We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the middle of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #3 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
919 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the middle of the action”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Great location with very crowded rocky beaches across the street. A short walk to the fabulous old town and great shops and bars around the block. Excellent service slightly marred by horrible housekeeping (they barely showed up), and very small pool with only a few seats for a large crowd. Very expensive food but excellent service. Be prepared to pay $20.00 for a drink at the hotel bar. BUT this is a great hotel to stay at with EXCELLENT concierge(s).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Maid Service/Shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    735
    218
    73
    44
See reviews for
551
1,492
131
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

This is a WONDERFUL hotel! My husband and I spent 6 nights here during our recent trip to Nice. The hotel was immaculate and made our stay very enjoyable. It was great to look forward to coming back to our comfortable, clean and quiet room every night. The breakfast that they serve is good as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nice. If I return to Nice, I would only stay at this hotel!!!

You will be right in the mix of everything - we walked to both the train station (~15 minutes) and the bus station (~15 minutes). The Nice tourism office is also very close (less than a 5 minute walk) which is great if you need information on trains, busses or want to book tours. The concierge at the hotel was not too helpful with train / bus info, so we went to the tourism office and got the info we needed. You will also be close to shopping, restaurants and right across from the beach. I wish you a wonderful trip to Nice!!

  • Liked — The room and the view were fantastic.
  • Disliked — Shower issues. The water was always burning hot - and I like hot showers!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Tene78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Despite some of the reviews on this website, we had a lovely 5 nights at this hotel. By far one of the best looking hotels along the promenade and an excellent location, minutes away from shops/ restaurants, 15min walk to the train station.
Requested a room on a higher floor (as advised by a previous review) and consequently had a balcony overlooking the city and mountains, which was lovely to wake up to every morning. Strawberries, chocolate and drink awaited us in our room, sweets from house-keeping most evenings, which all went down well! Room was a fair size, separate bath and shower.
Huge breakfast selection, sat on the terrace overlooking the sea every morning. Lovely pool area, shame the pool was freezing, however this was welcomed at times!
Nice is a beautiful holiday destination and a great base to explore from (such as Monaco, Cannes etc). Recommend visiting Marineland, as this too was a great day out. Nice and this hotel resulted in a well-needed luxurious and relaxing break.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold pool!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yellow_tulip85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Top notch hotel. Excellent and friendly staff. Flawless service. Great location and amenities.

The hotel has been recently remodeled and is a throughly modern, sleek hotel that compares favorably with any newly constructed hotel.

Directly across the steet from the beach in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank frequently_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This is a beautiful hotel! The architectural design and facade on front is breathtaking, and provides a very beautiful view from the sea-facing rooms. This is a hotel where a sea view (which may add to the cost) is very important, as it really adds to the experience. The hotel is modern and updated, with beautiful furnishings and art. Our room was very nice, very clean, with a very nice granite bathroom. Only problem was the small shower which leaked a bit due to design. Nice LCD TVs and stereo. There is a very roomy balcony with a beautiful view to the sea; from our room we overlooked the courtyard/pool, but the face frames the view to the sea. It is very unusual. Lunch on the third-floor terrace was delicious. Service was excellent, I thought they made every effort to take care of us. Concierge service was exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location in Nice, close to everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlpharettaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We booked and paid for a deluxe sea view room in Dec 2006 for a stay in June 2007 through Expedia having had a good experience when staying at this hotel in June 2006.
However, on arrival we were met by the deputy manager (M. Drouard - see similar review below) who informed us that he had a government delegation arriving at short notice and would not be able to provide us with accomodation for our stay, claiming he was 20 rooms short (again see similar experience by reviewer below!)
We argued our case for an hour but clearly he was not budging.
We were moved to a hotel away from the promenade which, despite assurances by M. Drouard to the contrary, was nowhere near the standard of the Palais.
We were offered a future complimentary stay at the Palais as compensation but there is no way that we would ever book this hotel again given the complete lack of concern for their guests and that we could never be sure that a future booking would be honoured.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
22 Thank cheshcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed for a long weekend, courtesy of Easyjet, between 15/17 June. We had been booked into the hotel for over a month and were apprehensive after seeing previous reviews where confirmed bookings had not been honoured. Happily, we need not have worried.

Getting to the hotel is simple, just leave the Terminal and the 98 bus is just across from the exit doors. The 4 euro fare on the very regular service (get off outside the Negresco Hotel, it is imposing and grand, you can't miss it) takes you in about 15 minutes to the Hotel which is a short walk from the bus stop. A taxi is totally unnecessary unless you are on business expenses.

The lobby is well serviced and the reception brisk and efficient. The receptionist booking us in escorted us to our room (she did not expect a tip). Well furnished room which had a wall mounted Samsung tv, perhaps on the small side, with a decent balcony overlooking a large but featureless courtyard.

The bathroom was clean and new, excellent shower and decent cosmetics.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. Choice of seating inside or outside, both of which are very pleasant. The choice is on the narrow side, essentially a buffet with only scrambled egg and fatty bacon as a hot option. Additional orders were at extra cost. The service was particularly good.

The location of the hotel is perfect for the old town which is magnificent in its choice of restaurants. Best value and quality is the fixed price menu where 21 euro at Restauant La Villa at 14 Rue l'Abbaye, close to the Cours Seleya, provided a wonderful selection of food.

If you go to Nice, you would be very hard pushed to find a better hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
2,289 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#77 of 204 in Nice
2,035 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing