We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & affordable, right in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Verdun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Verdun
Ranked #93 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice & affordable, right in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel on a road trip on the French Riviera. Hallways & elevator a little outdated & not in perfect condition, the room was all right. Beds are okay, brand new and super-clean bathroom complete with amenities. We had a balcony looking out on the street on the highest floor and could catch some evening sun. Breakfast was included because we booked online (nice surprise), nothing special but good enough.
It's in the center of Nice so it isn't 'cheap', but the price is okay considering the alternatives.
The location is just perfect, just around the corner of Galeries Lafayette and Place Massena, you can basically get anywhere in the city on foot. Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_moroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    129
    60
    17
    13
See reviews for
58
100
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only had one night here but agree with all the positive things previous reviewers have said- the location is excellent just next door to the main shopping precinct, the staff are very helpful and the breakfast is good, cheese and fruit and not just bread and jam. Yes the room had a french style tube pillow wrapped into the bottom sheet which some of us aren't used to and the double bed was just that which is small when you are used to a queen size or bigger. The hotel wasn't full so reception gave us a room upgrade to a bigger room which was very nice of them so I cant comment on room size, but our bathroom was pleasant and clean and everything worked and I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnu, Estonia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very good budget hotel. Its located in the center of the Nice. Gross the street is department store Galeries Lafayette and 550 metres down the Jean Medecin street is supermarket Monoprix and department store Nice Etoile. The bedlinen changed every day. Very soft matrasses, but I do not like the pillow. AC. Gross the street is hotel Lafayette. Place Massena is very close and the beach and Nice old town is about 5 minutes to walk. The braekfast was good, cereals, eggs, ham, croissant, juice, milk, jam, honey. Staff is multilingual and speaks english and russian and very friendly. The reception works 24 hours and you can buy water and soda from there.

Room Tip: room 45, nice view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pros:
- Awesome, friendly, English speaking staff.
- Free internet and use of computer
- Decent breakfast with good hours (6:30-11:00 a.m.)
- Amazing location, right by shopping, old town, and beach.
- Air conditioning

Cons:
- Tiny bathroom with dirty shower curtain.
- Old, musty, disgusting bed linens and carpet.
- I felt that it was expensive for what we got, however all hotels in Nice are expensive.
- Pictures on hotel web site are much nicer than the real deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family (couple and 2 adult children) stayed at Hotel de Verdun in April 2012 for 2 nights.

Booking and all email communication was excellent and very straightforward.

We had a hire car so needed parking and were advised that there were 2 parking buildings next to the Hotel. They really can't be considered as " next" and we had a bit of difficulty around this, and they are expensive (25-30€ /day). But once sorted, the location of the hotel means we didn't need the car again for the duration of our trip.

The hotel is in a very good location, right in the heart of the shopping centre and such a short walk to the Promenade in one direction and the train station (caught a train to Monaco) in the other. Also the historic part of Nice and all the lovely restaurants.

One flight of stairs to lug suitcases, but after that there is a small elevator the the upper floors and rooms. Lovely warm welcome from staff and we were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation (2 rooms, one with double bed, writing desk & lovely outlook onto the street below), and one with twin beds, and ensuite of course. Not overly modern and flash, but clean and comfortable and very pleasant. (I definitely wouldn't describe the room we had as shabby by any means) We were quite aware of the noise of some on the street during the night, but wouldn't consider this to be a major.

Our tariff included a basic but decent enough breakfast. The breakfast room is spacious and there is a nice lounge area.

I would highly recommend Hotel de Vedun and definitely stay there again. Nice is beautiful- we would have liked longer there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesM21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights 1/2 July 2012 before leaving for Toulon. Arrived on foot having taken a bus from Nice airport so a bit of a slog in the 28 degree heat from the nearest stop at Jardin Albert on the Promenade des Anglais.. I can't comment on any parking availability.Check in, no problem having booked almost 2 months earlier on the net. Locatiion suited me cos not much a beach bum. However if you are especially with children you'll want to be much nearer to the seafront. My room was on the top floor and a lift was available. Have to agree with other reviewers who said their room was shabby and threadbare but always kept clean. Mine was no exception and it was clear much recent attention ahd been paid to the small en suite bathroom/shower which I have no complaints about.

Room itself had AC thank heavens o'wise it would have been impossible to sleep. I had 2 good uninterrupted nights sleep here. Staff were helpful when asked. Breakfast was adequate. The free maps on the reception coounter of the town centre were very useful for getting orientated.quickly. There is one unintended comical feature of the rooms I have to mention. The bedhead was attached in a single piece to a small set of shelves on either side of the bed which mean't that when you moved in bed whatever you had stored on the shelves tended to flyi all over the room so I learn't to be careful about moving my head on the pillow! Would I stay there again? Yeh, probably.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pros: air conditioning, free Wifi, and our room had a small balcony. The staff were also nice and very helpful, and we were able to borrow parasols and beach mats. The room was fairly clean.

Cons: the room was shabby with almost no amenities. Hairdryer had to be borrowed from the front desk. Towels had never seen fabric softener. No shampoo. Shower head was broken and had to be propped up with a small packet of what may have been shower gel. Shower was TINY and dingy. The location was okay for Old Town and shopping but a little further from the beach than I like to be when I am in Nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#76 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#86 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#99 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#96 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#143 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verdun

Property: Hotel de Verdun
Address: 49 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Verdun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing