We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, but helpful staff”
Review of Hotel de Verdun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Verdun
Ranked #113 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pros: air conditioning, free Wifi, and our room had a small balcony. The staff were also nice and very helpful, and we were able to borrow parasols and beach mats. The room was fairly clean.

Cons: the room was shabby with almost no amenities. Hairdryer had to be borrowed from the front desk. Towels had never seen fabric softener. No shampoo. Shower head was broken and had to be propped up with a small packet of what may have been shower gel. Shower was TINY and dingy. The location was okay for Old Town and shopping but a little further from the beach than I like to be when I am in Nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 307 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

These are the qualities I hoped for in our Nice hotel, and I found them at the Hotel Verdun. It's not only close to the Old City and beach but also is very clean, and our room on the fifth floor was very quiet. It seemed reasonably priced, too.

Note: there was a posting addressed to "Groups of Teenagers" by the price list on the door prohibiting misbehavior, so it's possible that at some times it may be less perfect.

Room Tip: There is a hotel continental breakfast for 8 euros, but I hate Nescafe so went to a small place arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTT932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

hello
i was on a short holliday in Nice, booked this hotel based on reviews and location.
Location: great! Staff: ok
the room is very very small, it's smelly, the water from our bathroom had no drain and it went on the hallway. the walls were cracked, the furniture is extremly old. i would never recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good location in Nice centre. Staff is very friendly. No lift at G/F, yet they can take your luggage up to 1st floor where have lift. If you make your reservation through their website not other booking agencies, they will provide free breakfast as a reward.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciaLEUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed there for 3 nights from the 24 to 26 June 2012. This is a 3 star hotel but rated quite highly on trip advisor. The location is perfect - only 5 min walk to the main shopping and cafe/restaurant area, 10min to the beach and 10min to the old town. The laundromat is just a few streets down.

We stayed on level 2, facing the main street. It did get a bit noisy in the morning with all the traffic but it's tolerable. The room is a bit old but the bathroom is newly furnished (although I'm not so sure about the shower curtain). Room size is tiny but I think that's pretty standard for France. The toilet is incredibly small and if you are taller and larger than average, I think you will really struggle (I'm just being honest). The room is air conditioned, has a hair dryer, free WIFI and TV (no fridge). The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels being replaced each day. The bed was OK and the pillow was of a funny kind (round tubular shape with a small area to rest your head - weird!).

Breakfast was not included in the cost but we wouldn't have had it anyway as there are so many great cafes nearby. The staff is awesome, helpful and speaks fluent English.

Overall, we were quite pleased with the hotel given the price and we would definitely consider going back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuggley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. Considering we were there during peak holiday season on the French Riviera, the hotel was very affordable for our budget. The hotel is centrally located in Nice, only a couple of minutes away from Old Town Nice, the main shopping area & the main beach. The hotel is on the block next to Galleries Lafayette.
Staff were very friendly & helpful. All spoke English & made our stay very easy with lots of recommendations and directions to landmarks. There was free wifi available throughout the whole hotel which was convenient.
The room was quite small but substantial for the price & we were lucky enough to have a room on the top floor which had a balcony opening out to a table and 2 chairs. the room was also fully air conditioned & we had a tv. Room was serviced daily & towels were replaced.
My only criticism was that some elements of the room features needed maintenance, eg. towel rack not securely fastened to the wall. Shower curtain too short for the shower (meaning we constantly flooded the bathroom when we showered) and the carpet + tiles were very worn out.
Other than that though, no complaints to be made & I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget in the French Riviera. Such a beautiful part of the world and one which I would re-visit in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - only a couple of the rooms have balconies which you can sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights & thought it excellent value for money. New bathroom, with hair dryer, spotlessly clean, TV, free wifi, dble glazed windows so very quiet, new carpet & friendly, helpful staff. Easy walking distance to beach, train, buses to Monaco, Villefranche, Etc. Supermarket around the corner, old town just 5 minutes walk away. Would definately stay again & recommend to other travellers!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Veraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#66 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#109 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#82 of 203 in Nice
266 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verdun

Address: 49 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $57 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Verdun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing