We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Living Room and kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen, living room with smart tv
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with mirrored slide-robe
The Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Terrace
Street view from terrace
Street view across to supermarket
Street view across to supermarket with bus stops
Entrance to Toison D'Or at Bld Parc Imperial
Cours Saleya - flower market, flea market
Negressco Hotel
Promenade Des Anglais
Le petit train, Promenade des Anglais
Place Massena
Place Massena at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul5Belf...
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have previously booked one bed apartments in Nice only to be disappointed by my experience.

I would however commend Tosion D’Or as an apartment which delivers exactly what it says in its description. Nice is a sprawling city and this apartment is in a central first floor corner location on Bvd Gambetta ideally located the railway station for those trips to Ville Franche sur Mer, Monte Carlo, Italy and other resorts on the Cote D’Azur.

The bus stop just outside the apartment is on a direct route from the airport so no taxis are required. A very regular bus service takes you to all areas in central Nice. As we like the beach we had a leisurely walk from the apartment to the beach on Promenade des Angles in about 15 minutes taking in the sights of this busy city. After a hot day on the beach or visiting the sites the apartment has an excellent modern bathroom with a large powerful shower room to cool down. (As you may guess I have had very disappointing experiences with shower facilities previously in Nice).

The apartment is as described in a secure development and special mention should go to the beds which are probably the most comfortable I have slept on in a rental property. The bedroom has shutters which can provide total blackout which I like and although there can be some traffic noise which should be expected with any city break it did not disturb my sleep. The apartment has television and internet access which for me is essential. The owners have left lots of tourist information which we found very useful.

The apartment is close to local shops for bread milk etc and more importantly for supplies of beer, wine, cava and champagne! We went out for evening meals and when we returned we sat on the small balcony well into the night enjoying our drinks and watching the world go by.

Compared with the other apartments in Nice and for the rental price I would recommend this apartment; the owners clearly want their guests to enjoy the experience. I will be booking the apartment for a return break next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Many thanks for this great review. We are always delighted with such positive responses to our apartment. The public transport system is second to none and the new tram line running across Bld Victor Hugo will enhance this greatly. Everyone loves the beds, they are soooo comfy and the shower is really powerful without any nasty shower curtains!!! Really happy that you will return Kind regards David & Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weedonkey
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super spot - within reach of all you could want.”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this apartment and it really is in an ideal situation. The bus stop is 30 seconds away to take you into the main part of the town. (Get the number 7). The train station is 5 minutes away. The supermarket is 30 seconds away as is the bakery (boulangerie). There are a couple of pizza takeaways across the road. You really cannot be in a better position.
The airconditioning is superb in this apartment as are all the amenities. Justifiably a 5 star apartment.I'll be back!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything that the property provided
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Apartment”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This quality contemporary apartment on Boulevard Gambetta is a great place to stay to experience everything that beautiful Nice has to offer. I stayed here for a week at the end of September and it was obvious that the owners Pat and Davy take great pride in their apartment as it is spotlessly clean with all the amenities that you would require for a great self catering holiday. The apartment can sleep up to 4 and I have to say that the twin beds are extremely comfortable. Every thing is very convenient - the No. 23 bus from Nice airport will leave you right outside the apartment, there is a supermarket and boulangerie nearby and the train station is only a 7 minute walk away. I would have not hesitation recommending this apartment as a great base to plan your day trips in and around Nice . I will definitely be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright and Airy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weedonkey
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You just can' beat it!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Nice is just a great spot and this apartment is just as good. The "Rate your Experience" below gives my genuine and honest opinion of the property. I shall expand on a few details of this. On arriving in Nice you can get a bus from just outside Terminal 2 which will leave you within 50 yards from the apartment entrance. This is excellent as it only costs 3 euros. If you get a taxi it is a lot lot more.
The apartments have a lift so there is no problems lifting cases up stairs. The apt is on the first floor. The living/dining room is just the right size with a tv, (limited english channels), DVD player and a selection of english speaking DVDs which the owners have kindly supplied. There is also free Wifi with instructions on how to access this. There is an excellent washing machine (simple to use - with instructions), a two ring hob and a fridge/freezer with ample space for all your holiday needs. New cutlery, dishes and some glasses for that special bottle of champagne to start off your holiday. As I said "you just can't beat it!". The beds are really comfortable, there is a balcony that overlooks Boulevard Gambetta where you can watch the husltle and bustle of an intriguing city. The apt has two airconditioning systems; one in the living room and a portable one in the bedroom. These will certainly keep you cool during the warm months. The apt also has electrical shutters that cover all the windows and patio doors to the balcony for added security. The bathroom has an excellent, spacious shower with hot water at all times of the day. There are fresh towels and hand towels on arrival of your stay.
The bus stop to the centre of Nice and outskirts is right outside the apt although it only takes 5-10 minutes walking to the splendid and long promenade where there are numerous shops, cafes and restaurants. The train station is only 5 minutes walk away where you can visit Monaco, Cannes or further afield. The main boulevard (Jean Medicin) has been changed a few years ago and boasts a large tram system with excellent large stores and those selective boutiques. At night the old town really lights up with excellent cuisine in the restaurants and bars. The main square with fountains and walkways seems to be where everyone strolls around enjoying the evening atmosphere.
We have had an excellent stay at Toison D'Or and I'm sure you will to. I have met the owners and must say that they are the most delighful, courteous and accommodating people. Our sincerest thanks to Patricia and David. Can't wait to go again!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the facilities in the apartment.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
We are really happy that you enjoyed your trip to Nice and are delighted with the positive response to our apartment. It is a home from home for us and we are so glad that our visitors have enjoyed it as much as we do.Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment was spotlessly clean, well-furnished and the location was convenient for buses, trains and within walking distance to major attractions and the beaches.

A great little balcony on which to watch the world go by . We had breakfast on the balcony every morning from the local bakery.

A safe and friendly neighbourhood with a mixture of shops , cafés and restaurants. 10 minute bus journey to the main restaurant area, Massena, and the Old Town.

Will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and that you found the local boulangerie to your taste. It is delicious. We too love to watch the locals going about their daily business and people watch over breakfast and lunch. Nice is such a charming city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location,very clean and well equipped apartment !!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 11 nights in August,finding the apartment was an absolute breeze, the directions given by the owner were simple and easy to follow, we were met by part of the management team, "Christophe" his English was excellent and he explained everything very well, he apologised that the air-conditioning was not working but there was an alternative cooling device available. The apartment was exactly as described and shown on the website and I have to say absolutely spotless. Located within the apartment was a folder advertising local restaurants and trips out recommended by the owner and an explanation of the local bus transport, all were very good and we used this to its full potential. We were 10 minutes walk from the beach and 30 mins from Place de Massena which is a good place to visit and an excellent place to begin exploring the old town. The apartment is corner sited on a main road but the traffic noise is not too loud but it is there, safety I would say is not a concern anybody should worry about, we felt perfectly safe at all times, even late at night. With a bus stop right outside you can get anywhere in no-time at all,the lignes D'azur bus website is brilliant as you can type in departure and arrival points and it tells you exactly what time and bus number to catch, but walking to local attractions is very pleasant. Our only complaint would be the rather large hole in the wall in the corridor leading to the apartment, but this could have been building work waiting to be finished off.
In conclusion I would say the management team of "Claire & Christophe" in France and the ease of booking and communication with Pat the owner make booking this apartment an absolute must and when we visit Nice again we won't hesitate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price and Location
Liked least: traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our apartment. I agree with you that the transport system in Nice is great and easy to use and that Nice is a very safe city to visit. Apologies about the hole in the wall outside but we have asked the 'syndic' countless times to repair it so hopefully soon!!! We would love to welcome you back at any time and I will pass your comments on to Claire and Christophe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, centrally located to all amenities and great value for money”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

3 of us stayed here from 27 May to 5th June 2014. The apartment is spacious and very secure. It has all you need for a great stay in Nice. There is also lots of useful information left by the owners Pat & David on different bus routes, sites and restaurants etc. It is located on Boulevard Gambetta at its junction with Blvd Parc Imperial. All around are shops, bakeries ( very handy for delicious croissants) and we were only 10 minutes walk away from the beach and the Nice Central train station. All of the major sites- Jean Medicin(large shopping street), place Massena etc are also about a 10 - 15 minute walk away. A big bonus is the bus from the airport stops just across the road and the stop for the return journey is right
outside the apartment. The apartment was spotlessly clean and Christophe and Claire the managers very helpful. We will definitely be returning next year, we would've booked already but the prices aren't available yet. A real find in a great area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing