We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for backpackers!”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

As December closed in, I was towards the end of my solo trip, and desperate for some warmth - headed for a stop over in the south of France before heading over to Barcelona. During my trip, I have stayed at numerous "Famous Hostels" and was more than happy to try the one at Nice, and I couldnt have been happier with my decision. Though the location isn't ideal, the hostel does try and accommodate, and arrange for shuttles to pick you up from the train station/tram station etc.
What impressed me most at this particular hostel ...is the food. After months of apples and bread while on the road, I almost teared when I realized that for a very reasonable amount, they have a chef preparing fresh, dinner meals every night. Not only was it affordable, it was delicious. So good in fact that I opted to stay in most nights to enjoy the meal.
THe staff here is friendly and helpful, during breakfast, they go around with their huge binders to give you all the necessary information you need and they try and bring travelers together if they happen to want to see the same places....

can't praise the hostel enough! Only downside is that their hardware is slightly worn...but everything is still spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchen0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    116
    63
    34
    56
See reviews for
23
75
98
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I was really pleasantly surprised upon arriving at Villa Saint Exupery; we decided the evening before very spontaneously to do a road trip to Nice, and after a 7 hour drive we rocked up to the hostel where we were greeted very warmly and with no problems checking in. I think this is very much a situation where if you are nice and friendly, you get treated the same way. The staff must be bombarded with students constantly, and they did have a bit of an attitude but I found this understandable.
Facilities wise, I cannot fault the hostel. The whole place is immaculate; showers, kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, everything is spotless. I found I was impressed by the little details the most:
- great range for breakfast, no stale baguette here!
- heaps of computers so backpackers can plug back into the real world
- we went sunbathing and were given free rental of beach mats and towels, very nice
- yes the location isn't ideal, but the bus is a great little idea and we made it home with no problem each night, and found that in fact the climb back to the hostel (that's right, climb, don't try to walk home if you have any dodgy joints!) only took around 20 mins.

Would absolutely recommend this place, excellent value for money and very sociable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, Brasil
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I can understand why do people love this place! It is great for backpackers!!! But to experience the city it is not pratical! Too far away, doesnt have Nice´s atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianap16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here based on a recommendation from my sister. It was far different from the hotels we had been staying at and it was a bit overwhelming to arrive at Villa Saint Exupery after a day of travelling from Paris. Once we arrived, they greeted us warmly. The Villa wasn't quite a pretty as it appeared in the pictures but it was surrounded by the beautiful scenary of the hillside.

Our room had two twin beds, one of which as entirely broken and creaked enough to wake both of us up at night every time I moved. We had a great view from our window of the hillside, and it was very quiet except for the other people staying at the hostel. The bedroom and bathroom were very simple and mildly dirty with dust bunnies and dirt on the floor especially under the bed. They have a laundry service, which we utilized. However, we ended with some additions which was fine for us since we got all our clothes, but sad for the people who lost their stuff.

The common room was large and updated. It felt like a total 20-something hangout which was fun but only if you're up for it. The garden was lovely, especially during happy hour and before all the people start arriving back at the Villa at the end of the day. The place really started to warm up to us on our last night and although it wasn't the nicest place we stayed, it was fun and different.

Although the commute to and from the hostel seems daunting at first, the hostel provides a van ride from the nearby tram about every 15 minutes, although sometimes we had to wait 30 minutes or so. It was nice to get out the city at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa saint exupery with some initial concerns as we are both in our 50,s. Upon arrival I was feeling hesitant that we had made the right decision to stay here but that feeling quickly disipated when we met the check in staff and the driver who picked us up from downtown. They were most welcoming and were eager to offer any assistance with suggestions for daily trips etc. The hostel was pleasant enough with basic furnishings in the private room but still was sufficient if you aren,t too fussy. The rec room with bar, dining room and internet was great and was the hub for the young ones to meet at dinner time and start the night of partying. As oldies we enjoyed the meals available which were prepared by two very good chefs. This was my first ever hostel experience and I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeyalaterAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

if you are a couple and look for quiet and romance, it's not so suitable. but if you look for something different and have a new experience , it's your place! the room is very simple, just two beds and a wardroble. there's even no hanger or safe !
the towel and bedsheet aren't that clean, but with this reasonable price, it's still acceptable.
the food offered in the restaurant is quite nice, portion is large enough. you can even use the kitchen to prepare your own food.
location is a bit far away from the train station, however, just follow the instruction on the website, it's very easy to reach to the shuttle pick up place.

Room Tip: pay attention to the shuttle pick up service time, as it's not running 24 hours a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrygoaround27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Nice was an expensive place to stay and since we needed a place with parking at a reasonably low price, this was the only place that met our criteria.

We booked a private room, and as one of the reviewers mentioned, they only have twin beds, not a double bed. The room was moderately clean and so was the attached toilet.

The staff are friendly but the sheer volume of people meant that they seemed to be constantly attending to questions at the reception. It can get overwhelming for lone travellers as the common room just seems to be crowded with big groups of people. The kitchen provided was handy for whipping up meals but it can get a little intimidating as there are no clear instructions and you kind of have to disturb the chef while he's trying to prepare meals for everyone during dinner.

It is a youth hostel afterall so be prepared for some noise at night. As one reviewer mentioned, the windows seem to open up to the smoking area so it can get a little noisy when you are trying to sleep and people are still chit-chatting away.

If you can afford it, somewhere nearer the beach or town may be better. Otherwise this is pretty good value for Nice

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetakeabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#92 of 205 in Nice
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel

Property: Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel
Address: Villa Saint Exupery 22 avenue Gravier, 06100 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saint Exupery Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing