We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with authentic French charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa La Tour
Ranked #129 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Swindon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small hotel with authentic French charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this small hotel, perfectly located in the old part of Nice, amongst the cobbled streets lined with shops and restaurants. The owner was very friendly, greeting us with a welcoming glass of wine and offering local advice whenever we asked for it. The room was situated on the 2nd floor, up a fairly narrow staircase (may present a bit of a challenge for the less mobile) - the room was fairly small and basic but fully adequate (bed, shower, TV) and with a small balcony. Being in the heart of the busy old town meant that there was a bit of noise early in the morning as shops opened, trams started, etc but the location's pluses outweighed these minor distractions. Definitely recommended for anyone who wants to sample an authentic Nice hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitramSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    154
    60
    27
    31
See reviews for
35
212
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Charming, friendly and welcoming and close to all the main sights, this is the place for romantics who like a bit of character and are not over-fussy. We were 3 flights up a narrow staircase in a small (but attractively decorated and en-suite) room but found it delightful. Breakfast is excellent and better value than the local cafes. Only downside was the noise at night from the bats below. Good value overall.

Room Tip: Get one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Villa la Tour. We selected the hotel for its location, and we were not disappointed. it was wonderful to be able to leave our room and be steps away from the lively, narrow streets of view Nice, or from the Place Giribaldi. Yes, the room was small, and there were some stains on the rug, but the bed was very comfortable, we had a small balcony and for the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly. We did not have breakfast at the hotel - we chose instead to save a few euros and have breakfast at a cafe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dapurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent one night here when we had originally booked two (and we were so glad to have cancelled the second night). The hotel charged us a fee to cancel the night, even though we had given 2 days notice.

The hotel is well located in the old city and very close to the tram and airport bus, the beach is only a short walk away. There was a few dodgy people lurking around at night, but we did not find this or the street noise to be a concern. The staff were very helpful and nice, but...

The first room were given was smallest we have ever seen and the bathroom was inside the room with no door to separate it from the bed. The room was fully carpeted and there were stains around where the toilet was. We didn't think this was hygienic and there was no air in the room because the only window opened up to a laundry area covered with used linen.

We changed rooms (for a fee) and the second room was ok. There was a tiny balcony that could fit one person but this was pleasant. However, the sink did not drain and the staff couldn't fix it so we had to change rooms again. The 3rd room was again ok and had a window looking over the street. However, the walls were filthy and the bathroom was terrible, the vanity was rotten and part of it had come away (see photo).

We wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend it. It is strange reading such good reviews, especially about cleanliness, when we have seen 3 rooms in the hotel and the walls and carpets were filthy and stained in all 3. Also, the staircase and very narrow and there is no lift, it would be hard with a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: Do not get the budget room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were welcomed with a glass of wine. The staff were very helpful and did everything they could to make our trip enjoyable. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was free wheeling and there was a good selection including coffee or tea.

The position of the hotel was excellent being in the Old Town but on the tram and bus routes should you want this type of transport. Easy to find and you could walk anywhere including the beach.

The only down side was the noise in the street outside. But this was outside the hotel's control and was probably because this was Easter Weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night, I would of liked to of stayed longer. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine or juice, then shown to our room. It was on the third floor, a traditional room with a small balcony. The room was decorated in yellow flowers and soundproof walls. The bathroom was spotless with soap and shampoo and hairdryer. A small bottle of wine and two bottles of water were provided too. There is a small roof terrace with a table and chairs.For the price of this hotel in Nice I think it is a bargain and I would go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Loved our two night stay at this hotel. First of all, I cannot say enough good things about Sondra, the receptionist that checked us in and also assisted us multiple times over our stay. She was fluent in English but was patient with me as I practiced ma française and had a lively and funny personality--she was simply wonderful.
The hotel itself is your standard, European hotel, which I love. The only noise that we heard was from the outside, but you have to expect that when you are in a hotel that is in a prime and central location in the middle of old Nice. For the location, I don't think you can beat the cleanliness of the rooms and the price. Anytime we came through reception, whether at 4 in the afternoon or 4 in the morning (as it was when we left to catch our train), we were asked if we needed any help finding anything and given whatever we needed to go about our trip. It is close to both bus transportation and the tram--we had no problems getting around the old city as well as going up to the Museé de Chagall. I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: My guess is that rooms in the back would have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orpheus991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#101 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#42 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Tour

Property: Hotel Villa La Tour
Address: 4 rue de la Tour, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa La Tour 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel where you will be staying during your visit to Nice is conveniently located, din the historic section of Old Nice, between Place Masséna and Place Garibaldi, bordering the Promenade du Paillon, which stretches as far as the beaches, and within walking distance from the various points of interest in the heart of town. Crowned by the Saint-François Tower (built in the 18th century to provide a steeple to the Franciscan monastery, then in the 19th-c., the City of Nice added a clock, now the tallest building in the city), Hôtel Villa La Tour is a charming spot with a stunning intimate setting designed to make you feel right at home. At Villa La Tour, you'll meet lovers, businessmen, athletes and actors, all here to seek out the charms of Southern France and Old Nice, the nearby seaside, nature, shops, outstanding restaurants, Theatres, Opera Convention venues (Acropolis), des museums (MAMAC, Chagall, Matisse and more). Here, you're at the centre of it all! This cosy boutique hotel has only 17 guestrooms, which are often full, so it is indispensable to book as early as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tour
La Tour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing