We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcome newcomer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jan

Jan
Ranked #2 of 1,876 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $75
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated just behind the old port of Nice, JAN is a small restaurant that welcomes locals as well as visitors from all over the world. JAN being from South Africa adds a touch of South African heritage both on the menu and the wine list. We welcome you to be our guests for an unforgettable experience.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very welcome newcomer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have to share the enthusiasm of your other reviewers. This restaurant serves very good food, haute cuisine style, at a reasonable price given the quality. The owner, Jan, is very hands-on indeed, and his staff work hard to support him. The wine list contains a number of (very good) South African wines, which is rare in France and would make a visit here worthwhile in itself. If Jan keeps up this level of excellence it will not be long before his restaurant receives well-deserved recognition in the major food guides.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank screen1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    125
    46
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We read a small note about Jan in The Times and decided to try it while in Nice. And what a treat it was! Lovely, warm and cosy restaurant. Kindly staff who very patiently let me speak French although their English was much superior. And the main thing; an absolutely gorgeous, inventive menu. Not to mention le chef, Jan himself! We'll be back asap, if we can get a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lenawhite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful from the moment we entered the restaurant until we finished it all off with candy floss served on sticks in real grass! Wow! Going back asap :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just a outstanding cullinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

i went to Jan gastronomique restaurant twice once for his lunch menu the second time was for an evening
there s no doubt anymore to say Jan is part to the top level service surprise emotional dishes services in Nice and should have receive already a michelin star
i learn is too fresh for it and i expected that this so famous red guide soon will rush there to say so.and particularly in Nice where this city suffer of real good fair gastronomique places to be honnest.
from the beginning to the end the welcome is done by a so little team so professional and we feel very secure
an attention too for the toilets place very important to me also i think design atmosphere warm class and cosy
i felt very comfortable in this place
i ll not mention the dishes as i expected that all gastronomie lovers will make a booking and checked by themself very quickly
the place is very charming, seats are extremely comfortable, everything is house made
the chef so concerned by quality come to you to check if you enjoy the meal
it s a little restaurant easy to get in easy to enjoy but a bemol to find a place for the car sometimes
i put a finger to the wine list
we find in this menu some oustanding cuvee made by artists winemaker Jan put an attention to the biodynamie wine s and that ' is an innovation in Nice restaurants to be honnest as we see wine s from new world like a South African domaine Laidbach the Ladybird bio on top of it. which is a must.
and you are beeing served yes ladies yes gentlemen into Riedel Glasse A.M.A.Z.I.N.G .......
unique in Nice i can affirm to you
so please go there i recommend dinner was exceptionnal.
i hope soon i ll be in Nice again and book a table to this place for a new menu
thanks to the Staff who was very attentive tomy attention and thanks also to the chef for those spectacular tastes and emotions been given to myself and my partner

Jan put a restaurant that level now in Nice thanks at this place fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frederic c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Jan is a relatively new restaurant located in the port section of Nice. The furnishings are tastefully done In a modern style within a restored building with old stone walls attractively displayed.
The waitstaff was competent, helpful with questions, and attentive.
Jan offers two fixed price menus. One consists of an appetizer and main course. The other includes a dessert. The quail appetizer with a mushroom sauce and fois gras on a bed of risotto was delicious. Their seared scallops with poached leeks and a foamed cauliflower sauce was equally good. The cordon bleu chicken was excellent as was their main course option of a tasty dish of pork and scallops. For dessert, the soft caramel cake with pistachios, creme anglaise, and vanilla ice cream was a nice finish to an excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Jan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing