We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Nice enough for Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers
Ranked #177 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Nice enough for Nice”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This lodging is adequate if you're willing to put up with limited opening of the reception desk (WARNING: you will NOT be able to check in if you arrive outside their working hours!), a very poorly designed parking garage, cleaning up your own room, really weird appliances and a 200 Euro deposit (not standard at any other hotel I've stayed in). We couldn't get the air conditioning to work and it turned out you had to shut the patio door BEFORE turning it on or it didn't work -- no instructions, no help, etc. and the staff seemed really surprised that someone wouldn't just somehow figure this out. So we had one very miserable night in which no one got much sleep in 80-degree weather. God forbid they should leave a note that actually tells you how to work it -- particularly as there will be no one to ask for 13 hours between the reception closing at night and opening the next morning! ... There is no staff around at night so woe to you if you are locked out by the coded gates (the place is locked up like Fort Knox) or can't get your toilet to flush, etc. The place has been renovated, but one wonders what it was like BEFORE as it is just about the level of a bad dorm room now, right down to the cheap mattresses and the curious smell which I think emanates from the strange, hemp-like floor covering. It does have a nice garden but it is too far from either the beach or downtown Nice to walk with comfort (at least with young kids -- the beach is about a half mile away and it's uphill on the way back and across a busy road). It has the smallest hotel pool I have ever seen. So if you're going to go to the lovely Cote d'Azur, either pick a family-friendly place that offers a bit more or find a place closer to the beach and the city center. I would just avoid Maeva properties unless there are no other options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotcitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting your review. We do apologise for the inconvinience caused by the early arrival to our residence. Our website and brochure do state the reception opening times and we do encourage guests to schedule their arrival around this to prevent any inconvinience. We apologise if this information was not clear at the booking stage and will look into this further. We do also require a deposit and provide an additional cleaning service if customers wish to pay for it. Again, this information is clearly stated in both our brochure and website. Many air conditioning systems do require all doors and windows to be shut before they begin and we will look into providing clear instructions for those who are not aware of this. Again, the exact distance from the beach to the property is also listed on our website for customers to analyse before they book. We are sorry if this information was not clear enough. We apologise if some of the furnishings and on-site facilties were not to your high standards. The residence is scheduled for a review and your comments have been passed on and logged with head office. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    43
    36
    24
See reviews for
63
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

=============================================================
THE BAD:
Very poorly signposted. Very few staff. Not open out-of-hours. €200 demanded upon arrival - REFUSE WITH GUSTER!. You have to clean your own room, and PAY for towels etc. NO Street parking - had my hire car smacked badly in adjacent road!
=============================================================
THE GOOD:
Location within 1km of beach and 2km of airport. Beautiful garden - ask for view of garden when (if) booking - we would not go again. Self contained. Balcony. Cooking impliments.
=============================================================

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank garyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed at Maeva in august 2007.

The location is a little outside central Nice, just a few kilometers from the airport. Maeva is 5 min. walk from the beach and since it is a little away from central nice the beach is not too crowded.

There is a 30-40 min. walk from the appartment to central nice.

The rooms at Maeva are very small - we had a 4 person apartment and the kids had to sleep in the in bunk beds in the appartment entry.

The biggest problem was that the bathroom had a very unpleaseant odour - smelling damp and moldy.

The place is pretty worn but there is a lovely garden and a very tiny swimmingpool.

  • Liked — The garden and the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VildPingvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_PV, Responsable de la communication en ligne at Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers, responded to this review, May 15, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.
We have carefully considered your feedback on the Maeva Residence Les Palmiers. This Maeva residence is part of P&V Holidays, the leading provider of self-catering accommodation in France.

We are pleased to announce that this Residence, Nice Les Palmiers, was entirely refurbished in the end of 2007. We certainly hope that the improved standards will meet your requirements.

We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and hope that you will choose to holiday in one of our residences or villages again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Maeva Residence Orion Les Palmiers

For;

Balcony
Mini Golf nearby
Beach not too far too walk
SPAR a 5 minute walk
Swimming Pool (was covered for our duration though?)
Very clean & nice surroundings (garden, view etc)
The price is fine for what you get

Against;

200 EUR deposit (didn't expect it to be too high)
Reception not open great hours and only one member of staff that was English speaking
Were not very helpful or welcoming - didn't give much guidance or promote the city enough
About 40 minutes walk from the main shops
Rooms very small
Tennis courts ?

The studio is fine if you are on a budget holiday and won't be spending too much time indoors.

Nice is a truly lovely place and well worth the visit.

  • Liked — Price of stay
  • Disliked — Unhelpful reception & distance from city centre
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AngelCabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
0.6 mi away
Adagio Access Nice Magnan
3.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Heliotel Marine
Pierre & Vacances Residence Heli...
#3 of 6 in St-Laurent du Var
332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#172 of 204 in Nice
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victorine
Hotel Victorine
#134 of 204 in Nice
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers
Address: 52 B avenue de Fabron, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence with swimming pool and comfortable air-conditioned apartments with a balcony.Good location just 500m from the shops, 800m from the beach and near to bus stops to Nice city centre.Restaurant and bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Palmiers Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing