We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in this otherwise expensive city. Free Wifi too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money in this otherwise expensive city. Free Wifi too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

This place well deserves the excellent reviews it's already got. In particular, it's very good value in what is otherwise a very expensive city for the UK traveller on a pound/euro exchange rate near parity (Sept 2009). Things would have been different a few years ago there of course. Don't be put off by the bustling Rue Massena as you arrive at the hotel as it's set back behind a courtyard and is in fact very quiet. The proprietors have given this place quite a bit of charm with the personal touches, and it's also spotlessly clean. The rooms are quite small as is to be expected at this price, but perfectly adequate. The staff are also very welcoming and friendly. One additional very useful thing not mentioned on the website is the free wifi. If I had to pick a small fault it would be the slightly erratic temperature and weak pressure of the shower, but it's no worse than many others at twice the price. Location wise, Rue Massena is not my thing, but the Old Town is very nearby, as is the coast and beach, both about 10 mins walk maximum.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringModulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    124
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
29
166
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our week-long France vacation. We booked a double room with en-suite shower bath for 80 euro/night.

We made our reservation via email (in English) and received a response the next day (also in English). A credit card was needed to hold the reservation and directions to the hotel were provided as well.

We arrived to Nice around noon via the TGV train and walked to the hotel from the station - about a 15 minute walk, if that. We had checked google maps street view before leaving on our trip. We would recommend that to everyone - that way, you know what landmarks/stores to look for and what the hotel entrance will look like.

The hotel is not your typical hotel, but instead simply occupies an entire floor of an apartment building. The entrance to the hotel is just a small doorway. The hotel name is above the doorway. The door PUSHES open during normal business hours (it locks at some point in the evening, but you're given a key to open that door when you check in and given a code to use if you arrive to check-in after hours). Once through that door, you walk through the "lobby" of an apartment complex. You then have to go up about 10 stairs to an outdoor walkway to another building. Go through a short hallway and then up a large, curvy flight of stairs. This is where traveling with a large/heavy suitcase is a bit of a problem. There is no elevator to the hotel. Once up the stairs, you are in the hotel, which is a single floor of this apartment complex. There is no lobby, but a desk and a small sofa instead. A woman (the owner, perhaps?) was busy cleaning the rooms, but greeted us as soon as she saw us come in . Even though we arrived early in the day, she knew our names and showed us right to our room. She was friendly and helpful and she spoke a good amount of English.

Our room was small - maybe 12x12 - standard size for budget hotels in France. The room came outfitted with a double bed (memory foam mattress, I think), small table and two chairs, night stand, side table, tv, fan, full-length mirror, and small storage/closet area. The window of the room overlooked the "courtyard" which is actually just the backside of the apartment building in front. With the windows open, you can hear some noise from the adjoining apartments.

The bathroom is also small with the toilet tucked into the corner. It was outfitted with towels, a hairdryer, soaps and shampoo. One of the hand towels was spotted and stained, but otherwise, the bathroom was clean. The bathroom door does not leave much to the imagination. It slides closed - no lock - and is vented, not solid. If you're traveling with a companion, better hope you're not embarrassed or uncomfortable using the bathroom in front of them b/c with this kind of door, you basically are.

The fan was definitely helpful and needed, however, it could only run for 2 hours before shutting off automatically.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you want to be in the midst of the action of Nice. Right next to Massena Square and on Rue Massena, there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, shops, and sights right out the door. The beach is just a few blocks away and an easy walk.

As a side note, we asked the hotel owner the best way to get to the airport and she recommended the #98 bus which has a stop just a few blocks from the hotel. It costs 4 euro/person and makes about 10 stops before getting to the airport. At 7:40am, our bus was 10 minutes late and was full when it arrived to our stop (after only making two previous stops). We were able to squeeze on, but the bus driver skipped the rest of the stops on the way to the airport - annoying and stranding many people also looking to get to the airport. So, if you plan on taking this bus, might be a good idea to take the earlier one, just in case.

Overall, I'd say our stay was OK. Not sure I'd stay here for more than one night, but if you want to be in a great location and in a clean, friendly hotel, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Positives: excellent location and surprisingly quiet as hotel is placed at the back of a courtyard; well presented and care has been taken in the overall design; owner very helpful on arrival. Negatives: single room very small; size + no air conditioning = very warm in August even with fan.
*Best suited to those looking for a good budget hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Good location and easy to find, but nobody's home. Arrived 3 pm on a sunday, rang the bell and waited about two hours at a nearby cafe. Nobody around to let me in. Finally a young man using the same entry for his apartment in front of the building, let me in. (and quickly disappeared). There was a big sign indicating Rex hotel , with an arrow that pointed nowhere. Nobody was around. I knocked at every possible door (no door of course was labeled rex hotel), and even called over to an open window with visible people,"is this a real hotel"? I don't think they understood the question, and though the woman smiled, i didn't feel better. There was no sign saying, back at 5pm (or any note at all), which would have even been ok. Since they already had my money, I guess this wasn't a priority. Since I had only the rest of the day, and was leaving in the morning, I walked around the corner and found another hotel with a vacancy. The place looked like a dump anyway.(sour grapes perhaps but it appeared so),Anyway, I'm out the money, and not very happy about it. You do get what you pay for.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank usuallyhappytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We arrived at the airport and took the bus into town as directed. It took two local business people to help us locate where the hotel was in Rue Massena. Do not expect the usual reception area or foyer opening to the street. Instead, a doorway only with a small sign above. Go through this, up some steps then across some kind of bridge/walkway through a shady (as in questionable) lot of flats. Follow the signs and then more steps that are a challenge before you get to the small reception area. The owner is thoroughly pleasant and quite proud of his refurbishment to date. We had (up more stairs) a pleasant, newly decorated air conditioned room with private facilities and flat screen tv. Very clean. There is a tiny courtyard available for all and it is a quiet spot to take your drinks/snacks to after a long day. We did order breakfast (6 Euros each) which was served in the courtyard. Usual continental breakfast and nice (no pun intended) coffee. Lots of young persons staying there which gives it the hostel feel. No reception after 8pm. We also experienced unhappy travellers arriving late without the entry code and banging on the door. How they found the place in the dark I do not know. You are insulated from street noise. The location is excellent! Close to the beach and trams. Amazing to Australian travellers at least is that parts of the beach are privately owned and you have to pay an exhorbinant fee for a deckchair and space. However, there is free space as well, note the beach is not sand. Train station 3 blocks north. Do catch the train (25mins) or bus (1 hour) and go to Monaco, worth the trip especially the area around the casino. Overall I have mixed feelings about Hotel Rex. The owner Dieder is a gem and you can't help liking the guy. On the other hand Hotel Rex is most suited for younger people and definitely a no no for older people, disabled and families. With that qualification I would recommend it to others. I cannot really comment on cost comparisons as it was my first visit to Nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada and usa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Hotel Rex was walking distance (2 blocks) to the beach and right next to the main square (Massena) where all the artists and performers hang out!!!!!!! We were also about a 5-8 minute walk to Vieux Nice (the old town) where we would walk around in the evening and enjoy fantastic gelato. Everything is right there: mini grocery store with alcohol, cafes, bakeries, restaurants, shops... what a location!
The hotel itself was great. We stayed for 6 nights. The rooms were small, but perfect for what we needed it for: a place to sleep and wash up from our day at sea. The hotel was well priced, it was clean, the staff (Didier and Didier) were wonderful. We even got them a nice bottle of wine for all their efforts in helping us have a pleasant stay. The only dissapointment was the A/C. It wasn't working too well, so we were hot at night. But Didier did tell us that they will be restoring all A/C units in the hotel for next summer.
This hotel is highly recommended!!! Perfect for a week get-a-way in the Cote d'Azur.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magioula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We just came back from europe after traveling in different cities and hotel REX was one of the hotels we have stayed. I have to say that WHY REX? We booked all the hotels based on the reviews on this web site. Hotel REX was such a disappointment. DON'T STAY THERE unless you are really really broke. DON'T STAY THERE if it is summer..NO A/C. DON'T PAY MORE THAN 40 EURO. There are lots of hotels in the area near the price Rex is charging. We initially booked this hotel for 4nights. 89 euro a night. We thought it was a good price especially for that location, but after we saw so many hotels by the water for same price, we were so angry for paying that much for a trashy appartment. After two days we found another hotel for the same price with A/C, Professional front desk, a lift, 3 min walk to beach... a lot more. I'll never understand how Rex gets away with charging as much as the legit hotels in the city in much better conditions and locations. I must say that the people who work there are very nice. And the bed and the bath rooms are clean but other than that, not having an A/C, front desk staff at all times, elevator and an actual door for the hotel is crazy. You go through an appartment building where people hanging cloth and from your bedroom window you see somebody's kitchen.No privacy,Terrible view, unbearable heat, i could not even open the window. And the fan that they give you is so loud i could not sleep at night. What a horrible experience. Don't stay here unless you're paying close to nothing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#155 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#80 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#106 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#38 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#87 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Centre
Hotel de Verdun
Hotel de Verdun
#92 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 3 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rex 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing