We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel with convenient location/view”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #36 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice is a gem. The Albert 1er has great views and only 1.5 blocks from the beach. As far as a budget hotel goes this is a 3.5* for me. Simple rooms with very thin walls, and poorly run elevators but cheap beers in the lobby bar and delicious croissants at breakfast. Definitely recommended for a budget traveller.

Room Tip: The walls are very thin, so maybe in a quieter section to better your odds of a good sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller32canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albert 1er
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 613 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location near all of the major sites of Nice. Rooms basic but livable, staff were friendly and helpful, would recommend to friends. Breakfast a bit of a disjointed affair but a small drawback overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice hotel, beautiful view to the parkwith palmtrees and the Mediteranian at the same time - a luxery in the late autum for a scandinavian. Very kind staff, helpfull and interestet in our well being during the stay. Nice is a jewel, exiting and beautiful. The hotel is perhaps a little bit oldfashioned - but its a charming. We felt very comfortable. Thank You.

Room Tip: We loved ours facing West
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely hotel, nicest location to stay in Nice however we preferred further to Monaco end. The hotel staff were a bit miserable but helped us enough. To be honest the room wasnt loud were we were, i slept fine. Room was lovely and tidy with maid service. Very clean. Some locals were lovely and others were very creepy-especially on a night time towards Nice Harbour end-i had a straw hat on and a local man took my hand and said 'your hats lovely, you are beautiful' and wouldnt let go for a good few minutes...The harbours about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Also, on the beach front a lady come up to us saying she has a gold ring for me, as she is allergic to gold i can keep it, so i took the ring and continued. 20 seconds later she came back tapped me on the shoulder and said pay me for the ring..obviously a con as it happened 15 minutes later with another lady..be careful! Nolans Irish Bar on Nice Harbour is lovely. Local transport is cheap enough, 1 euro for the bus to Monaco from Nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in 513, not the best view but quiet!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

With friendly staff and nice big, clean room with sea view (if you're lucky enough to get it - go at a quiet time of year), this can't be beaten in Nice for value. Only downside is it's a bit noisy, but for the location you have to expect that.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josh_is_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a rather good hotel in a prime location for exploring Nice. The Promenade des Anglais as well as the Old town are one minute away. My room was not ready upon arrival but that was not a problem at all, I just dropped off my luggage and took a stroll by the sea.
As some people have already mentioned here despite the fact that this hotel shows its age it's spotlessly clean. The room size also impressed me, not very big, but just all that you needs. Noisy? Well, might be a little, but not really bothering.
The breakfast costs 12 euro. Well, it might not worth that but scrambled eggs and croissants were good.
The most important thing is to request a room at a high floor facing the sea, the view is really amazing and it makes you feel happy every morning as you wake up. Actually that's not a direct sea view because it overlooks Jardines Albert 1er but you won't be disappointed.
Transport links are also perfect. The bus 98 from the airport stops just at the hotel, and the bus back is on the other side of the Square. The bus stop is named as the hotel Albert 1er.
Overall, it's not a luxury hotel but if you are looking for a good accommodation at a relatively modest price in a prime location in Nice that could be a choice to consider.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru
1  Thank Edge2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Albert 1er in Nice for two nights in September 2012 and found the location perfect for the Flower Market (2 mins on foot), the Old Town (5 mins on foot) and the Promenade Des Anglais (2 mins on foot). Also the taxi fare from the airport was 25 Euro, but we found that there was a good bus no 98 running from the airport right along the Promenade Des Anglais and into the centre of Nice. The hotel room was clean and comfortable but possibly in need of some updating. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and spoke very good English, and the reception seemed to be manned 24 hrs per day. I cannot comment on the breakfast because we went out for breakfast. With the combination of fantastic location and very reasonable price we thought the value was fantastic and we would certainly go back to Hotel Albert 1er.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,172 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Royal
#120 of 204 in Nice
667 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,111 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 4 avenue des Phoceens, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $104 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera-style 6-story Hotel located in city, across from gardens & beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Nice
Albert 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing