We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe what you read!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La locanda

La locanda
Reserve with
La locanda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 1,876 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Believe what you read!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Can only reiterate what previous reviewers have said. Had trouble finding this restaurant using our GPS but our persistance paid off. Not in an area of other restaurants, indeed it's set back in a residential road, but certainly worth seeking out. Amazing food, great value, wonderful service, fantastic atmosphere. Everything you could ask for if you are looking for a great meal out. Our waiter spoke excellent English and explained the menu to us. A party of 17 had just ordered ahead of us and the waiter apologised that there might be a bit of a wait but in fact the pace of the service was just fine. The antipasti consisted of 5 dishes chosen by the chef - a meal in itself. The dishes came out one after the other, each one a new surprise and delight. Make sure you don't eat all day before visiting this restaurant as you need to be really hungry to appreciate it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbear241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    129
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We turned up here on Saturday night without a booking and after being informed that "it was dangerous.." to do so (in a jokey manner, I think!) we were shown a table in the empty restaurant (although it was only about 7.30pm) We were served very quickly. The food was well cooked and very tasty. Within an hour or so the restaurant was pretty much full (so probably best to book in advance) The service from the two fellas working the tables was excellent, although they coped very well and were always polite etc I felt they probably could have done with an additional hand or two as we saw some tables waiting quite a long time just for drinks and starters. Well recommended for a nice meal, but it did get quite loud in there, so not so good for the romantic candle lit meal for two type of night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wackojacko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although a distance from the centre of Nice, it was truly worth the effort!
Fantastic staff and glorous Italian food. it was packed , and not with tourists but with french familes. Excellnet reasonably priced food with the WOW factor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not enough stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

First the "nots"! Not in the tourist center. Not a grand, impressive location . Not staffed with self important managers ,sommeliers and busboys . ... But for the very best food, very best service, simple yet elegant interior, friendly and efficient top draw service La Locanda is the best! Nicholas and Bastien taking care of us in front, the unnamed maker of the unparalleled gnocchi being made in full view, and the ever present chef/owner Paolo, a big Thank you from us. We shall return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HoustonTexasUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villefranche sur mer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Italian food with a touch of local Nicoise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live here and love to eat out. We think this is an excellent restaurant - superb food, lovely ambiance, and off the beaten track. Everything really fresh, all freshly made, and reasonable price for the quality. A great find and a must try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La locanda also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing