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Royal
#106 of 203 in Nice
706 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#49 of 203 in Nice
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing