We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Alba Hotel
Ranked #61 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best yet.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Nice and we were still searching for a good, central budget hotel - at last we have found it. The standard room was well equipped with a large wardrobe (no drawers but shelves in the wardrobe), flatscreen TV, hospitality tray and decent sized bathroom. Air conditioning was a luxury which we hadn't expected - and was still very useful in October! We had breakfast included which was adequate but the choice of food available tended to run out fairly quickly and once gone was not replaced. The breakfast tariff on the door was 13 Euros and I wouldn't have been happy to pay that - there are cafes in the main street where you could get a better breakfast for less money.
The hotel is located very near the railway station and 2 tram stops. A 99 bus will take you from the airport to the station until 9pm when they stop running, after which you have to take a 98 from the airport to the Cathedral Vielle Ville stop and then get a tram to Gare Thiers stop and walk down to the hotel. It is easy to either walk or get a tram down to the old town and the promenade.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - the breakfast staff less so.
We will definitely be staying at this hotel next time we are in Nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank inchmeaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    262
    109
    17
    6
See reviews for
89
258
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a slew of very average but certainly not cheap hotels through Europe, we were thrilled to find this gem of a hotel. Close to the train station, old nice, the museums and galleries, the room was spacious by French standards, clean and modern! Great hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleyartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Small hotel very well located to see Nice including the Old Town. The modern Tram runs right past the front door. Rooms are clean and modern and housekeeping is excellent and rates are very fair. Breakfast buffet is overpriced at 13 euros but there are many other outside options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well everything about Nice is very nice - definitely the hotel and surely as other reviewers have mentioned the lady at the reception. The hotel is at an excellent location on Avenue Jean Medecin, few minutes from the Gare NiceVille and 10 minutes walk from the sea, few minutes from Old Town, Place Messina, shopping, food well everything is nearby. The rooms are large, bright, clean, well maintained, large bathrooms with tubs, could not miss the high ceilings; our room overlooked the Avenue with nice views from the window; though we arrived well before check in time of 2 pm we could get into our rooms immediately as it was kept ready at 10am; the staff are nice, friendly and helpful specially the lady at the reception with all the helpful tips about things to see and do in Nice. On the whole a very satisfying experience

Room Tip: I would suggest the ones overlooking the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After we arrived at this 3 star hotel, we were surprised to find fake marble, multiple paintings and a huge room. This is the same for the hotel which we are in now, Vi Vadi Hotel. The receptionist greeted us warmly and was happy to help, with enthusiasm and knowledge! In addition, the carpet was made with red thread and the floor panelling was real wood. Inside the bathroom and toilet, there was a quite large room with ambient lighting and marble, which was in the bathroom and several types of soaps, alike to a 4-5 star hotel. The beds were comfortable and there was ample storage space.

Room Tip: Book a 'Privelege' or 'Duplex' room early, to attain excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartholemew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after staying a week in the Paris area and it was so refreshing to be greeted by such a friendly and knowledgeable receptionist!! We had a double bed on the second floor in the back of the hotel. It was very quiet and we never heard any of our neighbors. The room was small but this seems very typical for the hotels we have stayed at in Europe and since we were hardly in our room it really didn't matter. We did not have the breakfast and choose to go to different places to eat breakfast each morning. The location was an easy walk to the train station and although a little walk to the beach we did not mind it as it was an easy walk and we looked at the shops along the way and we preferred a hotel closer to the train station then to the beach since we planned a day trip to Monte Carlo. After arriving at the airport from Paris we took the bus 99 to the Nice Ville train station (it was a direct route with no stops along the way) and walked to our hotel. You have to buy a bus ticket before getting on the bus and for 2 of us it was 8 euros total for the ticket. We had a 6:30am flight leaving Nice and found out the bus and train station do not operate at that hour so we had to take a taxi which was 40 euros to the airport. Overall I would stay at this hotel again because of the friendly staff and the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docnikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel was an above average 3* with exceptionally high standards of cleanliness. Our 'standard' room was cleaned and serviced before lunch time each day with a plentiful supply of clean towels. The bathroom in my 'standard'' room was excellent with a constant supply of piping hot water all day. The power showers were a real boon. The breakfast room was quite small but the breakfast was suberb with a good range of cereals, meats, eggs and a variety of breads. It must be mentioned though that the Hotel's biggest asset was it's friendly,helpful and pleasant reception staff all of whom were ready with a welcoming smile. However extreme caution should be exercised if this Hotel is booked through ''Travel Republic'' as it's position on the map as displayed by this agent is misleadingly incorrect. The Hotel is situated much further up Avenue Jean Medicin than Travel Republic's map indicates and this misrepresentation can be a significant drawback when going out for the evening or just for a stroll into town. The walk to and from the attractions of the City centre is long and appeared to us as being potentially dangerous and most certainly intimidating as it involves having to pass the Notre Dame Church the steps of which are permanently occupied by aggressive and noisey drunks and hoboes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well sound proofed so I would recommend to request a room at the front from where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western New York
Best Western New York
#30 of 205 in Nice
756 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aria
#24 of 205 in Nice
316 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Alba Hotel

Property: Best Western Alba Hotel
Address: 41 avenue Jean Medecin, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Alba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing