We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Albert 1er
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Rex(Nice)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveler rating
146
289
137
50
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
289
137
50
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busgreat locationold townsea viewairport stopsflower marketmodern designplace massenasmall liftfirst floorhotel roomair consmall balconylovely roomshort breakshower headbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 674 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Perfect location, for the town, beach and market. super clean room and bathroom with great maid service. Comfortable beds and our triple room was a great size. Would definitely recommend and definitely stop there again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, when u remember its right by the beach its good value too. Rooms rent massive but also not 'too' small, all the decor in rooms is very modern and new . Also once you check out or if your check in isn't ready they'll happily take your luggage and let u use the shower room which again looks brand new and is big enough for a whole family. The only bits you may not like is that there's no bar and breakfast room is a tad small but I'd happily stay here again. Great place just beware of the pickpockets! We were all fine but every day we encountered someone who had had their wallet stolen !

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank daverc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first stay in Nice since the 1980s, and to be honest I can't remember what hotel I stayed in then. There's definitely no chance of us forgetting the Albert 1er. It was without doubt one of the all round best hotels we have stayed in. It is brilliantly located. It is only 100 yards from the promenades and the beach. It is within easy walking distance of the bus stops (for travel to and from the airport), and one of the main shopping areas of Nice is less than 10 minutes away on foot.
There are lots of interesting museums, historical buildings and cultural sites in the vicinity of the hotel, and no shortage of fantastic cafés and restaurants. We asked for a quiet room at the Albert 1er and we're put at the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard with nothing on the other side but offices... So no noise at all at night! The hotel staff were absolutely charming and extremely helpful. By French standards it was not expensive (£100 per night for a double room). We have already decided to go back to Nice in 2015, and the Albert 1er will certainly be our first choice when it comes to hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel or, as they say in French, "une chambre qui donne sur la cour".
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in mid May in a triple room with my mother and sister. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was newly renovated I think, and was very clean and comfortable. The shower was perfect (this is always a very important thing for me).
Our triple room was on the 4th floor overlooking Jardin Albert 1er with views of the sea also. The balcony was tiny but just big enough for one or two people to stand out on. I could see the sea from my bed so that was lovely.

There are music concerts on the sea front and in Jardin Albert 1er so if you're someone who goes to bed before 10:30 or so you might not want a room on this side of the hotel (I'm not sure if you can hear the music anywhere else). This didn't make a difference to us anyway, as we were out every night.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better, right at the sea front, with a short stroll to Cours Saleya markets and plenty of great food options nearby on Rue Massena. The 98 bus from the airport also stops right outside the door.

The only small gripe we had was something that others have mentioned also, the lift. The sign in the lift says it takes 6 persons, but we got in on the 4th floor and a man was already in the lift and 3 ladies (not overweight) made the lift beep that it was too heavy. Very embarrassing! I didn't mind taking the stairs but if you had heavy bags or were not able for stairs and the hotel was particularly busy you may have to wait a lot for the lift.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but the breakfast room looked lovely and bright.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staff were fine and the hotel is in a good location. Rooms are clean and have modern decor although ours was a quite small. The wifi was a nightmare since it barely reached the 5th floor where we were staying, and the password was quite complicated so the re-signing in was tedious. We asked for a double bed and instead got 2 twins pushed together, which often came apart during the night. Also the hotel either uses cheap linen or there is plastic over the mattresses because the beds felt stiff and we often woke up sweating even though the room was cool. Overall good stay, just a few things to consider when booking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews