We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #2 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PERFECT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked to stay at Le Palais de la Med as a bit of a treat as we'd not normally stay in a 5* hotel for a last-minute weekend away. We arrived mid-morning and were welcomed by the reception staff, who had prepared our room already and allowed us to check in a few hours early as I'd informed them we may arrive slightly ahead of the regular check-in time - very helpful as we wanted to settle in and head out to explore the city straight away!

The room was beautiful and exceeded our expectations, the (huge, king-sized) bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in and the bathroom was beautiful. Little touches such as the AV cable so we could listen to our iPods across the speaker system (even in the bathroom!) made the room feel homely, and the balcony was perfect.

The breakfast buffet was delicious, varied and plentiful, and although we didn't use the pool it looked beautiful. We had both evening drinks and afternoon tea in the 3et Bar, which was a perfect way to round off a busy day exploring the city. The whole hotel was the perfect blend of luxury and style, without any of the fussiness which can make a stay in a 5* hotel feel stifling.

The most impressive factor though had to be the staff. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to welcome and assist us in whatever way they could. The manner of the staff was friendly and chatty, meaning we felt very at-ease and relaxed. The concierge and reception staff were particularly lovely, offering us an umbrella when it was due to rain later in the day (which it did!) and even sending some postcards for us without hesitation when I asked if there was anywhere nearby that I could buy stamps.

If you are looking for a hotel which makes everything easy and where the staff are genuinely cheerful, welcoming and helpful then you should definitely visit the Palais de la Med I hope that we'll be returning for another visit very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor in a room facing away from the sea, towards the mountains - cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awonderlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property, and especially our rooms, lounge bar and breakfast. All of our team members pay attention to your satisfaction, I will share your comments with them.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay in Nice and thank you for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    706
    208
    64
    43
See reviews for
513
1,435
127
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have read a couple of negative reviews on this hotel, and frankly I just don't get it. The hotel was beautiful. More than that, the staff was incredible. Anybody can build a beautiful building; however, putting together a team to serve the guests is a greater challenge. The staff we met were some of the nicest people I've ever met. They worked together in such a collegial manner and were ALWAYS warm, gracious, and professional. I cannot say enough good about this hotel or its staff. High fives to all of them.

Room Tip: Before taking this trip, I read a note from a previous traveler who recommended staying on the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloriareading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for your high recommendation concerning the Palais de la Mediterranee. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property, and that you consider our staff and hotel as incredible. All of our team members pay attention to your satisfaction. I will share your review with them.

We hope to welcome you back for your future stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay thanks to the beautiful location and staff's courtesy.

De Luxe rooms have a terrace in front of the sea and at night we got asleep listening to the backwash of the sea.

Will definitely choose this hotel on my next trip to Nice.

Only one recommendation: our De Luxe room (on 6th floor), despite the "recent renovation", already needed to be refreshed again (moquettes and floor were stained).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially thanks to our beautiful location and staff’s courtesy.

We thank you for your recommendation concerning our deluxe rooms with a beautiful sea view from your private terrace. Concerning the renovation of your room, I will address your concerns to our technical director.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back for your future stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is rated one of the best in Nice. I expected top notch service and amenities.
First of all, upon check in, the room type I had reserved was not available to me. I ordered a Sea View room and was given a room that you had to go out on the balcony and look sideways to see the sea. The manager tried to claim that I had received the correct room. I asked her to come up to the room to show me how one could see the sea from my room and she would not.
The check in associates and the manager were incredibly rude and were not very fluent in English. A hotel of this caliber should have people that speak and understand English well.

Secondly, the rooms were pretty mediocre. Nothing special about them. We have been to our fair share of 5 star hotels all over the world and this one is more like a nice business hotel, like a 4 star chain.

On a positive note, the breakfast was wonderful and the location ideal.

Also, I have to point out the fabulous concierge staff. As opposed to the reception staff, the concierge staff spoke very fluent English and was extremely friendly and helpful .
A special call out to Vincent who really went out of his way to be accomodating.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, make sure you request a FULL sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JH2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at the Palais de la Mediterrannee. We were very pleased to welcome you and we are absolutely sorry to learn that we do not answer to your expectations.

Concerning your room, indeed our Deluxe rooms have a sea view. This sea view is not the same depending on the floor and on the location of your room regarding our historical Art Deco façade. According to our website and to the descriptive of our Deluxe rooms, “According to the floor, the Deluxe sea view rooms have a face sea view either aside”. We are absolutely sorry that you did not appreciate the decoration of our rooms, which are newly renovated in a contemporary style with some art deco touches.

Finally, we really thank you for your positive comment regarding our breakfast, location and Head Concierge Vincent.

We hope to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived to a reception desk that was both disinterested and later infuriatingly inept, having payed substantial sums for rooms with deluxe sea view rooms we were greeted with a room with at best a partial sea view and a view of the pool. By partial I refer to leaning out over the smallest section of the balcony to glimpse a view. The rooms were adequate inside, albeit no better than the other rooms stayed at during our traversing of Europe. Service was poor, and that is being polite, Asking for help or any kind of question was met by resentment and ridicule by the staff. Overall the reviews on tripadvisor that led us to make this booking have severely led us astray and I would warn any potential future client to think twice before staying here.

Room Tip: Do not be misled by their misleading descriptors of the rooms, city views are not so and sea views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at the Palais de la Mediterrannee. We are absolutely sorry to learn that our Deluxe rooms and our service do not answer to your expectations.

Concerning our Deluxe sea view room, the sea view may change depending on the floor and on the location of your room according to the architecture of our historical Art Deco façade. Regarding our website, in order to be closer to the reality, the description of our Deluxe rooms is the following: “According to the floor, the Deluxe sea view rooms have a face sea view either aside”.

Concerning the service, we thank you for your comment and will address your concerns to all of our team members.

We hope to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros:
-beautiful building
-central location
-everything is new
-fantastic gym and pool facilities
-polite staff

Cons:
-very sterile -- the lobby and rooms could be at another hotel anywhere else in the world.
-no coffee/tea station in the room (you have to call room service even for a cup of tea)
-the ground floor of the hotel is mostly taken over by a casino. I have nothing against gambling but for 250 euro/night, I don't want to live next to it. There was even a fight involving some of the people in the casino one of the nights I was there -- a good dozen hotel employees were congregated outside the hotel witnessing the spectacle as I walked in. Its just not what you expect of the nicest olace in town. I expected the lobby to be exceptional -- and it is not because the casino takes over 3/4 of the ground floor (including its own restaurant area).

I would stay there again but probably only because there aren't that many really nice places in nice and in nice (as in a lot of the south) you have to be very careful where you stay.

I should also mention that the hotel is right on the promenade/coast. I fell asleep listening to the waves at night but during the high season, traffic noise may be a problem.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

If visiting this hotel & travelling fairly light then I suggest taking the No 98 bus from the airport (term 1). It's only 4euros (which is one fee for an entire days use on the buses) & stops directly oppositie the hotel -(ask bus driver if unsure). Journey time was 10/15min.
Saved a lot of money doing this otherwise a taxi would've been 30euros.

We visited during Christmas, lovely gentle atmosphere in the hotel. No O.T.T Xmas'ness. They had a set menu for xmas eve dinner (around 60euros) & the same for xmas day lunch but we found other options near by that were open both on xmas eve & day. Few shops were open too & a xmas market in the Massena Square. DELICIOUS street food only found in Nice called "Socca" as well as sweet crepes, waffles & churos. Wine & champagne bars all around, plenty of sea food.

If visiting at xmas you don't really need to worry about booking restaurants (unless you're looking for high end eateries in which case you then should & concierge is brilliant at this hotel & will take care of all your needs).

Weather wise - it was suprisingly pleasant - between 10c & 17c. Nippy in the evenings but local bistro's & brasseries have plenty of heating & shelter. Really lovely atmosphere.
WARNING - many of the restaurants have more or less the same menu which features, Pizza, Pasta, Salad, Fish dishes a plently (muscles & french fries). Local patisseries are a MUST. The concierge will let you know where to go for what - he recommended excellent breakfast places & local pastries... SO GOOD! Concierge's name was Gregory he was very very helpful & friendly.

The actual hotel was very comfortable, firm excellent bed & very clean rooms & service.
The steam (hammam) & sauna were lovely (on the 6th floor).
Lovely bar & open terrance lounge area by the pool on the 3rd floor - WONDERFUL views!
I highly recommend a sea view room.

Had a very good sleep in the room as they have shutters so we enjoyed a ly in without being disturbed. Housekeeping are quiet & helpful, very considerate.

Location is brilliant. Made our trip so much easier. From this hotel you can walk to all the local attractions & catch the bus if you need to go further up the mountains.

The local shops (behind hotel) are a little pricey - selling a lot of fur & pricey shoes but still lovely to see, if you go further behind -(find a road called Jean Medicine off Massena Square) they have more high street brands.

There is also a SPAR near the hotel should you need drinks & snacks for the hotel.

Very pleasant stay, relaxing & friendly city full of tasty food & wonderful people. Will visit again. Thank you to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: SEA VIEW! If you require a room on the same floor as the sauna/steam then choose level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing