We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood with friendly staff”
Review of Cafe de Turin

Cafe de Turin
Ranked #142 of 1,925 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $35 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: AN INSTITUTION For over 100 years the Cafe Torino makes you discover or rediscover the premium seafood. It is in a pub atmosphere of yesteryear as you can delight you all our products. It is also possible to privatize the restaurant's rooms A SITUATION Our restaurant is located on one of the most beautiful squares of the city, the place Garibaldi is located in the heart of the port area. This place is a must for all Nice. Closest Parking: Promenade des Arts, 18 Av St Jean Baptiste 06000 NICE THE TAKE AWAY The flake Jo: our counter for take-away, and presented on trays closed .You can feast your guests at a dinner between friends, family, a birthday or a wedding ... It is also a caterer and chipped home
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood with friendly staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant in Place Garibaldi in Nice. Most diners were locals which was reassuring. The waiter who served us was very friendly and patient since we don't speak any French except the usual merci and bonjour. The seafood is great. The freshest you can find around. We even had the opportunity to have our photo taken with Mr Roumegous, the owner who also has a large oyster farm in northern france.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teepee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    1,047
    406
    204
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great, fresh seafood with a very local vibe”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is unpretentiously all about seafood. In fact, there isn't much else at all on the menu. It's fresh, simple and authentic and has a great vibe - when I visited in late February - of being full of locals.

I went here based on Tripadvisor reviews but this was also corroborated by both the hotel concierge staff and the taxi driver as being a great place to go for seafood. I had the langoustines and then moules-frites and really enjoyed both.

Don't go if you're after fine dining and high-end service but if you want the "real deal" for prawns, mussels, crab etc then you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londonbristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Shellfish good, service bad”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you really feel like shellfish, oysters, and the like, then come here. However, be prepared: Service is really poor. impossible to grab waiters, which are actually very annoyed that you are bothering them with silly requests such as a bottle of wine or a coffee, or even to bring the menu ... food served in random order, impossible to book and if you pass by at10-ish they tell you to go and get lost as "too late".
I have been there several times in the last 15 years, and things never really changed or improved, so I guess they never will.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“An excellent place for fresh shellfish”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is essentially a shell fish heaven. The oysters are as fresh as can be and delicious. Simple fare served in a pleasant manner- nothing pretentious. Staff are mostly very friendly and happy to serve. If you are in the area on a sunny day and want a dozen oysters- this is the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Seafood couldn't be any fresher than this!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh - fresh - fresh!
If you love raw oysters this is the place for you - they have several varieties!
We tasted the oursins (sea urchins) and mussels too, not disappointed - at all.
The menu is exstensive, luckily they have an English version, but you have to ask for it.
Busy all the time, but great location. If you happen to ride bus #100 in from Monte Carlo you can get off at Place Garibaldi and just walk 25 feet to the Cafe de Turin.
Not cheap, but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKMP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Turin also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cafe de Turin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing