We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat for the taste buds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sense - CLOSED

Sense
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: We have imagined a 100% organic restaurant, a unique place in Nice where both the joy of tasting and the protection of the environment and the collective and individual health are combined. In a smart and elegant venue, Chef Alessandro LA BELLA creates very gourmet menus, only composed of products coming from the organic agriculture.  The Chef’s permanent search for marrying the alchemy of the 5 senses with the founding rules of both the French and Italian gastronomy , will drive you to emotionnally experiment a singular cuisine inspired from local and regional recipes, mainly priveleging fishes and vegetables. With our team, discover this new ‘SENSE’ experience of a bio-gourmet cuisine.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A treat for the taste buds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

6 friends and I decided to treat ourselves to a special meal on the last evening of a brief trip to Nice. We booked a table at Sense on the basis of TripAdvisor's high ratings, and were not disappointed.

We all had the 38 euro three course menu, which proved to be very good value. The food was beautifully presented and exceptionally tasty, and the service attentive and friendly, with staff happy to converse in French or English. The attention to detail and pace of service made the evening a wonderful dining experience which we would heartily recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose to visit Sense for lunch on a flying visit to Nice and were not dissapointed. Arriving as it opened for lunch we were warmly welcomed and well looked after as the place filled up. The menu options were attractive but we only wanted a small lunch so ordered a la carte. The fish of the day (sea bream) and squid with harisots were close to perfect. This is a restaurant that deserves the plaudits and futire success, we will return when we can

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sparky_112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a refreshing change!
Superb food, perfect service and a gentle and welcoming ambience.
A modern dining experience without the pretention.
Quality surroundings matched by the quality of service and cuisine.
In a word............excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a new restaurant serving only organic produce in a beautifully designed space. The staff was welcoming when we arrived on the doorstep at 7:30pm on the dot. The menu is 38 euros for three courses and for entree we enjoyed a salmon tartare which had lovely crisp raw vegetables and a fresh flavor. The other entree we ordered was a warm octopus salad which was served with lentils and olives. The octopus was cooked to perfection but the accompaniments were slightly lacking.

For the main the fish of the day was sea bream on a bed of roasted vegetables. I had a Roquefort and pumpkin lasagne which was particularly generous and so tasty that I did end up eating almost all of it. The presentation of our mains was very refined and the helpings were generous. A great example of honest but refined cooking reflecting the vision and ethos of this restaurant.

The dessert of the day was a chocolate cake with a soft center accompanied by gingerbread ice cream. It was true to its word with a gooey chocolately pudding centre, very moreish. Being incredibly full I ordered the three fruit sorbets for dessert which were light and refreshing on the palate after a heavier main.

Overall we enjoyed the honest food and attentive, friendly service. Coming from a country where organic produce is increasingly popular we were thrilled to experience this restaurant and encourage you to give it a try. A great dining option in Nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sense also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing