We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best yet in Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #2 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torquay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best yet in Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have tried several 4* hotels in Nice and have not wanted to return! The Palais is 5* and worth the wait. I am happy to return to this hotel where we were treated with respect by all staff from reception to the housemaid.The hotel is well sited and access to both the modern part of town and the old town. I booked a superior city view room as I didn't intend to spend much time in the room in winter.The sea view rooms have an obscured view of the sea.The breakfast was a buffet style and catered for all tastes.I didn't eat in the hotel restaurent as the food in the old town was both varied and more atmospheric.The transfer from the airport by No 98 bus (4 euro) is easy and stops immediatly opposite the hotel--the service is every 20 minutes.I am extremely fussy but can find nothing to complain about at all!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theriviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,757
    687
    204
    62
    43
See reviews for
502
1,402
125
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel is situated nicely. Unfortunately alle rooms are fenced in a court yard which obscures the view too the sea. Room service is very bad and the whole thing is over prized. We spend the first two days looking for a better hotel for our next stay.
Has a breakfast served via room service. No napkins, wrong coffee three times, no knieves and stale bread.
If you think this hotel has sea view forget it. Find something better which is not difficult. At least 50 % over prized and cannot be recommended.
Wifi does exist but most be from the stone age. Unable too download hardly anything.
Next time we will find a boutique hotel in Nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Per-Vilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your honest feedback.
We are sorry that you didn’t like the view from your room. We understand that the historical facade could be imposing and depending from the floor may obstruct partially the sea view but it also makes our property a unique venue!

We totally agree that, in a 5 stars hotel, the service has to be irreproachable. We shared your comments with our staff in order to point out the breakfast issues.

Our pricing policy is not excessive. Our prices are flexible and like in every hotel, they are fluctuating with the demand and the seasonality. In order to compare the price you paid with the average price for the period, I invite you to get back to me with your booking information.

As for our F&B offer, it is accessible to every budget. For example, our restaurant “Le 3e” proposes 3 different menus from €25 to €50.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s location. It is true that our address on the Promenade des Anglais is a great advantage for all types of stays: business, leisure, holidays or short breaks.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Christophe Aldunate
General Manager
direction-pdlm@concorde-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

this hotel has excellent service and it is worth getting a room with an ocean view and balcony. this hotel is on the main street - this doesn't distract from the rooms or tranquility of the hotel indoors, but as soon as you step outdoors expect a busy city feel. the beaches are crowded - go late in the day if you are looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Visited Nice in September 2nd Week.

Hotel is Fantastic and in a Real Great Location, Clean etc.. Turned out just as We Thought it Would.

Room was Excellent , the Staff was Overly Accommodating, which is the Way it Should be.

We Chose the Hotel for its Location and if we ever found our way back to Nice, returning to this Hotel for our Stay would be a our Choice.

We did not Use the Pool, but from our Observation it was Super. We were there to Visit Nice, Monaco and Cannes.

We did not eat in the Hotel as we wanted to Enjoy an Out of Hotel Eating Experience. We Dined at a Super Restaurant (KOUDOU) just a Short Walk from the Hotel. The Menu at the Le Palais is Great, we just wanted to Get out into the People Thing. The Service Was Excellent at this Restaurant.

The Koudou Restaurant is Right on the Main Promenade, the Service and Food were Great. We would recommend anyone visiting NICE to Dine at this Fine, Casual, Open Air and Enclosed Restaurant.

The Koudou Restaurant Appears to be Locally, Family Owned and Not Controlled by Some Wall Street Hedge Fund Managers, where Table Turnover Time is More Important than the Customer Eating Experience. Off Course we should all Recognize the Fact that the Service Personnel in Europe are Given Much More Dignity in their Profession than their PROFESSION in the US where the USA Restaurant Industry feels that the Wages Paid should be Kept at around $3.00 an Hour Plus Tips, but No Medical Health Insurance Coverage.

Europeans really Know How Vacation Life should be Enjoyed when Dining Out. We never Felt Rushed to meet Some Corporate Table Turnover Time that so Many Publc Traded Corporations rate as success in the USA.

Before you Venture out anywhere in the US for a Vacation, think about it very Carefully, from Our Experience , Canada and Europe are Head over Heels when it comes to TOURISM HOSPITALITY.

Make Europe your Number 1 Destination or Canada.

Room Tip: From Our Experience up to this Destination I would Seriously Rely on the Reviews from Trip Advisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank openeyetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Everything about this hotel is great, excellent service, clean and big rooms. We booked our honeymoon at this hotel and we could have not been happier. Perfect location. A trip advisor winner for a reason. We plan to be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomInterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Social Media Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Many thanks for this kind review. We are pleased to read that you had a perfect honeymoon at the Palais de la Méditerranée. We will share your positive feedback with our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Emilie
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Le Palais de la Mediterranee is a great choice for anyone who wants immediate access to the beach in Nice. I visited in December, when the beach wasn't really an option, and the hotel was quiet and sedate, although I imagine that's not the case in-season.

The hotel is big and historic. Its art deco shell covers a recently renovated (5 years maybe?) modern, masculine interior, so if you're looking for chintz, or outrageous decor, this is not the place.

I had a quiet, traffic free, city view room on an upper floor with a view of other city buildings and the Maritime Alps, although I think if you have a room below the 6th floor you might not see anything but the buildings across the street. My room was always clean, which I attribute to a great housekeeping staff. The furniture is just now starting to show signs of age, but only in very minor ways, like a chipped piece here and there. It's really minor though. Also, a sign in the minibar indicated that use for anything other than as a minibar required a 10 Euro fee, although I think that this was more an "in-season, keeping beach guests from emptying out the refrigerator to store their drinks and snacks for the beach" kind of penalty.

Room service was efficient and friendly and the food was good. The staff was friendly and helpful, and check-in and check-out was quick.

The hotel is within walking distance of almost everything you might want to see in Nice, including Castle Hill, Cours Saleya, Nice Ville, Place Massena and shopping. However, you should take a bus or the modern tram to the train station, the Musee Chagall and the Musee Matisse.

It was very easy to reach the hotel from the airport via Bus #98, which runs along the Promenade des Anglais. I'm someone who usually takes a cab from the airport if there is no direct train service -- who wants to drag their luggage on a bus! - but this was so easy. The ticket office is just outside the terminals and the bus can accommodate luggage. Get off at the Congres/Promenade stop, which is at most about 10-15 minutes from the airport. Stop names are on the bus shelters. The hotel is directly across the street.

Room Tip: Upper floor ciity view for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fultonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Super in every way. Only problem the hotel lounge was rather dingy but in summer this wouldn't be a problem. Great facilities, professional effecient staff, comfortable rooms and a superb location!

Room Tip: Ask for the best view! we did and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing