We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monaco gp 2014”
Review of Hotel Trocadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Trocadero
Ranked #91 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and i and another couple who are friends of ours stayed for 5 nights in gp week. we usually stay just down the road in a international brand hotel , but when i tried to book in october this was full so i tried Trocadero as we had walked past in previous years and caught a glimpse of this. our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a shower as opposed to a bath which we preferred. room was more than good enough with a nice balcony. Helpfull staff and just a nice feeling greeted us everyday. Next year we will be certainly booking this again . Railway to monaco is within 100yds and also a main shopping road. yes you do get groups of youths about at night but not once did we feel threatened. The seafront is 20 mins walk away and we did venture there one night to visit the Hardrock cafe but being late at night we taxied back. Very convienient for the return to the airport by bus No99 at 12 euros each. we did not have breakfast here as there are numerous cafes just round the corner. see you next may guys and thank you to hotel trocadero for making our trip very pleasant.

Room Tip: wifi can be a bit hit and miss sometimes.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Trocadero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 576 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. My expectations were not high as this hotel was relatively good value. Ahead of our stay I wrote to the hotel on two occasions to verify a couple of points. I received a timely response on both occasions. Hotel was good, needed extra pillows etc which were delivered promptly. Highlight of our stay was the service received, particularly from Thomas. He was always cheerful, incredibly helpful with perfect spoken English. He even taught us some new French words to help us at the station. During our stay there way a train strike and he was able to offer us alternative transport options should we need them. He is a great ambassador for the hotel and left a positive impression on us all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rookka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very small rooms, but was comfortable. Very close to train station, shopping, beach and Promenade. Very friendly and helpful day and evening reception during the week. Only thing that left a bad impression was the bald night person working the desk today on May 24, 2014. We thought that our bill was paid off, but he was the rudest person we ran into in Nice. This person was rude and inconsiderate to my wife and myself and slammed the phone down when we asked him to call a cab to take us to the airport. All he kept saying was "three times", when we realized there was a misunderstanding and we cleared things up. He did not damper our trip there as Nice is such a wonderful city. I just wish our last impression of Nice wasn't this jerk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrived in Nice after a long day on the train. The walk from the station is about a block or two away...very close, less than 5 mins. Check in was easy and quick and the gentleman at the front desk was helpful in offering directions. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and the modern look. We had a large bed (2 singles pushed together) for my husband and myself and two singles for our daughters. Breakfast is not included so we picked up our own at one of the many available cafés. The bathroom was quite a decent size. Our only complaint was that there is no shower. There is a shower head that sits on the tub floor so it was a bit of a challenge. Bathing wasn't an option as there wasn't a stopper. The area seems a bit sketchy at first with groups hanging around on the street, but we were assured it was safe and had no issues. We walked to Old Town and the beach and it was a short 10 minute walk. There was a lot of shopping and many options for dining. We would recommend this hotel for its location and the good sized room. Another plus was that there was a laundromat across the street for those traveling with limited clothes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsurfer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent three nights in the Trocadero which we used as a base to go to the Historic Grand Prix in Monaco. This hotel is about three minutes away from the train station which suited us as we travelled to Monaco on both the Saturday and Sunday - train service is quick and easy. The tram service was also only a few minutes from the hotel which took you to the beach and ran smoothly and regularly, tickets are purchased from a machine before you get on the tram, which you then validate on the tram itself.

The hotel is clean, staff are helpful and the rooms are fairly small but comfortable and perfectly adequate for the price - a hairdryer was provided but some shampoo would have been appreciated. Shower room was small but clean and perfectly adequate. Our bed was comfortable and our room on Floor 2 was very quiet even looking over the street. Good value for money in a city like Nice. Breakfast was served in the hotel, but in general probably just as easy to wander to one of the many nearby cafes most of which do a typical French petit dejeuner for between 7-8 euros.

We were able to leave our bags in the hotel on our departure day until we caught the airport bus at 6.30pm which was very helpful - overall Trocadero is a good choice if you don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisStubberfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Arriving from a long trip from Milan by train via Monaco all we wished for was a clean room and a long bath . We where greeted by the reception staff which where very helpful and spoke english ,
We checked in and went up to find our room , as we opened the door we found a corner beautiful room with three balconies and a large bathroom also with a balcony :) . It was perfect and crystal clean ! Cant wait to visit Trocadero Hotel !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is located in a very good location. It's just 5 min walking to train station and surrounded by many restaurant. Also not too long to walk to the beach.
The room is big enough and clean. It's very cheap. I would recommend as it's really value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#93 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Hotel Saint Gothard
#121 of 204 in Nice
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#96 of 204 in Nice
253 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
#144 of 204 in Nice
756 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#61 of 204 in Nice
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trocadero

Address: 7 rue de Belgique, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $48 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Trocadero 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trocadero Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing