We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Service & Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldstar Resort & Suites
Ranked #70 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were a bit worried given some of the mixed reviews we saw before booking, but were really happy once we got checked in. Staff couldn't have been nicer: really helpful no matter what the query was. The hotel facilities were good: upper sundeck & pool area was lovely, restaurant and breakfast were simple but good. Rooms were spacious & clean with a nice blend of hotel & apartment facilities. Only hiccup was that wi-fi acted up in the room, but there were 2 terminals available free of charge in the lobby. Hotel was located just 5 minutes from the Promenade de Anglais and only a few minutes walk to the main shopping areas. There were plenty of nice places to eat and drink within 10 minutes walk and the old town was only 15 mins away. Train and bus stations could be reached in 10 minutes also. Would stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfrisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Goldstar Resort & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 688 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at Goldstar. The rooftop pool area was great and relaxing. Staff were all very helpful and most spoke fluent English. The only complaint would be the hard bed and pillows. Not sure if that is a European standard or not, but I found it just too firm. Our junior sweet was quite nice. Another suggestion would be to upgrade the couch as it was not very comfortable to sit in.
Overall a great little hotel. Loved Nice

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Nice. We stayed at the excellent Goldstar Resort and Suites. The hotel offers large suites, with a roof-top pool. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff both in the restaurant and front desk helpful and polite. Definately a good find although perhaps a little expensive.
The location is good just along a couple of steeets behind the Negresco. There are lots of restaurants close by. I would recommend the Barracuda restaurant down from the Goldstar. It serves good food and was full of locals - always a good sign. Try it if you are in Nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed at the Goldstar for 5 nights in August. Each room is a suite with a small kitchenet, given us the option of preparing our own meals. No own, though. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room service menu is varied. The decor is a bit odd and in some places looks tired. The air con was not powerful enough for my liking but adequate. The location is perfect, two blocks from the beach front and 10 mins walk to the old town. The hotel has a roof top sun deck and dipping pool. Good if you want a break from the packed beaches but could do with a tidy up and more attentive service.
All in all good value and perfect location!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerningdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed at the Goldstar for 4 nights in September. Having printed out a map, it was easy to find once off the bus from the airport. As we arrived early, our room was not ready but the receptionist took our bags and we explored for a couple of hours to get our bearings. Everything seemed accessible, from the Promenade to the train station which was a 10-15 min walk. Pleasant and helpful staff and our suite was great. Really spacious and immaculate. A large sitting area with tv, bedroom with tv, large bathroom with 2 sinks, a big corner bah and shower, and separate toilet. Only minor flaw was kitchentte was small, but functional with kettle, cooker top, dishwasher, fridge and mircowave. The gym up on the roof wasn't up to much, but we weren't there to sit on a bike! Nice view from the rooftop where the pool and sun loungers are. As the hotel is on the corner of a street in the town, don't expect a great view from your window! Can't comment on the food as we were self catering. Overall a lovely spot and tasteful decor, with good service. Would well recommend the Goldstar!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Goldstar Resort and Suites in Nice is a fine hotel. I booked via 1800hotels.com. I got a terrific rate, of 177 US, prepaid but including breakfast. This compared very favorably with the 250 euros or so that was posted in the hotel and with rates for similar hotels in the area of Nice where we stayed—a couple of blocks off the Promenade des Anglais and in the downtown area.

I’m guessing that the hotel is Russian owned, because that’s what the folks at the front desk appeared to be speaking to each other. Russian was also the first language listed among the 4 translations used for signage in the hotel and there is a large Russian population in Nice overall. That assumed, the décor was predominately Asian with full-size terra cotta warriors at various places in the halls and public rooms.

What was really wonderful about the hotel—besides its reasonable price, good location, and overall cleanliness and classy décor—was its rooms. It’s apparently an all suite hotel, with rooms that feature separate living rooms with desk, chair, and sleeper sofa. The toilet and bidet were separate from the tub/shower vanity area and there was even a highly compact little kitchen facility with frig, cooktop, sink and dishwasher (in about a square yard of space, amazingly laid out). Everything was polished marble from the floors to the walls and very streamlined and modern. It was great—and again, at an incredibly reasonable rate.

Buffet breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant space which had small decks holding two tables each where you could take your breakfast while enjoying the lovely Nice climate. The breakfast was ample and included the usual selections we’d had other places plus scrambled eggs and bacon. The restaurant/breakfast room was large but broken up into a couple of areas, showed evidence of sound machines for dancing or just loud music and even had an area with raked sand. Quirky but kind of fun.

There was a pool and sunning area one floor up from the restaurant and probably a workout room. I never checked out any of this but my husband looked and assured me it was there. I know they had a computer and wifi for guest use since I used it each day.

The one really problematic thing about the place was its garage. Luckily I got out of the car and attended to the luggage and check in while my husband drove down the ramp to park the vehicle. Glad I did or my ears would still be ringing. Just getting down the ramp took him 3 tries for each turn since the ramp was so narrow—as were the actual places to put the vehicle. All that and they charged 25 euros a day. Once we got the beast down there (actually it wasn’t even a large car) we left it for the entire time we were in Nice which cramped our sightseeing style a bit since I had intended to drive to Tourettes and a few other places during our stay.

So, if you are in Nice and not driving a car, you should consider Gold Star Resort. Except for the parking situation, it’s a wonderful bargain and a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I visited The Goldstar resort last week for 6 nights and we were so looking forward to it the spa and gym done it for us, but to our surprise the gym is one bike that was fit for noone the the weights machine had no pins and was a death trap, the spa was out of order and so was sauna, the pool is a plunge pool, so do not go for a work out.
The small kitchen if wanted cleaning will be charged at 50euros or 10euros per day! charming! the rest of the room was cleaned daily.
The area is fab a good location to stay for a place to put your head down but not a romantic one. Try the Negresco!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spangle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,023 reviews
AC Hotel Nice
#29 of 204 in Nice
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#83 of 204 in Nice
2,115 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstar Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstar Resort & Suites

Address: 45 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nice
#20 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#34 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $163 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldstar Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldstar Resort & Suites is a 4-star resort in the centre of Nice, just 250 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a rooftop heated pool with solarium. The Goldstar Resort and Suites offers spacious soundproofed suites with modern design. Each air-conditioned room has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms have a luxurious living room and a kitchenette. Free WiFi access is available in the entire hotel. For your comfort and wellness, the Goldstar offers free access to the sauna, heated swimming pool solarium on the rooftop from 8:30 to 20:00. Guests can have a drink at the rooftop terrace while enjoying a panoramic view of old Nice. Just 350 metres from the beach, the Goldstar is an ideal base to explore the French Riviera. There is shuttle service available at an additional cost to Nice-Cote d'Azur Airport, 5.6 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldstar Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldstar Resort And Suites
Goldstar Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing