We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food and personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sejour Cafe

Le Sejour Cafe
Ranked #10 of 1,814 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the "Carre d'or", our restaurant is small, elegant, and friendly. Fresh products of the day, We would love to welcome you ! Reservation by phone on opening hours. ATTENTION : we take no reservation by mail less than a week ahead. OUR RESTAURANT IS CLOSED FROM 7 AUGUST TO 22 AUGUST BUT, you can go to our second restaurant MON PETIT CAFE RESERVATION BY MAIL THANK YOU
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Read good reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. No reservation but the waitress (manager/owner we think) still managed to find us a table, but don't count on it as the place was full and many were rejected after we sat down.
Food: Limited menu but should satisfy most people. We had duck with roasted potatoes and the risotto with scallops, both excellent and perfectly prepared. Dessert was choclate fondant, and probably the best we ever had.
Service: perfect. Always taken care of in best possible way.

Best meal we had in Nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 007AWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_sejour_nice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest ! thank you so much for your splendid appreciation ! We allways are so gratefull to our clients to take time to write on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know you spent a nice diner in our small restaurant. Hope to see you again ! Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    222
    48
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good, but number 1?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The night before we ate at a restaurant rated 20 something in Nice that was slightly better. BUT, we were very happy at Sejour and would recommend it! Very nice staff. Gazpacho was really Vichychoise, but it was great! Molton chocolate cake was hot and runny, but the chocolate could have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgreenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudNice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Merci de votre appréciation flatteuse. Vous vous interrogez sur notre classement de N° 1. Je pense que celui ci est le reflet de très nombreux avis, déposés par les clients, sans notre intervention... Ce que disent ces clients est simple : ils considèrent que le cadre, l'accueil, le service, la cuisine, font de nous leur restaurant préféré. C'est un ensemble qu'ils jugent et apprécient, en nous classant N°1. Pas seulement la cuisine. Recevoir les clients, en Anglais, Italien, Allemand, Néerlandais et Français, est un signe de respect et de courtoisie. Avec le sourire ! Sincère, car nous aimons recevoir. C'est pourquoi notre restaurant ressemble à un appartement, comme le disent les clients, qui s'y sentent bien, très bien même. Alors, l'on peut légitimement préférer telle ou telle table, ce qui est bien normal, en fonction de ses humeurs, de ses envies, mais l'important c'est de trouver un équilibre aussi parfait que possible entre tous les éléments qui font que la soirée sera réussie. Telle est notre désir : faire plaisir, pour que vous passiez un bon moment. C'est notre but. Et si j'en crois les réactions, toutes nationalités confondues, c'est, semble-t-il le cas. Les clients ne jugent pas seulement la cuisine, sinon des restaurants réputés seraient toujours premiers ! ils émettent une préférence. C'est plus subtil , car c'est un savant équilibre. Rien ne doit décevoir. Nous espérons vous revoir prochainement et vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire à Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good without too much risk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

food was very good but there were no exclamation point, that give give you the impression of non ended. the service is ok with on or two mistakes but nothing handicapping but the hearty owner make up with her smile. the bill is ok too, it's not free but not too much expansive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robinfromams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, good food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My favorite thing about this restaurant is the very friendly owner/waitstaff. We had lunch here and the prices were quite high considering the relatively small portions. The food was very good and we enjoyed it, but feel we've gotten better value at other restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yes it's good but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

waitress are welcoming, restaurant is in city center, we really like the decor of the restaurant.
it's a good food but we expected better after reading the reviews. presentation is beautiful and I think it's fresh products but the codfish had no taste at all and was cold.
table are tight, and the bottle of water (home made) at 5 euros for not mineral water, is expensive...
maybe we 'll try again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liesbeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sejour Cafe also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Sejour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing