We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaryllis stay,”
Review of Hotel Amaryllis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amaryllis
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amaryllis stay,”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, only a 3 minute walk from the train station. The main shopping area is literally outside the door. It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach and very easy walk down the Main Street. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and spoke fantastic English. The room was very big and spacious only down side was the shower was pretty small. There we always plenty of extra towels and electricity ports throughout the room. Wifi was a bit of the down side, as you have to go to the lobby to use it however when in the lobby the reception was good. It was a typical European breakfast, however the toaster did not work properly and you had to hold it down with your finger. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    84
    66
    20
    9
See reviews for
23
86
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Amaryllis is situated in immediate vicinity of the privately owned beach Le Galion. The nearby train station offers a shuttle bus to the international airport of Nice.
For its guests the hotel provides 34 rooms, completely equipped with bathroom or shower, toilet, air condition, direct dial telephone and satellite TV, as well as a lift and a breakfast room. Safe, fax and laundry facilities are available at reception.

We stay at this hotel when were in town for the Monaco Grand Prix the hotel is a no frills affair but never the less very clean & well situated 5 mins walk from Nice train station a train from there will take you straight to Monaco journey time is 25 mins during Grand Prix time the last train out of Monaco is midnight

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 12 days.i was a bit apprehensive as some of the reviews were scary.on arriving it does not look great but we went to the room.room was basic but very clean.great location near the train station and travel was cheap 8 euro return to different towns 14 euro for a return hop on hop off.there was always hot water in the hotel and clean towels every day staff very good always helpful.if like us you want a clean place to sleep a good shower at a reasonable price then book it breakfast was cereal tea coffee etc toast croissant the tv is all french and you can hear your neighbours but everybody was respectful and all was quiet at 11.30 ishwe would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grainne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good location was mainly what I was looking for on a budget. Got the location but not much more. The single room was tiny and not comfortable at all. So if you're planning on spending any time in the room, other than sleeping, I wouldn't recommend. I was on the go from morning till evening so it didn't bother me that much. A/C worked ok, Wi-Fi didn't. Breakfast should be ordered the day before which was a bit annoying-got to eat one morning though even if I hadn't booked. Basics at the buffet but not worth paying for that, really. One of the receptionists spoke english and was helpful, booked me taxis to F1, negotiated prices etc :) Overall-if looking for a cheap, well located room for sleeping and storing luggage in, this hotel works for that!

Room Tip: Even in the 4th floor a lot of noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kati J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Essex, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 24th to 29th May 2012 to have a holiday in the French Riviera and to incorporate the F1 GP Monaco weekend.

The Hotel well as other reviews have mention you do get what you pay for !

Good location close to main Nice train station and tram which is what we really wanted. So you can easily get a train to Monaco, Grasse, Cannes etc. A few bus lines at train station, and a tram stop near the the train station
There are lots of little shops, restaurants, mini super markets, and stores around the area. The furnishings were some what old except for the TV ( which was installed on the wall by a child ! ) was new LCD with no English stations. AC was good but we had to wait a day as the system was being changed over from winter to summer setting. Bath was recently and cheaply refurbished and the shower hose from the taps was too short, so if you tried to adjust the angle of the shower you would kink the hose and stop the water supply.
My wife thought at the water system had just shut down for the whole building as no water was coming from the shower head.
However a bit of DIY fiddling sorting the problem ! ! ha, ha
There is Free WiFi with Security code issued by reception, but very slow in room. Excellent WiFi in lobby though as that is where I suspect the router is located !

The breakfast was a surprise even to me ! !
We had one basket of 2 croissants per couple at the table, that was your allocation no going up to a buffet bar for more as there was one !

You had a selection of 3 types of bread white, brown, French stick all sliced.
Cornflaks, some local coco pops and a coffee machine which dispensed bland coffee.

There was no ham, no cheese, no yogurts, no fruit and certainly nothing cooed, apart from the bread in a toaster.
There was orange juice which I think was the French version of Tesco’s extra value !

Apart from breakfeast the staff were all very helpful ( which is a big bonus in my books ) the room was clean and the hotel was situated near the train station.
Some reviews mentioned about being in bad neighbour, well it may not be a up town exclusive district and it was in places in need of repair. On the whole I did not feel in danger, oh yes there was a police station across the road from which might help !

The main street was near Avenue Jean Medecin which is the main shopping street and on the tram route down to the old quarter.

I would go back if I holidayed in Nice again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tysonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed five nights here, clean basic city accomodation, good value, good service, free WiFi in reception, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CrazyPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#60 of 205 in Nice
105 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Saint Gothard
#123 of 205 in Nice
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#90 of 205 in Nice
559 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Berlioz
Hotel Berlioz
#134 of 205 in Nice
136 reviews
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#142 of 205 in Nice
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amaryllis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaryllis

Property: Hotel Amaryllis
Address: 5 rue d Alsace Lorraine, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amaryllis 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amaryllis is located in the center of Nice and just a 10-minute walk to the beach. It offers air-conditioned, rooms with private bathrooms with satellite TV. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the hotel and in some of the guest rooms and is free of charge. The entire Hotel Amaryllis is serviced by an elevator and the front desk offers 24-hour service. Hotel Amaryllis located few steps from the train station with direct shuttles from the international airport from Nice and the shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amaryllis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing